We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very odd service”
Review of Urbano Bistro

Urbano Bistro
Ranked #12 of 227 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located on the corner of Grey & Fenton Streets in Rotorua's "MOTEL MILE" for all day dining, allowing extensive use of the sheltered northerly aspect for alfresco dining in warmer months, through to the relaxed contemporary decor of the interior to suit all occasions. Smart casual cafe by day - serving breakfast, lunch and bar snacks. Fresh baked muffins, slices, cakes and biscuits. Ozone Coffee - dine in or takeaway. Bistro dining by night - serving modern, innovative, contemporary NZ cuisine. Suitable for casual and intimate dining, business meetings, family and corporate functions. Licensed bar. Menus available online. Reservations recommended. Free wi-fi. Free motel delivery. Voted "Outstanding Restaurant", Rotorua Hospitality Awards 2013 & finalists in 2014. NZ Beef and Lamb Excellence Awards 2013 and 2014. Semi-Finalist "Monteith's Wildfood Challenge" 2013.
Tauranga
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very odd service”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Suburban eatery.
Probably considered chic by Rotorua standards....sounds a bit nasty, but honestly, the only other options was hangi and cultural night at Rydges across the road.
Entree of spring rolls came after 20 minute wait...5-8 minutes too long. Prior to this I had to remind a wait person about my G and T I'd ordered 15 minutes before. Spring roll ends burnt to buggery..however, saved by robust clean flavours & some fresh chilli. Verdict-overpriced by $4, cost $18.50.
Approached by waitress TWICE during the course of the evening with other tables food. Had to wait a longer time than is considered polite between courses. The restaurant was a third full, not a good enough excuse.
Had one main delivered, other main arrived after another 7 minute wait, then side order arrived after another 5 minute wait. Very weird timing. Kitchen staff meltdown? Who knows, offered no explanation & the honestly, the oddest service experience I've had a for a few years.
Decided to flag dessert, which we usually revel in choosing.
Verdict- food...not outstanding, but good clean flavours, modern take, very good.
Value- not horrendously overpriced, but as a chef of 20 plus years, i thought it was slightly overpriced.
Service- just plan bad. Way over populated with staff who need refinement training, as well as an updated floor plan of the place so they know where the heck they're delivering food.
Kitchen staff- need a stern flippin talking to about timing.
Music- another oddity, all over the show...hits from the 80's, then suddenly Greg Johnson warbling away. Unusual.
Train your staff people! Your rating on food has been let down by kitchen & service staff.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank missdiscotek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    245
    69
    31
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Faultless.”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

On the recommendation of Ann-Marie at Avista, we had breakfast at Urbano and it was faultless. Coffee was killer and the meals coming out of the kitchen had a sophistication that was unexpected. Not 'cheap' but we thought the value was more than fair and it was high quality - if you want cheap get a nasty McMuffin, sit in a parking lot, build a bridge and get over it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Urbano...”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Urbano Bistro was situated handily for us to visit. It is a corner site and seemed very chic. It appeared to be nice and clean. The menu was interesting and there was cabinet food available too. We had been told it was nice however we had been warned not to go there if we were in a hurry and luckily, we weren't ! We were only there to catch up with friends over coffee and have a chat. It was morning tea time and the place only had a couple of other people in there who already had their coffees so you would have thought we could have ours quickly. One coffee came out first, then two others and by the time our other friend had ordered (albeit-she did order later than us as she arrived later) we had finished ours. My brew was purely average.. I like my coffee hot and it was probably my fault that it was lukewarm as I would normally order an 'extra-hot' and forgot this time...but, at least I did get mine! Our friend was forgotten and waited and waited and waited... (she is a fairly regular customer too) she needed to go in and remind them of her order... The impudent waitress came out with it and chided us that she had bought out a cup earlier and that she didn't know it was hers that's why it was missed... Hahaha... We had been watching and waiting for it for such an age we would have noticed it being carted around... There was no offer of recompense or a 'free' coffee on another visit... I would have thought good customer service would bring those regulars back in... There was no incentive for me to revisit again!
I do have to say the owner lady(?possibly) was very friendly and seemed very efficient however the younger staff certainly need some upskilling on dealing with customers

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

This was recommended by the owner of the Silver Fern, just up the road. After inspecting the local 'Eat Streat' where most if the restaurants are to be found in Rotorua, we decided on Urbano Bistro and we were not to be disappointed at all. The food was great (I had the Scottish Fillet and my wife had the Chicken) and good value, with excellent desserts of 'Lite' chocolate brownie and Sundae to follow. A great couple of glasses of two different Pinot Grigiots helped that lot down. The bill was $130NZD, which was pretty good, with a little surprise at the end. Super smiley and a 'nothing is too much trouble' attitude from the charming Monisha as well. A lovely evening!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane,New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“take plenty of dosh!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Very interesting menu and food-very creative.Meals expensive apart from the burgers but wine not too bad.Probably the best restaurant in town-the Regent Hotel restaurant is nearly as good

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ROBERT C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urbano Bistro also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Urbano Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing