We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No sulphur smell”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairy Springs Motel
Ranked #49 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“No sulphur smell”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

a little way from the centre of town but you could have the window & door open without having to smell the sulphur. doesn't look great from the outside but is clean & comfortable. Vicki was very helpful. on a main road but no traffic noise.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Binnari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    38
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
50
26
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Situated on the edge of Rotorua next to the Rotorua gondola. We could walk to the gondola ticket office in 2 minutes ! But a 5 -10 minute drive from the city so you will need a car. Pretty quiet even though on the main road. Rooms are simple but comfortable enough. Friendly host, free wifi (though a bit slow) and reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hway29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This motel is located between the gondola and miniature golf course. At first I was disappointed because it seemed a bit run down from the outside. The rooms was very comfortable, although the walls are thin and we had very noisy neighbors one of the night we stayed there. There are reading lamps by the beds, a real plus for me. What makes this a great place to stay is that it is on the edge of town, not crowded and smelling of sulfur, and the manager is just about the most helpful person ever, she even lent me a sweater to use. It has a great kitchen in the unit with a real oven. We could also walk to the Mitai Maori Cultural experience. There was fresh fruit in our room when we arrived. Across the street was a huge fruit stand and a butcher shop. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suncube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We had booked a room for 4 adults & 1 child but on arrival, we were given only a room that accomodated 4 people. On complaining, the new property owners gave us an adjoining room but it was very smelly and had a lot of cobwebs. Wont be going back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Booked on line and confirmed to be advised by owner that no rooms were available. Subsequent discussions revealed that new owner had taken over 3 weeks previous and had not been provided with a proper handover.
Well worth a try as the owner is very hospitable and has plans for the property which is in need of some care.
May be you should call first but problems are being sorted quickly.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Nice, clean and most of all affordable accommodation. They have a special 3 night stay @ $65 a night. Free wifi. Friendly hosts. The only cons are that the heater in the lounge is on timer and it doesn't seem to heat up very well. Bring your own soap & shampoo.

Room Tip: I would give a tip if we had stayed in all the rooms but we didn't. This is a stupid comment bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chipstah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

I stayed here in august for 4 nights with my husband and 2 children aged 5 and 8. The owner was very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. the children loved the playground and enjoyed the spa and the room we had was very spacious and well equipped. Being close to the skyline we went there during the day then returned for dinner in the evening which was fabulous. I would also recommend the mitai evening and a visit to see the kiwi's at rainbows springs which is all very close by. A great weekend break - thank you

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lady_traveller38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
3.4 mi away
Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
1.4 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#45 of 92 in Rotorua
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
3.5 mi away
New Castle Motor Lodge
New Castle Motor Lodge
#39 of 92 in Rotorua
197 reviews
3.4 mi away
Apex on Fenton
Apex on Fenton
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairy Springs Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairy Springs Motel

Property: Fairy Springs Motel
Address: 156 Fairy Springs Road | (State Highway 5), Rotorua 3015, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairy Springs Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 Ground floor apartments in 2 typically kiwi timber buildings. All apartments are self contained with a full kitchen, bathroom & separate toilet. Very Spacious, Comfortable and Clean rooms in quiet peaceful surroundings. Good value & excellent location next to many of Rotorua's famous tourist attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Fairy Springs Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing