We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Indian Meal”

Lovely India Tandoori Restaurant
Ranked #40 of 229 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $23
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Thames, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding Indian Meal”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Our family of 5 dined on a Saturday night. The service was prompt, courteous and attentive without being intrusive. The meal was outstandingly good Indian food. We started by sharing a sizzling mixed platter - everything great, and followed with 4 dishes. All were well flavoured and appropriately hot and tasty. Naan bread was light and fresh. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    117
    36
    25
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lives up to its name”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

On this occassion we had a takeaway (take-out) from the restaurant.

The food was still superb. Very tasty and even in plastic containers, still presented well.

Will go back again.

Recommend chicken madras - I had medium heat and it was perfect!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kiwixp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waitara
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome food and service”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Our sports team ate here on Friday night and we all enjoyed our selected meals. They were absolutely divine. Would recommend this Restaurant.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian Food, Great service”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Had dinner here with a friend while on conference in Rotorua. Very helpful staff the Nan bread was fresh and the Chicken Tikka masala was Fabulous. I would happily recommend it to all.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Navin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous Indian!”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

My family and I tried this place in Rotorua whilst visiting there a few weeks ago, and were very impressed. The food was very good, the waiting staff pleasant and it had a nice, informal atmosphere and our kids were happy there. I am originally from the UK, where as another reviewer said, that Indian restaurant scene is generally of a much higher standard than New Zealand or Australia, where I now live, but I would rate this place very highly. I would go back here again, and take some of my British mates along too!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeanDas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lovely India Tandoori Restaurant also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Lovely India Tandoori Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing