We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spare Mens Undies Anyone?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gwendoline Court Motel
Ranked #92 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed September 15, 2013

A friend and myself decided that we needed to get away from all the stresses of Auckland. The temptation to soak in hot baths and unwind in Rotorua was just too good to resist so after some internet hunting I managed to purchase a really good accommodation deal thru Trade Me and Travel Bug. Well what can I say except for the fact that I'm glad I did not pay the full rate of the unit price otherwise there would have been a mutiny! On reading the advice of other travellers I did know well in advance that the units were old, tired and very outdated so I was forewarned. I found the unit that we stayed in to be clean but badly in need of repair. The shower pressure was pathetic, there was only 1 working stovetop hob and there was a big gaping hole in the roof which overlooks the Spa Pool and If it rains and you're in the Spa Pool at the time like I was you can feel the cold rain dripping down on you. The unit was not ready when we arrived and took an extra hour to be ready. The puzzling part of the early evening though was some woman in her late 40's I'd say banging loudly on our door asking If there were men around so that she could borrow their undies Ummmm, Eeeeeee!!! Apparently this women was part of a netball team and they wanted men's undies for god knows what, I shudder to think! Thankfully we had no men with us. On the plus side the bed was comfy, the Spa Pool was big, the size of the unit was rather spacious and since we had unit 9 which was located at the rear of the building we had a private carpark alongside our unit in which to park my car which came in rather handy as another resident claimed her car was not going (this turned out to be a lie) and so her big 4 wheel drive vehicle was actually causing parking problems for other people staying at Gwendoline. In concluding this review, Gwendoline could have great potential if it was upgraded.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you for your comments

At the time you stayed we had a large netball team staying with us, and they perhaps enjoyed themselves a bit too much. I am sorry that they disturbed you, we did request that they would respect the other guests staying.

I do appreciate your comments about the roof over the spa pool, this has been replaced

We appreciate your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 132 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

Have stayed in better student digs. Curtains ripped & coming of rail, threadbare furniture/carpets, bedcover had cigarette burns in it, stained sheets & grubby walls. Was scared to use the kitchen brush to clean crockery as it looked as if it had been used to clean the toilet. Felt as if the business are happy to take your money but not spend a cent on upgrading or cleaning properly the units. On arrival the receptionist was too busy on the phone & waved me to the unit, didn't even bother to introduce self after the call to offer help or advise, so much for hospitality. We don't get to go away too often & this experience really put a dampener on our weekend away. We decided we'd never stay in Rotorua again. On the plus side, location is great for the mountainbike trails, & the cleaning staff were friendly.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you for your feedback

We are dedicated to providing excellent customer services, but we clearly let you down on your recent stay, and we do apologise

We understand you had a number of housekeeping issues, which we have resolved

We do hope you return to Rotorua in the near future, as it is a beautiful city and has much to offer, we would appreciate the opportunity to accommodate you again and show you our normal high level of service

Kind Regards

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We don't understand how Unit 4 of the Gwendoline could be described as 'luxury' as it was on the Wotif booking site. It is tired, at best, and actually quite grotty. I suggest if you are choosing the Gwendoline that you request a unit at the back, as you'll be further away from the traffic noise of Fenton Road. We were disappointed that the spa bath in the rather shabby courtyard was filled with normal water and not mineral water (as we'd expect in Rotorua) - but we can only blame ourselves for not doing better research. It would have been helpful if we'd been told as we checked in that you need to turn the tap to 'cold' in order to get hot water, and to 'hot' when you want cold water (!). The sheets and towels were beautifully clean though - the general state of the unit had made us wonder whether they would be.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 66Philippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay.

Since your review we have moved to hired linen, we now have fresh, clean and pressed linen, we are sure you will agree the new linen is a substantial improvement.

We understand that you were not happy with the courtyard area with the spa pool, these areas are cleaned and the leaves are swept daily, but we have taken steps to ensure the manager checks these areas daily to ensure that they are kept clean and tidy

Thank you for your comments

Kind Regards

Greg Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Unit was very shabby, threadbare carpets, chair covers worn out, one towel has a large hole in it. We were there in the middle of winter and it was freezing, heating was barely adequate,the electric blanket did not work and a request to management for another recived no response. Kitchen was good and it was great to have our own spa even though we had to clean the leaves out of it. We went on a dicount voucher and I think that was probably about its real value.I won't be back and would not reccomend it to friends

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kahuwera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you for your feedback

We do have central heating in all the rooms, to ensure they are room and cosy during winter

We do have an issue with the leaving dropping in Autumn, and falling into the courtyards, we are working hard to ensure we keep the courtyards clean, and we are now checking this areas daily to ensure we keep on top of this

Thank you for your comments

Regards

Greg Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed here on a 4 night deal and it was more than adequate. The spa pool is a nice touch and the equipment provided is sufficient for short stays. Although it is a little way out of Rotorua town it is in walking distance of the Maori village and the location is quiet. Bit of an assortment of glasses and crockery etc but it's serviceable and the appartment was cleaned daily. The bed in the lounge was incredibly soft but surpisingly comfortable. We would recommend as there is plenty to see and do so you are not spending all your time in the motel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derbyfan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you for the great positive feedback

Kind Reagrds

Greg Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The beds/mattresses were terrible and both me and my boyfriend slept horribly on the main upstairs bed. The carpets were threadbare and I was afraid to even drink out of the coffee cups. There was this layer of ICK that just covered the whole place. My family did not opt to stay another night and gave them 24 hours notice that we would not be staying another night and are still disputing about giving us a refund. If my family member lets me know she got one I'll update the review.

Room Tip: Choose a different place to stay in Rotorua. There's plenty of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slateordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

we appreciate your feedback, Regards Greg Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on two separate occasions late January 2013, one night at a time. Although a distance from the town centre - this should not deter at all. The units are clean, beds comfortable and a great economical cost. I would stay again & recommend to others.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Fantastic feedback, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your feedback

We look forward to seeing you again

Kind Regards

Greg Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
#80 of 92 in Rotorua
88 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ace Motor Lodge
Ace Motor Lodge
#76 of 92 in Rotorua
36 reviews
1.6 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#64 of 92 in Rotorua
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fernleaf Motel
Fernleaf Motel
#30 of 92 in Rotorua
100 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#25 of 92 in Rotorua
263 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kerry's Motel
Kerry's Motel
#71 of 92 in Rotorua
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwendoline Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwendoline Court Motel

Address: Cnr. Fenton & Gwendoline Streets, Rotorua 3200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: $87 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gwendoline Court Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gwendoline Court Motor Lodge is within walking distance to Puia and the Rotorua International Golf Course, the Motor Inn offers 18 spacious one bedroom apartments, each with spa pool, full kitchen facilities, central heating, wireless internet, digital TV, en-suite with shower, tea/ coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gwendoline Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing