We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and noise motel and operated in a wrong attitude......”
Review of Green View Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Green View Hotels
Ranked #71 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stay at Room 25 for 2 nights in Feb and found it was quite noise because just right next to SH5, and the bathroom is not up to standard, the shower head splash water everywhere, but that is not the big deal. The problem we had started receive an email from the booking website asking for feedback and reviews and we provided our feedback, but the response from the motel operator is in a wrong attitude. See below with their response:

"A motor lodge not adjacent to a road would be a strange location don't you think?
The motel provides, for free, excellent ear plugs to alleviate any noise issues from within or without the rooms. The louvre windows allow very good air circulation, and guests who insist on showering with them closed can expect some dampness. There is no mould around the window, the guest is mistaken in this respect also. A shower which does not work should not produce any water methinks, and the purpose of a shower head is to spray water so all the body gets wet. We are an old building and there are improvements to be made when economics allow, but in the meantime new beds, TV, drapes, and very competitive prices more than compensate. This guest was lucky to get a room in a very busy week in Rotorua, and she judges us against superior places she may have enjoyed at much higher prices. Comparing apples with oranges is not just."

I had wrote a few reviews about this motel, but commerical booking website are normally protect their clients (the hotel/motel), so normally only good feedbacks will get displayed, so beware and hope this website won't do the same!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nukz, Owner at Green View Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

The guest has published my response already but I will quote a comment from him.

'I am also working in the service industry and the first thing I learnt is never argue with your customer, especially when all correspondences are in private. You won't gain anything from that. The more you argue with them, the more negative feedbacks they will post to your business, and yes I will do the same.

So, good luck to your business and hope you learn from that!'

I will leave the readers of the review to form their own judgement of this reviewer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 92 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

Six of us stayed in rooms 6 and 7 for two nights just recently and found the Lodge to be exceptional, as always, as this is not the first time we have stayed here. Our rooms were cleaned daily, with towels etc being replaced when necessary. The staff were very friendly and efficient.
We can see the improvements you have made since our last visit. Keep up the good work.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!! (Which we have done to several of our friends in the past and will continue to do in the future) We will DEFINATELY be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Can not believe that Room 26 was so dirty. Seems that it has not been used for a while. Also saw a piece of used tissue on the floor of the bedroom when we arrived...

In the next morning, found heaps of dead insects around the sink of the bathroom...

Just totally different from the information that we have got from this website. Since I came to NZ in 1995, I have travelled around the country and have stayed at different motels, hotels, YHAs, B'B. Have not got experience like this.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Sunny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nukz, Owner at Green View Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

This review is so outrageously negative, and so contrary to our other reviews, that it is difficult to respond positively to a person who made no comments at the time and whose only specific complaint is of a tissue which must have been dropped accidentally by a cleaner. The flies flew into their window at night because they left the windows open! Are we to be damned for that? Nothing in our advertising is untrue or misleading, and for a budget establishment we deliver great value, as the other reviews do testify. We are sorry that this guest had such a 'bad' experience and would have preferred to have dealt personally with their 'issues'. Our compendium asks guests to do this before they release their opinions on the internet for eternity. Clearly this guest has little regard for a person's income and is happy to sabotage it without due consideration for the consequences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Decided to ring the property directly to book our accommodation in Rotorua, spoke with tim directly and he have us a great deal on a family room. On checkin tim was extremely helpful, assisted with our trip bookings and got great advice on the area, room was very clean and comfortable , fresh towels the next day and great value for laundry, would not hesitate recommending this property

Room Tip: Speak with tim very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomTumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The lodge is close to some of Rotorua's main attractions as well as being close to a golf course petrol station cafe and bowling alley and is one of the first motels as you enter Rotorua from the south. Tim and Faith the owner/managers are very friendly and helpful and will offer you good advice on what to see and do and can also help you with bookings. The lodge is a good place to stay more than a few days as we found out we stayed for 7 days and enjoyed our stay there is also a hot pool to soak in at the end of a hard day.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatMacnz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nukz, Owner at Green View Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

These guests stayed several days and clearly did not miss the hard work we put in to running this motel. It is very good to be appreciated and we thank them for their comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

We had a good sized family room that slept five with comfort ! The room was clean with a good size kitchen but could have done with a few more things to cook with ! Free Wifi was great and two clean hot pools downstairs and also a laundry for washing . Not a Bad stay !the only thing that could have made it better was dry towels everyday and more loo paper left in the toilet !

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stace072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nukz, Owner at Green View Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thanks for the positive comments. We are happy to provide clean towels each day if the unwanted ones are left on the bathroom floor as requested in the compendium. When they are left lying/hanging around we assume the guest is showing admirable 'green' qualities and respect that. The toilet roll dispenser holds two rolls which is usually ample for most visits, and we apologise if any of you were left short! We generally respond immediately when shortcomings are pointed out to us. That said, we do not pretend to provide the same level of comfort five or four star establishments offer AND nor do we charge at the same level.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank ShirleyLHk
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.6 mi away
PURE Motel & Guest House
PURE Motel & Guest House
#55 of 92 in Rotorua
16 reviews
0.6 mi away
Devonwood Manor
Devonwood Manor
#78 of 92 in Rotorua
83 reviews
2 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#37 of 92 in Rotorua
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
1.4 mi away
Santa Maria Motel
Santa Maria Motel
#45 of 92 in Rotorua
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apollo Hotel Rotorua
Apollo Hotel Rotorua
#54 of 92 in Rotorua
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green View Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green View Hotels

Address: 418 Fenton Street | Whakarewarewa, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Rotorua Motor Lodge)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: $58 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Green View Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This motel has 26 rooms and benefits from a position opposite Rotorua Golf Club (Arikikapakapa), a unique geothermal golf course. It is a short walk and in sight of the main geysers at Te Puia, and a short walk to Whakarewarewa Maori Thermal Village.All other attractions are short drives away, such as Skyline Gondola, Polynesian Spa, Rainbow Springs, Agrodome, OGO, Agriventures, Duck Tours, Buried Village, and the Blue Lake. The CBD is five minutes, the airport fifteen, and Taupo or Tauranga 50 minutes.Rooms are spacious and clean. Prices put this motel in the budget category, but facilities are closer to four star, and these include large 32 inch LCD TVs with Free View in all rooms, direct dial phones and FREE wireless internet.There is a seasonal pool, hot pools and laundry for guest use, and DVD players and movies to hire for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Green View Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing