We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FREE loaf of bread!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lone Star Rotorua

Lone Star Rotorua
Ranked #18 of 218 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $26
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Bar, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
West Auckland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“FREE loaf of bread!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Make sure you get your FREE loaf of bread, there’s usually a voucher in all the touristy books, save yaself $9.00
I did find the music a little loud and the lightening a little dim which was a little sore on the eyes. I got the stuffed chicken which a little flavuorless but apart from that I LOVE their meals and we had great service,

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Romez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    172
    56
    29
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

A little slow - but overall excellent service and food was great.
Happy to modify meals when requested.
The Lasoo of Hog was tender, crispy crackling and all round yummo!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Josh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decorah, Iowa
Level Contributor
277 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

It was alright - we split the lamb shank for two amongst three of us and it was adequate - nothing special. The waiter was a little "too much of a much", but the atmosphere was real "cozy" with a fireplace for warmth. The dessert was nice.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank koolbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ngaruawahia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely large meals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We've dined at the Lone Star before and forgot how large the meals were! Lucky we were able to take a 'doggy bag' home :)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank gibbisons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Between we four we had steak, lamb shank and cajun chicken. All was cooked to perfection. Meals came promptly. Atmosphere very social, great decor. Friendly, high quality service. Prices good. Would definitely recommend.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank collardsx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lone Star Rotorua also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Lone Star Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing