We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient for Rotorua”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park
Ranked #38 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Convenient for Rotorua”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed in an ensuite cabin. The beds were comfortable, the stools and table were not, a chair would have been better. It was good to have a kettle, and TV but would have appreciated more cutlery and a couple of bowls for our breakfast!! We were disappointed with the lack of hot mud pools. The site is convenient for other Rotorua attractions and good value for money. It wasn't obvious where to park by our cabin, we moved several times as neighbours arrived.

Room Tip: Cabins with en suite were good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua T, Front Office Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 7, 2016
Thank you for your response and we appreciate the feedback - our Holiday Park is now about to undergo a huge transformation so if you are back in Rotorua please come and stay and enjoy our new facilities due to be completed late this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    88
    70
    35
    28
See reviews for
110
86
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taranaki Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed at this camp site on Monday 17th March 2014. We stayed in our caravan, I have to say the trees are lovely, but we had had a storm on the weekend and all these dead branches had fallen to the ground which was very dangerous when having to make my way to the toilet in poorly lighten area of the camp ground. The numbers for your allocated camp site are painted on the road and with autumn being here the leaves had covered all the numbers, we got given a map of the camp site but this is no good when all the numbers are covered. Wouldn't it make more sense to put the numbers on the power boxes? Plus in this part of the world UP on a switch means OFF and DOWN means ON, after thinking there was something wrong with the caravan electricity we found it was the power box which the switch goes up to turn on. If you're a light sleeper don't stay here as it is on the main highway which I thought would be ok as usually the traffic would normally get less during the night, not there, there were big trucks that rumbled through all night. I found it quite an expensive stay for a bad nights sleep at $55, as there was a closed café and closed thermal pools. One good thing was the showers, they had great pressure and were lovely. But please if you haven't already cleaned up the big branches that fell off the trees do so before someone breaks their neck.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
5 Thank ShonaH569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua T, Front Office Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 7, 2016
Thank you for your response and we appreciate the feedback - our Holiday Park is about to undergo a huge transformation with upgraded facilities so there are exciting times ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Emerald Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

The camping area was very pretty and had excellent access to the kitchen, eating area, a separate computer/sitting room and toilets/showers. The kitchen was clean and functional, and the indoor tables provided a nice place to eat but not always to try to have a conversation because of the TV. I would like to discourage holiday parks from putting the TV in the same room as the eating area--it dominates everything and lessens the experience dramatically for those who are just trying to have a meal, make travel plans, or have a conversation.

We were very disappointed to learn that the hot pools were not working--they would have really helped us survive the night in our tent, as it was quite clear and cold that night. The location of this holiday park to Te Puia and Whakarewarewa is very handy, but the proximity to geothermal activity also has its downside. At one point in the night I was awakened by a sulfur smell so strong that I had to breathe through my sleeping bag to make it at all tolerable; whether or not breathing these gases is healthy, it was extremely unpleasant. (I should say that I have spent plenty of time around geothermal areas all over the world and am familiar with and quite tolerant of the basic odor of these places; this, on the other hand, was extreme.) Thankfully, it was also temporary.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrahminyKite48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua T, Front Office Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 7, 2016
Thank you for your response and we appreciate the feedback, our Holiday Park is about to undergo a huge renovation so there are exciting times ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed in a 3 bedroom cabin for 3 nights. .. may as well have slept on the concrete outside which would have been more comfortable. Wouldn't recommend this to anyone other than as a campsite. It's right in the stinkiest part of Rotorua also. All in all id rather spend more money and stay somewhere nicer. Wouldn't go back again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pussca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua T, Front Office Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 7, 2016
Thank you for your response and we appreciate the feedback - our Holiday Park is now under new management and about to undergo a major renovation overhaul. If you are back in Rotorua come and check us out this summer as most of the upgrade should be near completion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

The location of this camp site is great and the price you pay for this is very reasonable. We rented a 2 berth cabin, which had all the basics that we required for 2 nights. There is no fridge in the cabin if you are considering staying longer. The lady at reception was extremely helpful and polite. It was a shame that the pools were not working while we were there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua T, Front Office Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 7, 2016
Thank you for your response and we appreciate the feedback - our Holiday Park is now under new management with a large upgrade about to take place so there are exciting times ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apiti, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

i have to say our stay at Rotorua Thermal Holiday park was good they were able to accommodate us. we stayed in one of the cabins and was able to park our car and trailer up on one of the power sites and let us run power for a battery charger. i think the only thing that let it down was we had a kitchen deluxe cabin but there was no fridge in there, what was the point of having a kitchen when you still had to walk over to the main kitchen to get the milk you had in the fridge or go buy a small amount just for your coffee. the kids enjoyed the pool just a pitty the hot pools were not working, the staff at recpection were friendly and easy to deal with.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua T, Front Office Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 7, 2016
Thank you for your response and appreciate the feedback, our Holiday Park is under new management with a new park upgrade about to start so there are exciting times ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papamoa, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Hi we had great service from reception re leaving for a appointment & having to move cabins after 2 nights, we had to move as the one we where in had been booked for our last nights i asked twice at reception if we could stay in our orginal cabin but they said it was booked, after moving which was a bit of stress, I wondered, why when we woke up nobody had stayed in our orginal cabin!!!!, which was far superior than 1 one we had to move too. why did we have to move??

Room Tip: cabins with a kitchen & shower tiolet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua T, Front Office Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 7, 2016
Thank you for your response and we appreciate the feedback, our Holiday Park is under new management and we are about to undergo a new transformation so there are exciting times ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
4.8 mi away
All Seasons Holiday Park Rotorua
2.0 mi away
Rotorua Top 10 Holiday Park
5.1 mi away
Blue Lake TOP 10 Holiday Park & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
6.6 mi away
Waiteti Trout Stream Holiday Park
4.9 mi away
Rotorua Hideaway Lodge
Rotorua Hideaway Lodge
#9 of 55 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park

Property: Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park
Address: 463 Old Taupo Road, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A visit to Rotorua is not complete without soaking in the thermal hot pool at Rotorua's renowned Thermal Holiday Park - Free thermal hot pools, swimming pool, Kids mountain bike track and park-like grounds are some of the features we offer. Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park is a Qualmark 4-star Holiday Park and is located in the heart of Rotorua's scenic attractions, walk to geysers and the closest holiday park to the world class mountain biking tracks in Whakarewarewa Forest. Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park has a wide range of choices, including: Unpowered & powered tent sites, modern motel units, standard log cabins, en-suite log cabins with kitchenette, kitchen Cabins, tourist flats for guest 4-10, standard family cabins and spacious motorhome sites. Park amenities include: Bike storage, bike cleaning station, swimming pool, free hot mineral pools, tennis/netball courts, cricket pitch, rugby field, games and TV rooms, camp store, barbecues, children's mountain bike track and play area, laundry and linen hire, communal dining area/lounge area, showers/toilet's, dump station, tour desk at reception and wireless internet (fee). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing