We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairy Springs Motel
Ranked #48 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the motel to find the driveway being resealed so we were dealing with sticky pebbles for the duration.
The manager was extremely helpful, and the motel was very comfortable.
We walked next door and headed up the gondola for dinner and then headed back the next day for a luge ride so it was great those facilities were so handy.
We made use of the bike storage for our bikes, and headed out and tried the Whakarewarewa forrest Mountain bike tracks. That was fantastic!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki F, Owner at Fairy Springs Motel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
It was certainly great to have you ladies to stay, and I'm so pleased you were happy with your experience. You & the other guests were such stars on the day the driveway got resealed, it now looks great and we've had minimal problems with stones that were sticky for a few days. Hope to see you back here again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    38
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
48
26
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed here last week for a wedding as it was next door to the venue at skyline gondolas. Asked to check in an hour early as needed to shower and get to venue in time. Was charged $25 to check in an hour early, Had no choice but o pay as had no chance to look for anywhere else. Found this terrible customer service. Have stayed in Many motels and hotels worldwide and have never experienced this before. Also room was not particularly clean. I am travelling to Rotorua again next month and will not be staying here, nor would I recommend any of my friends and colleagues to do so

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jared T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki F, Owner at Fairy Springs Motel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Early check ins are to be arranged in advance & carry a $25 fee. What you fail to say in your review is that you arrived before 10.30am and I was unable to help you with that on the day, I explained there was a fee and told you to try again at 1pm. You are of course entitled to your opinion, as are we and I totally disagree with you regarding the dirty room as I had gone down & cleaned it personally and pride myself in a high standard of cleanliness as 99% of our reviewers & guests would attest to. If you were offended, I apologise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Had a family function in Tauranga. Based ourselves in Rotorua for a week and stayed in the 2 bedroom family unit.
The unit is VERY comfortable and warm, the cooking facilities came in handy when feeding 5 hungry munchkins, (with a meat and grocery store across the road) Cooked a roast dinner for a crowd of 14 one night. The play area was awesome for the little ones. Played on it every opportunity they could get. Amused when they saw a rabbit hopping around the grounds.
Negatives....what can I say about our stay here.....ummm..... still thinking.....ummm.....Ohh I know.....Absolutely Nothing!
Comfortable, clean facilities, serviced by awesome staff, close to tourist attractions but most of all, the atmosphere. When the kids are happy, mum can relax. Thank you for an enjoyable, peaceful stay. Doreen Sydney Australia January 2014

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Doreen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki F, Owner at Fairy Springs Motel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
With fantastic guests like your family, it's a real pleasure being in the hospitality industry, and grateful to the lovely people we meet along the way. Thank you for your review & we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2013

The location was superb. We were in Rotorua for one night, attending a wedding at the Skyline. We just had to walk through the gate and across the grass to the entrance of the Skyline.
Although the buildings are not modern, the rooms are well appointed. Our unit was clean and tastefully decorated. It was a very quiet environment. Although we did not use them, all self-catering facilities were provided. We did make ourselves hot drinks, and there was a good range of tea, coffee and hot chocolate, and fresh milk was provided.
The gardens are well cared for and very child-friendly.
Vicki, the owner, is extremely pleasant and helpful,
The tariff is appropriate and we consider our stay was good value.
We just wanted somewhere convenient, clean, quiet and safe and this motel suited our needs perfectly. Hence the rating of excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki F, Owner at Fairy Springs Motel, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Yes, it's surprisingly quiet & restful for a Motel on a main State Highway, glad you enjoyed your stay & I look forward to welcoming you again sometime.
Regards Vicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Our stay was brief as we were attending a function at the Skyline. The location couldn't have been more convenient (just a walk through the fence to get to the gondola. Although the buildings were a little date, our unit was pleasantly decorated, spacious, well aired, clean, adequately heated and quiet. The owner was very obliging and we wish her all the best in developing her business

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki F, Owner at Fairy Springs Motel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Merci for a lovely review and I so much enjoyed meeting you. I am glad you were satisfied with the accommodation as a week is a good while & it's quite risky booking a place you've never seen before, which is why Trip Advisor reviews are so important.
Ciao Vicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My partner and I recently traveled home for a funeral and we just needed somewhere to shower and have a sleep and this place was perfect. The owner was helpful and sympathetic to our situation. As said in previous reviews the rooms aren't luxurious but comfortable, the beds especially so. Even though it is situated on a main road the rooms are far back from the entrance and so traffic noise does not seem to be a problem. If we had the time we would have taken full advantage of the spa and wifi services which were included in the price. Considering we were not initially looking for a place to stay and simply chose this one as it was the closest, I was incredibly impressed. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kats_3313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki F, Owner at Fairy Springs Motel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. I like to think my motel is giving comfort and service to my guests for the many various reasons they need those things. Not everyone who stays with us is on a holiday & having fun. Some are in situations of sadness & grief, as in your case, others are having eye operations down at the Eye Clinic, some just need to de-stress away from home or work.
Privacy & respect are paramount along with providing a clean, comfortable, quite place with a peaceful atmosphere & I'm glad you found that here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Very well located; the owner very helpful with advices, amenities; spa private and interesting. Wifi performant and included in the price. Room well thought; kitchen functional; altogether I would recommend this place, given the very reasonable price demanded.

Room Tip: Most rooms are far enough from the road; so silent enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki F, Owner at Fairy Springs Motel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Roger thank you for the very nice review & your recommendations, I'm always happy when we have delivered the comfort, service, and value our guests expect. Being an older property we certainly have the room for relaxing outdoors and the apartments are very spacious. Hope to see you again in NZ. Happy memories !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
3.4 mi away
Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
1.4 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#47 of 92 in Rotorua
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
3.4 mi away
Apex on Fenton
Apex on Fenton
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
340 reviews
2.8 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairy Springs Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairy Springs Motel

Property: Fairy Springs Motel
Address: 156 Fairy Springs Road | (State Highway 5), Rotorua 3015, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairy Springs Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 Ground floor apartments in 2 typically kiwi timber buildings. All apartments are self contained with a full kitchen, bathroom & separate toilet. Very Spacious, Comfortable and Clean rooms in quiet peaceful surroundings. Good value & excellent location next to many of Rotorua's famous tourist attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Fairy Springs Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing