We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Strange omission”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park
Ranked #38 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Mossley, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Strange omission”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

Stayed in a basic cabin for three nights - the campsite was fine, but bizarrely there were no refrigerators in any of the kitchens, just a 'cool room' by reception which was only marginally cooler than the outside temperature (in winter). After four months of traveling around Australia and New Zealand this has been our first site without a refrigerator - weird !! Other than that a decent if not outstanding park - though the cleaners were quite rude when we were washing up during their unspecified 'cleaning time' .

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola_and_Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua T, Guest Relations Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, sorry for the delayed response. As the park is currently under new management.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind Regards

Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    88
    70
    35
    28
See reviews for
110
86
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

My second review on this park and there will be many more.
We stayed in cabin 25 for 5 nights.
Rotorua is my favourite place I have stayed in many places throughout town, many times ( all good) but chose here again due to taking my teenage son on this trip - it givesa little more space and freedom than being cooped up in a motel room when you just need to take time out and relax and the rates are great.

Upon arrival the younger pregnant lady ( sorry didnt get her name) was absolutely lovely...she checked us in quickly, had wonderful people and customer service skills and was very friendly. Our cabin was clean and near the communal area. This park, the grounds, cabin, toilets, laundry, communal kitchen and dining area etc is well kept and very clean and this shows thru staff busying themselves throughout the park daily. The staff, caretakers and cleaners that i came across were lovely and friendly always willing to share a laugh and a smile. ( this is what makes a lovely relaxing holiday).
I cannot say one bad thing about this park from my stay...I will be back and have already recommneded it to others. Keep up the great work and high standards and more importantly the smiles. All of you staff are just wonderful, thankyou.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brightnbubbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua T, Guest Relations Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, sorry for the delayed response. As the park is currently under new management.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind Regards

Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2010

We stayed in a basic log cabin for $42 a night so can't really complain! Cabin did not have kitchen or en suite but was a short walk to facilities. Double bed plus 3 bunks, table and chairs and a heater thankfully! The showers were some of the best I have encountered, great pressure massaging shower heads - didn't want to get out!

The park has a pool plus 4 hot pools (free) but when we were there 3 were out of action as they were being re-tiled so just the communal was available - very pleasant!

The park looks a bit tired overall but for camping or campervaning is probably ideal for the price.

The park is just out of the CBD so is close to all Rotorua attractions, don't bother with the Whakarewararewa thermal village, very boring and expensive unless you want to see an authentic Maori village. Dinner at the Lone Star restaurant is a bit pricey but huge well cooked meals.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skybeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua T, Guest Relations Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, sorry for the delayed response. As the park is currently under new management.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind Regards

Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
164 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2010

This park was a good value and has more then just the basic facilities. Because of that it can be quite busy and you dont feel like you have any privacy.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TX_Flyer001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua T, Guest Relations Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, sorry for the delayed response. As the park is currently under new management.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind Regards

Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights in a cabin. The park itself was very tidy and well set out. The cabins were clean tidy and well fitted also. The only gripe was the shower, the water pressure was horrid and the hot water lasted all of 5 mins. We complained about the shower head and this was fixed while we were out for the day , which helped but didnt fix the hot water issue. The bed was comfortable, however another blanket would be good in the cabin as the heating doesn't reach the main back room. As a previous reviewer mentioned the internet was slow. We used the laundry and the ammenties block was very clean and tidy. We also made use of the thermal pools which was a nice touch after a long day out sightseeing.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ang C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua T, Guest Relations Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, sorry for the delayed response. As the park is currently under new management.

We hope you will visit our park in the near future.

Kind Regards

Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2010

One of the best spots for our campervan, with a little wooden (covered) walkway to the kitchen/showers that was unique to NZ. The hot pools there we visited twice and the kids loved these and the normal swimming pool though the facilities were a bit basic. Kitchen was narrow and long, but OK, and dining space was sufficient. The internet experience was the worst I've experienced since the days of dial-up. Surely updating the computers would not be that expensive. Its close to the geysers but too far to walk into town with 3 kids.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieNorthLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua T, Guest Relations Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Hi

Thank you for your feedback, sorry for the delayed response. As the park has been taken over by new management.

We hope that you will visit our park again.

Kind Regards

Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2010

Took a chance on this place and glad we did! I have stayed in Rotorua many times but never here...its a little out of town but we had a hire car so it was no trouble.
We arrived late at night from AKL so didnt appreciate how lovely this park was until morning. We had an ensuite cabin which looked out on to a large park/garden area.
Our cabin was clean & comfy! The park was quiet and nicely maintained. The pathway to the communal kitchen area, toilets and laundry was covered.We didnt use the kitchen but it looked OK. The pool was not to be used at the time and there was no restaurant/cafe as stated on the website. A few times (being in a hurry to go out) 2 of us used the communal bathrooms whilst the other used the ensuite in our cabin to shower ...My shower drain was blocked and gurgling old water was coming back up thru the drains...The shower next to it had basically no water pressure However these ammenities were clean so obviously these 2 problems hadnt been noticed by staff .
There is a little shop in the office that stocks different things but as with all of these places, overpriced.

The only downside to this place was an older lady working in reception...she was disgustingly rude and arrogant with zero people skills.This was also mentioned at seperate times by different people staying there at the same time as us.

Ignoring this womans behaviour,this park was nice and im booking to stay again this year.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brightnbubbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua T, Front Office Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 18, 2016
Thank you for your response and we appreciate the feedback - our holiday park is under new management so there are exciting times ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
4.8 mi away
All Seasons Holiday Park Rotorua
2.0 mi away
Rotorua Top 10 Holiday Park
5.1 mi away
Blue Lake TOP 10 Holiday Park & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
6.6 mi away
Waiteti Trout Stream Holiday Park
4.9 mi away
Rotorua Hideaway Lodge
Rotorua Hideaway Lodge
#9 of 55 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park

Property: Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park
Address: 463 Old Taupo Road, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A visit to Rotorua is not complete without soaking in the thermal hot pool at Rotorua's renowned Thermal Holiday Park - Free thermal hot pools, swimming pool, Kids mountain bike track and park-like grounds are some of the features we offer. Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park is a Qualmark 4-star Holiday Park and is located in the heart of Rotorua's scenic attractions, walk to geysers and the closest holiday park to the world class mountain biking tracks in Whakarewarewa Forest. Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park has a wide range of choices, including: Unpowered & powered tent sites, modern motel units, standard log cabins, en-suite log cabins with kitchenette, kitchen Cabins, tourist flats for guest 4-10, standard family cabins and spacious motorhome sites. Park amenities include: Bike storage, bike cleaning station, swimming pool, free hot mineral pools, tennis/netball courts, cricket pitch, rugby field, games and TV rooms, camp store, barbecues, children's mountain bike track and play area, laundry and linen hire, communal dining area/lounge area, showers/toilet's, dump station, tour desk at reception and wireless internet (fee). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing