We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the spa pool!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gateway International Motel
Ranked #84 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed April 30, 2013

For NZ$99 you can't go wrong. Bed was really comfy; room was clean. Outside private spa pool was hot and very relaxing, filled up in no time. Room was really warm (ground floor). Maybe not brand new but well worth the money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gatewayselina, Owner at Gateway International Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. You encourage me to keep work hard on improving the rooms since I really enjoy the good feedback from my valuable customers. Thanks agian!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 68 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We booked for one night to break up the drive home. Trouble finding our booking. Friendly and apologetic. The room was beyond tired. Mouldy nets and curtains, missing curtain hooks made the curtains hang in big loops, main door curtain was to small for the door and left big gaps either end. No bedside cabinets or side tables, the phone was hung on the wall at approx 6 ft. The new fridge was wobbly, there was graffiti scratched into the paint work above the kitchen bench, the book of instructions was in badly translated Engrish. But it was comfortable, clean where it mattered.Free wi fi and spa pool in room. For the money we paid we expected better.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kiwichatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gatewayselina, Owner at Gateway International Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thanks for your feedback. The reason of why I reply you now is I've fixed up the curtain, wall, the lights and put the new bedsider in the room. As I said in other review, we've get this motel last year, everything have to be updated. Usually, we make the budget for all of the rooms once. For example, we changed all of the old TV to flatscreen last year. Bought the bedsider in March. Check and redo lighting in April etc.
Sorry for the English wording. You know English is my second language, I try to speak and use English as more accurate as I can; however, you know I still can't do as good as you can do. Thanks for pointing out the problem and thanks for your time. We will working hard to make the room nicer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

The hotel is very nice and good to stay in it.the service is very good.even my family likes it because it gave us free wifi free dinner but we cook ourself actually the price was 245 but it gave us discont to 225.this is the 2nd time I voted.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garmadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in late November, the room is generally clean, handy location to all tourist attractions. the kitchen has everything needed to cook for a meal. (plus super market nearby)
on duty manger were very helpful for giving ideas of where to go, what to do, where to eat and etc.
10% discount vouchers were given for attractions.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaK0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gatewayselina, Owner at Gateway International Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Thank you so much for taking time to write this review. We are really enjoy that you are happy to stay here. Hope we can see you next time. All the best for you family! Merry Christmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed there for a few days in a trip with some mates. Kitchen was fine to cook some snacks, room were clean.
Generally decent lodging with adequate facilities and service, basically you get what you pay for. Not really luxurious but good place for a quick stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gatewayselina, Owner at Gateway International Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Thank you very much for taken the time to write about your experience here at Gateway International Motel.

We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay here with us. We will continue to maintain good service to you our guests and making your stay here with us as comfortable as possible.

We are glad to see you had no issues and we hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

this motel is a great place to stay on a budget, the rooms were clean and contained full kitchen with everything we needed to cook, and spa, beds were comfortable,the motel is close to the center of the city, plenty of restaurants and shops within walking distance. we had no major issue with anything. we enjoyed our stay and would stay here next time i travel to rotorua.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank damsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gatewayselina, Owner at Gateway International Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you very much for taken the time to write about your experience here at Gateway Motel.

We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay. We hope to ensure all our guests are made to feel welcome, comfortable and there stay here with us is as relaxing as possible.

Thank you for staying here with us at Gateway International Motel, we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Our booking was doubled up with another booking and a panicked staff member did not make us feel welcome like it was our problem. We then went to our room, which was not what we had paid for and had to wait for our room to be cleaned. The fridge was not on and the throws on the bed were less than appealing. Will not even start on the Mineral Pools. The phones did not work at all, and reception did not answer. The elevator phone did not work either. For the price, we could have stayed at a really nice place. This wasn't and was a complete and utter let down.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gatewayselina, Owner at Gateway International Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Firstly i would like to thank you for your feedback, we appreciate you have taken the time to write about your experience here at Gateway International Motel.

Since seeing you back in July 2012, Gateway International Motel had just undergone new management. We had just taken over and being a new business owner everything was new to us, I am sure you would understand a few hiccups along the way were unavoidable on my behalf because of this reason and it caused these issues for you, i agree the situations definitely could have been handled a lot better and i dearly apologise.

Our units since have ALL had some kind of major upgrade and will be an on-going thing, newly redecorated, new carpeting, re-tileing, full fresh paint jobs in our units, brand new fridges, brand new linin, utensils and much much more.

Gateway Motel is now maintenanced on a regularly basis to carry out any faults found and are dealt with promptly. We have more cordless phones which are kept on us at all times to ensure we do not miss any calls. We aim to ensure any problems our guests have are dealt with promptly and in a professional manner.

Thank you again for your feedback. It all helps us to help you our guests have a comfortable, happy and relaxed stay here with us and that our standards meet you expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Devonwood Manor
Devonwood Manor
#79 of 92 in Rotorua
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jet Park Hotel Rotorua
Jet Park Hotel Rotorua
#22 of 92 in Rotorua
337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fenton Court Motel
Fenton Court Motel
#43 of 92 in Rotorua
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
#80 of 92 in Rotorua
88 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fairy Springs Motel
Fairy Springs Motel
#49 of 92 in Rotorua
101 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#25 of 92 in Rotorua
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway International Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway International Motel

Address: 263 Fenton Street | Glenholme, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: $77 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateway International Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Gateway International Motel. Now UNDER NEW MANAGEMENTOffering clean, comfortable and affordable studio and family units. Our concrete built motel is three levels north-facing. Elevator reaches to the top floor. Radiator heater and hot water thermally heated for all rooms. All studio units come with a spa bath or hot tub. The Motel has two private mineral pools for customer and a trampoline for children to play.Gateway International Motel located only 1minute drive from Rotorua city centre. 15 minutes’ drive from the Rotorua Airport; 3 minutes’ drive from the Lake side, 5 minutes’ drive from Redwood forest, Te Puia Maori village and golf club. Top one Fish ‘n’ chip takeaway shop in New Zealand directly opposite the motel.Gateway International Motel offers 15 self-contained accommodation units with at least one LCD TV for ALL units, offering kitchen facilities and full kitchen for some units. A refrigerator, microwave and cutlery are standard in all rooms. Each room is serviced daily. Owner on-site and on-call 24/7Laundry facilities, BBQ facilities, wireless internet and children’s cot are free of charge. Guest have free pick up from Rotorua Airport. Free off-road parking. Lockable garage for bikes, motorbikes etc. Ironing facilities, DVD player and newspaper are available from reception. Units 1 – 5 (Ground floor) Units 6 – 10 (First floor) Units 11 – 16 (Top floor) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Gateway International Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing