We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gwendoline Court Motel
Ranked #92 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Rotorua
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not Good”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

On arrival no warm welcome just a busy hi and sign paperwork. The apartment that we stayed in smelt musty and looked like it needed alot of renovations to it. The roof in the spa area so needs to be water blasted to get all the green off the white roof. GROSS!!! not a pleasant sight to look at when relaxing in the spa!!! The tv channels didnt work...no wireless internet like they said there was! Overall we were very disappointed in that hotel and will not be staying there ever again. PS... the hotel is NOT Central to town it is at the FAR end of FENTON not near CDB. Dont believe the photos cause its right here in my REVIEW. Plus we had people staying next to us that had a friken dog that wouldnt stop barking!!! oh and their stairs are very noisy to walk on...could hear the people next door to us walking on there steps at night, as im sure our neighbours wouldve been able to hear us walking up and down ours. Overall they shouldnt be rated they need to bulldoze it down and start again. As you can tell....NOT IMPRESSED!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Mooshie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
We do understand that this comment must be from a local resident, as the person has their location as Rotorua.

Therefore I do not understand why the comment has been made about the location. The motel is located on Fenton Street, and it is at the south end of the Street, which is where the main tourist attraction is located ie Te Puia, and is adjacent to the Rotorua Golf Course. The motel is 1.5km from the CBD.

The motel is in perfect condition, so must say I find the comment a little unusual.
Each apartment does have a private self filling spa pool, this is outside the room in an enclosed courtyard. There is perspeck covering the courtyard, this is etched from the Sulphur, waterblasting does not remove these sort of stains, which is common in Rotorua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    18
    18
    21
    70
See reviews for
66
36
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pauanui, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed here for one night and had prebooked and prepaid. On arrival we checked into our room and looked around. We seriously considered moving to another motel as it was so disappointing. However it was clean and it was only for 1 night so decided to stay.
The complex is old, tired looking, gloomy and in desperate need of renovation. There were obvious signs of damp and mould. The private outdoor spa bath area was dilapidated and uninviting. The furniture and furnishings were very old and grubby looking, the carpet was stained. Some of the mugs in the kitchen were cracked and chipped.

The lady in reception was helpful and directed us to a good restaurant for dinner.
The continental breakfast we ordered was plentiful and good.

We would not go there again and would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GulfHarbourBadgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your feedback

We do appreciate that the rooms are very clean, and we accept that it is time to upgrade the furniture, and we planning to do this shortly

The property is in a great location, within walking distance to Te Puia and the Golf Course

We look forward to seeing you in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Rottenburg
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Spacious place, but very worn out and it smells a little bit musty. Even if cleaned it doesn't feel so. A chair we tried out urgently needs new springs. The outside spa didn't invite us for a bath. The area is in short distance for the Waimangu Volcanic Valley. It would be worth renovating the Motel. The room service could be better.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
We appreciate your comments and valuable feedback

Kind Regards Greg Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raglan
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We really enjoyed staying at Gwendoline Motor Inn. Yes it has seen better days and is getting on in years but I loved the two storied rooms, two tvs and self filling spa out back. The unit was roomy, comfortable and everything we needed in a room. The spa area was private and relaxing. A taxi right into town was $12. On the second day house keeping made the bed and tidied up even though I'd left the room a mess and they even did my dishes that I'd bought from home. I found the hotel to be good value for money and more comfortable than some of the more expensive hotels I've stayed at in Rotorua.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbied4763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we do appreciate your comments

The rooms are spacious and comfortable, and guests do appreciate the private self filing spa pools

We look forward to the opportunity to accommodate you again

Kind Regards
Greg Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2012

My son and I had a really lovely stay at the Gwendoline Hotel last weekend. The rooms were clean and spacious, the service was unobtrusive, it was quiet and comfortable and we slept very well both nights we were here. Compared with other places we looked at this was very good value and it served our needs perfectly. I would recommend it to anyone else staying in Rotorua.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian255115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your 2012 feedback

kind Reagrds

Greg Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

I booked for two nights for 5 people, and was taken aback on our arrival to discover that the on-line booking agency had given the wrong dates and we weren't booked in! Mild panic! Fortunately I had printed off my confirmation. The manager took it all in her stride and was able to find us a large room with an adjoining studio - ideal for our needs. We appreciated the space, the kitchen and the spa in the large unit! These motels are a little dated, but clean, good value and well-located. The service was good too. I would go there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your feedback

We do appreciate your comments, the rooms are kept very clean, we do look forward to seeing you again, Kind Regards Greg Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

On 30th November, We booked a one bedroom spa apt at Gwendoline Moter lodge (349 Fenton St, Rotorua) for Christmas Eve via Wotif (please see confirmation email below).

on 24th Dec 2011 when we arrived there at 1:30pm, a lady called Jude(?) (manager) said she would like to give us an UPGRADED room in Silver Oaks Resort (next to Gwendoline) because their rooms were all full. We then checked in at Silver Oaks, quickly dropped off our stuff and went out for activities (our schedule was very tight). When we came back at 10 pm, the restaurants were all closed. We bought a frozen pizza, a pack of flat mushrooms and two slices of fish fillet from the supermarket back to the apartment and found out that there was nothing we could use to cook our dinner!

The accommodation we booked at Gwendoline was supposed to be:
1. a two level apartment
2. with one queen bed and three single beds (we booked this for 4 people)
3. with spa
4. with full kitchen (stated on http://www.wotif.com/hotel/View?hotel=W3078&page=1&adults=0&child1Age=1&child2Age=1&child3Age=1&child4Age=1&child5Age=1&child6Age=1&child7Age=1&child8Age=1&child9Age=1&startDay=2011-12-25 )
5. free breakfast

What we got was:
1. a one level room
2. with one queen bed and a foldout sofa (they were trying to send a rolling bed from Gwendoline while we checked in)
3. NO spa
4. this kitchen has only two small sauce pans, 2 forks + 2 knifes, 3 cups (How could 4 people share these?! And the 2 pans could only fit in two 2 eggs and no more! We couldn't even cook our flat mushrooms in it!!!)and NO oven, No fry pan, No other cook.
5. breakfast not received, nobody metioned it to us

Is this so-called LUXURY SPA APARTMENT with FULL KITCHEN?

We called Silver Oaks' service and got told that they were only asked to provide us a room and we should ask Gwendoline because we were actually under them! We then went all the way to Gwendoline office and the lady (Marilyn?) said "it's past 10 pm, there's nothing we can do here." We told her the whole story and she was like "what do you want?" (We are NOT happy with her attitude). We told her that we wanted a "larger" pan. - What we wanted was simply a warm dinner in Christmas Eve.

We felt being cheated - twice.
1. We booked the room almost one month ago and we received the confirmation. During the past 25 days, we hadn't got any notification about sending us to another place. How come we ended sleeping in such a place?! I doubt whether the "first in first serve" rule applied here or the motel just gave our apartment to other customer who paid the full price rather than us (the $99 special) or maybe the $99 special itself was just a trap??
2. When we arrived, Julie said the place next door is an upgraded room. Is this how you define UPGRADE?! We asked Maria(?) what UPGRADE means. Her answer was "room with more facilities". We can tell she answered with shame on her face!

We have been to almost all the places in New Zealand and lived in different accommodations, 5 stars or no star. This is the worst experience we've ever had! And the worst of all is that IT'S XMAS!!!!! Not to metion that the fridge has jam stuck on the plate inside, no milk was provided when checked in, no rubbish bin in the toilet and there were few hair left on the sheets.

At the end, we paid $99 to Gwendoline and the only service we received was being sent to another motel.

Our Christmas holiday has totally been ruined!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
We do appreciate guest comments, but in this situation this customer has not truly represented the honest facts.

The guest arrived at 1.30pm and demanded access to their guest room. Our check in time is 2pm and we will always provide a guest an early check in but it was just not possible on this particular day, as most checks had enjoyed a late check out.

The Motor Inn offered the guest to go to our sister property, where they could check in immediately, the guest was happy to do this, as they wanted to drop their gear and on on adventures for the day. The guest moved to our sister property to a one bedroom room, where they checked in and were happy with the room.

At 10.15pm the guest returned, they first complained that our restaurant was not open, I would suggest it is difficult to find any restaurant open at 10,30 at night. the guest then went to a super market to buy some food, whilst there are three pots in the room, a microwave, hot plates, the guest wanted an extra large pot.

The Manager at the Gwendoline provided them with an extra electric frying pan, there was already one in the room, but even that was not big enough. The complained there was no stove in the room, we do not have stoves in the room, as we have hot plates, electric frying pans and microwave.

The guest did book on a deal that said children under 16 get a free breakfast, the four guests were all well over 16, so they were not entitled to a free breakfast. They tried to get the staff to provide them a free breakfast, but the staff did say " we are sorry the deal is only for children under 16" the guest tried to pressure the staff into giving them a free breakfast

In the circumstances our staff remained very friendly, and helpful to the guest, under difficult circumstances caused by the guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 mi away
PURE Motel & Guest House
PURE Motel & Guest House
#60 of 92 in Rotorua
11 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
1.2 mi away
New Castle Motor Lodge
New Castle Motor Lodge
#41 of 92 in Rotorua
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Baden Lodge Motel
Baden Lodge Motel
#69 of 92 in Rotorua
3 reviews
1.6 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#68 of 92 in Rotorua
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
#80 of 92 in Rotorua
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwendoline Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwendoline Court Motel

Property: Gwendoline Court Motel
Address: Cnr. Fenton & Gwendoline Streets, Rotorua 3200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gwendoline Court Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gwendoline Court Motor Lodge is within walking distance to Puia and the Rotorua International Golf Course, the Motor Inn offers 18 spacious one bedroom apartments, each with spa pool, full kitchen facilities, central heating, wireless internet, digital TV, en-suite with shower, tea/ coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gwendoline Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing