We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, facilities not fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park
Ranked #37 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Chiltern, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good location, facilities not fantastic”
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night here on a campervan holiday and so used a powered site. There was an undercover walkway that ran the length of the parking spots for campervans, which is a good idea for bad weather days.
The one thing I was definitely not impressed with were the bathroom facilities, which were easily the worst of our trip. They were in much need of a clean and updating. There was rubbish left in all of toilets and especially in one of the showers. The hair dryer stopped working after 1 minute of use. There were big cracks in the ceiling. Didn't feel at all comfortable in these bathrooms.
On the other hand, my partner said that the male toilets were much cleaner.
They also had a nice kitchen/dining area, although we didn't use these.
Good for location but the state of the facilities would have been reason for me to stay somewhere different if I had to stay another night.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Deb1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua T, Front Office Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 18, 2016
Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate the response - our holiday park is under new management so there are exciting times ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    90
    73
    35
    28
See reviews for
112
88
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hawkes bay
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed over the Easter Weekend for one night's accommodation in a self-contained cabin. We had stayed here many years ago and it was much the same since our last visit but with tv's upgraded etc. The facilities were clean and tidy. For the money paid, it was very good value. The cabins were surprisingly well soundproofed so we got a good nights sleep

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HawkesBayChesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua T, Guest Relations Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, sorry for the delayed response. As the park is currently under new management.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future

Kind Regards

Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed two nights here in a kitchen cabin. The cabins are old, musty and are under some high trees which make them very cold. We managed two nights sleeping on the well used foam mattresses and could not cope with a third. Checked out and went home. Website is misleading... we thought we had booked one of the log cabins which looked lovely! Thermal pools could do with an upgrade.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua T, Front Office Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 18, 2016
Thank you for your response and we appreciate the feedback, our holiday park is under new management so there are exciting times ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Could do with some investment in updating the accommodation. We were located in a cabin that was sheltered from the sun all day and had to ask to be relocated to another cabin.
Very dusty under our bed and sheets didn't smell fresh.
Currently in a Top 10 and it's like chalk and cheese.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua T, Front Office Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 18, 2016
Thank you for your response and we appreciate the feedback, our holiday park is under new management so there are exciting times ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hot thermal spa keeps us coming back for more - this trip we made a detour for this old favourite! Not much has changed since the last visit 2 years ago - it is still excellent value for money. And close to the Redwoods Forest for us mountain bikers.

Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tristy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua T, Guest Relations Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, sorry for the delayed response. As the park is currently under new management.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future

Kind Regards

Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We have camped here four times over the past 7 years. The current management has not kept up the high standards of the past. The toilets at the back were not cleaned daily which is unacceptable. It looks like there has been little investment since our prior visit four years ago which is disappointing as it has great potential.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyOE_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua T, Front Office Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 18, 2016
Thank you for your response and we appreciate the feedback, our holiday park is under new management so there are exciting times ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed here in November 2012 for 3 nights to go mountain biking at Whakarewarewa / Redwoods mountain bike park. I stayed in a log ensuite cabin, it was quite basic, clean and had a small fridge, tv - which was sufficient for basic breakfasts. The Holiday Park also has a very large and well appointed communal kitchen area a short walk away from the cabin i stayed in - it also had a "common" room with some lounges, tv's and computer / internet access. The holiday park has a very basic shop for laundry powder, toiletries etc etc

I used the thermal pools whilst i was there which was very nice.

It is about a 5 minute ride to Whakarewarewa / Redwoods, however is a little bit of a walk to get into town. I would say its approximately 30 minute walk into town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua T, Guest Relations Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, sorry for the delayed response. As the park is currently under new management.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
4.8 mi away
All Seasons Holiday Park Rotorua
2.0 mi away
Rotorua Top 10 Holiday Park
5.1 mi away
Blue Lake TOP 10 Holiday Park & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Waiteti Trout Stream Holiday Park
2.6 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
1.9 mi away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#3 of 57 in Rotorua
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park

Property: Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park
Address: 463 Old Taupo Road, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A visit to Rotorua is not complete without soaking in the thermal hot pool at Rotorua's renowned Thermal Holiday Park - Free thermal hot pools, swimming pool, Kids mountain bike track and park-like grounds are some of the features we offer. Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park is a Qualmark 3-star plus Holiday Park and is located in the heart of Rotorua's scenic attractions, walk to geysers and the closest holiday park to the world class mountain biking tracks in Whakarewarewa Forest. Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park has a wide range of choices, including: Unpowered & powered tent sites, modern motel units, standard log cabins, en-suite log cabins with kitchenette, kitchen Cabins, tourist flats for guest 4-10, standard family cabins, dorm rooms which can sleep 6 singles and spacious motorhome sites. We are pet friendly by arrangement, animals are welcome just not allowed in rooms due to Health and Safety. Park amenities include: Bike storage, bike cleaning station, swimming pool, free hot mineral pools, tennis/netball courts, cricket pitch, rugby field, TV rooms, barbecues, children's mountain bike track and play area, laundry and linen hire, communal dining area/lounge area, showers/toilet's, dump station, tour desk at reception and wireless internet (fee). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing