We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park
Ranked #37 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Opotiki
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful and relaxing”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We have stayed several times at the Thermal Park before and will do again. The en-suite cabins are simple but usually very clean, Unfortunately this time we moved in after a smoker and the cabin smelled horrible. The staff tried to accommodate us in another cabin but as we spent the weekend with our daughter and family, we wanted to stay next to each other. Their cabin was clean and the smell was a whole lot better than ours. We unfortunately found cut off toe nails and cigarette butts in ours which was rather unpleasant. Next time we will try and get the cabins by the play ground. The grounds are lovely and the pools very relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conny507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua T, General Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Kia Ora , Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are sorry to hear about the smell of smoke. We do have rules on smoking and it hurts some people still proceed in smoking in units. Next time you come, we will make it possible you will be placed by the kids park. Have a lovely Christmas and New Years, we hope Santa brings you something special.
the Team at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park wish you and your family a joyful Holiday Season.

regards Clare Ngatai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    90
    71
    35
    28
See reviews for
112
87
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2013

A great place to stay, very polite and helpful staff. Clean and tidy cabins, very comfy beds, and great facilities for a very reasonable price. Would definitely recommend to any one thinking of going to Rotorua.
Close to the city, only 5 min by car, but set in beautiful green landscape. Close to various thermal attractions.
I would most definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Log cabin 23 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali-and-Ang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua T, General Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
The team at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park thank you for your great feedback,
Wishing you a joyful Holiday season to you and your family.

We hope to see you soon

regards Clare Ngatai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Camp should be modernized (toilets, showers, kitchen). No one available from 8.30 to help with the kitchen where one equipment on two doesn't work anymore. A lot of noise during the night and no one to help keeping the quite

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank artgamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua T, Front Office Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 18, 2016
Thank you for you response and we appreciate the feedback. Our holiday park is under new management and our facilities are about to start a massive upgrade so there are exciting times ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Me, my sister and brother in law stayed there on our Napier-Rotorua-Auckland site seeing trip. We only stayed one night, but even my sister, who is not a cabin person said that it was very nice. Clean, comfortable and with the bathroom attached, it was a winner. Though it is situated very close to town, it was so quiet and peaceful there. Met some lovely people in the thermal pools. The price is also very economical. We had breakfast at the cafe which was very tasty. Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The cabins with the bathroom is a must for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marriett v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua T, Front Office Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 18, 2016
Thank you for your response and we appreciate the feedback. Our holiday park is under new management and our park is about to start upgrading the facilities so there are exciting times ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Place were parked the camper was nothing special, but de facilities are great. Everything is there. Plenty of cooking facilities, nice places to sit and relax. And the hot pools are great! The reception is closed in de the evenings, this could be improved.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua T, Front Office Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 18, 2016
Thank you for your response and we appreciate the feedback - our holiday park is under new management and there are exciting times ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikato
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Happy to recommend, Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park. The grounds are delightful with a variety of mature trees and shrubbery to enjoy. The location is handy to the numerous delights to be found in Rotorua. The facilities, are, as others have stated, somewhat dated, however more than
adequate in both cleanliness and availability. The on site café (Tree Tops) we found to be fair for the prices charged, and the staff are to be commended on there friendliness and the good service provided. Over all an enjoyable stay (3 days), and will return for a dip in the thermal pools. In terms of value for money, it would be hard to beat RTHP with the variety of options available to chose from.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua T, Front Office Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 18, 2016
Thank you for your response and we appreciate your feedback - our holiday park is under new management so there are exciting times ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed here on a powered site in a camper van for 2 nights. The thermal pools were the best feature, but rest of the facilities perfect adequate. Toilets and showers were plentiful and clean if a little dated. Staff were friendly and helpful - allowed us to pick our site if we didn't like the allotted location.

Room Tip: Pick a site a little way back from the entrance as it is quite close to a fairly busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua T, Front Office Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 18, 2016
Thank you for you response and we appreciate the feedback, our holiday park is under new management so there are exciting times ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
4.8 mi away
All Seasons Holiday Park Rotorua
2.0 mi away
Rotorua Top 10 Holiday Park
5.1 mi away
Blue Lake TOP 10 Holiday Park & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
6.6 mi away
Waiteti Trout Stream Holiday Park
4.9 mi away
Rotorua Hideaway Lodge
Rotorua Hideaway Lodge
#8 of 57 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park

Property: Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park
Address: 463 Old Taupo Road, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A visit to Rotorua is not complete without soaking in the thermal hot pool at Rotorua's renowned Thermal Holiday Park - Free thermal hot pools, swimming pool, Kids mountain bike track and park-like grounds are some of the features we offer. Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park is a Qualmark 4-star Holiday Park and is located in the heart of Rotorua's scenic attractions, walk to geysers and the closest holiday park to the world class mountain biking tracks in Whakarewarewa Forest. Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park has a wide range of choices, including: Unpowered & powered tent sites, modern motel units, standard log cabins, en-suite log cabins with kitchenette, kitchen Cabins, tourist flats for guest 4-10, standard family cabins and spacious motorhome sites. Park amenities include: Bike storage, bike cleaning station, swimming pool, free hot mineral pools, tennis/netball courts, cricket pitch, rugby field, games and TV rooms, camp store, barbecues, children's mountain bike track and play area, laundry and linen hire, communal dining area/lounge area, showers/toilet's, dump station, tour desk at reception and wireless internet (fee). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing