We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food quality”
Review of Urbano Bistro

Urbano Bistro
Ranked #12 of 225 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $29
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located on the corner of Grey & Fenton Streets in Rotorua's "MOTEL MILE" for all day dining, allowing extensive use of the sheltered northerly aspect for alfresco dining in warmer months, through to the relaxed contemporary decor of the interior to suit all occasions. Smart casual cafe by day - serving breakfast, lunch and bar snacks. Fresh baked muffins, slices, cakes and biscuits. Ozone Coffee - dine in or takeaway. Bistro dining by night - serving modern, innovative, contemporary NZ cuisine. Suitable for casual and intimate dining, business meetings, family and corporate functions. Licensed bar. Menus available online. Reservations recommended. Free wi-fi. Free motel delivery. Voted "Outstanding Restaurant", Rotorua Hospitality Awards 2013 & finalists in 2014. NZ Beef and Lamb Excellence Awards 2013 and 2014. Semi-Finalist "Monteith's Wildfood Challenge" 2013.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food quality”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

If you don't mind paying a bit more for good quality, this is the place you want to visit. We were there for breakfast (very good) and for dinner as well (excellent rare wild venison).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tomás P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    241
    69
    31
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilsyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“food excellent”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We travelled with 6 kids and they catered for both well. Brought out loads of books and stuff for them which was great. Food was really excellent. Would definitely recommend.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Brekky”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Good food, well presented. Attentive service and pleasant surroundings. A little out of town, so less bustle...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank HBWeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I was a first time diner and had read the reviews on this site so was keen to gauge my own idea. Two of us dined here and nothing was too much trouble for owners and staff. From changing the reservation to attending to our every need - without being intrusive. (There is definitely a policy on training staff!) The mains do need a side order of vegies especially if one is hungry. The food was superbly presented. Even when one of us asked for one of the pieces of venison to be cooked a little more it came out on an new plate which had been reset with garnishes to make it like a new plateful. The Brulee desert is to die for! This place is superb for a special dinner as it is on the pricey side but so worth it! I will definitely keep this on my "go-to" list for a special night out. I see that it is also a café during the day so is a real chameleon in the eating field from breakfast through to fine dining at night. I will be back to try it for more casual eating.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best meal in a long time”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This restaurant was a great find. We were lucky enough to eat there during the Monteiths Wild Food Challenge and both the venison and the duck were excellent. Friendly helpful staff, a good atmosphere, a great menu and excellent food - what more could you ask for! Not particularly cheap, but worth every penny. Highly recommended. We will be back next time we are in Rotorua.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urbano Bistro also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Urbano Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing