We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, well situated, friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tuscany Villas Rotorua - Heritage Collection
Ranked #36 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2010

Set in the "motel strip" of Rotorua, this well-groomed motel satisfied all our requirements. The owner, Delwyn (from memory) was a mine of information on where to go, what to do. We had an upstairs room, which had a HUGE spa bath and very roomy bedroom. Even a small kitchen for toast & tea! Well priced, close to everything - we enjoyed it.

If you go, try hiring a private spa pool at the Polynesian Spa - faaaaabulous.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlynnF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 248 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2010

This motel is pretty plain vanilla but its reasonable for a day or two. There is not much decorating, no AC but its clean and close enough to things. We needed to keep the door open to cool the place down. Luckley there was no one walking by. Get a room on the second floor.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrBill_89509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

Looks good from outside and inside does not disappoint although rooms are not large.
Very clean motel but on Fenton St and so theres passing traffic most of the time(but then so are most of the other motels). Bit of a walk into town--best to drive.
Would we book here again? Not sure--think there is better value available but would recommend if the price comes down

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teddall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2010

One of the best motels we stayed during our 12 day trip to North & South Island!
Stayed for 2 nights at Tuscany Villas late Dec 2009 - 8 adults including 3 teenagers - 3 families booked into 3 units. 2 units with separate bedrooms had pretty good kitchennette with good cooking facilities, the Studio unit had none. All came with these huge spa baths. Rotorua is reknowned for its outdoor thermal spas - so, I guess huge spa baths in the rooms seemed superfluous!
The hosts were friendly & helpful & suggested great places to dine & do the thermal spa thingy. Room service was excellent, everything replaced once used - plenty of towels, quality products etc. The premises are almost brand new & everything spotlessly clean & immaculate. Well - for a first trip to Rotorua - it was memorable. I'll be back again & would highly recommend to anyone. Just don't know why there's this appendage "A Taste of Italy" to the name - Rotorua has some unique qualities and surely a more appropriate adjunct would be better?
The hosts booked us for the Tamaki Maori Concert & the bus arrived on time. The Tamaki concert was very entertaining & more entertaining was the multi-talented driver who not only drove, but sang, entertained & kept us Aussies in good humour by actually lampooning Aussies all the way. Ahh...yes, the Kiwis love the Aussies as he says!
Word of Warning about taking a dip in the Sulphur Spas - in our case, we ventured to Hells Gate Thermal reserve. We chose the cheaper option of walking around the reserve & soaking in the Sulphur Spa. Well - DON'T wear your best cosy/swimwear or take your best towels. The smell does not evaporate! Even after getting back home to Oz & soaking the offending clothes in the recommended Ammonia! I had to tryi another soaking in Eucalyptus oil laundry mix to try to get rid of the smell!! Even if you wash there & then, dry & pack into your suitcase with the rest of your clothes - It permeates everything. Some members of our group wore the offending "fragrance" all the way back to Oz even after laudering again while we were over there! Best would be to dry & pack separately into plastic bags & launder separately from other clothes...

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller88Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2010

Stayed for a couple of nights on honeymoon in NZ. Hotel is well located as long as you have a car otherwise its 10mins walk from the town. The rooms are well kept and the people on reception were very friendly and helpfull. Breakfast is ok but the real selling point for this hotel are the amazing spa baths which are just huge.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeafinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2009

If you reserve at this hotel, be very careful on the terms of the reservation. Our friend had booked an early bird for us and her and her spouse, but a death in her family obliged her to travel to a funeral on the reserved dates. The management would not refund her money, claiming it was the busy season and they could not lose the money. When we arrived to check into our rooms, they had rented out hers and still would not refund her money. So they made a double profit off of my poor friend while she grieved. Just how much money do people need to make off of others' terrible fortune?

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank able_human
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2009

We only stayed one night in a Studio Apartment during our honeymoon. The other night was at Ascot on Fenton, the difference between the two was HUGE even though the cost was only an extra $35 NZD at Tuscany. The room is sleek, modern, and a comfortable size. The bathroom is large with a fabulous spa tub perfect for relaxing and unwinding after a long day of sightseeing and big, fluffy towels when you exit! For a small fee you get access to doing your laundry in a faciity upstairs. They have a confrenece room next to it. Overall it was a great value. The only thing that rubbed me the wrong way was on the day of check out, we packed and left the premise (we decided to drive since we stopped at Polynesian Spa to pick up some beauty products) around 8am to eat breakfast since we did not opt for the breakfast at the hotel which was extra and we wished to return to a great bakery (whose name I cannot remember but it is on a corner with outdoor seating and has great baked items!) Because we had already packed the car, we only came back to check out. Well, the guy had already charged my credit card on file because he thought we had just took off with the room key, and we were at the desk well before the check out time of 10am!! Maybe this had happened before with other guests, but I asked if I could settle my account with another card and was told that the account had already been settled and he didn't make any offer of accomodating my request. I am in the hospitality industry and I know very well you can cancel and recharge a transaction with little problem so I was disappointed with this aspect but I did not let it ruin my stay. But overall, for the price and the amenities it is a great place to stay.

I highly recommend the Mitai Cultural Experience. It felt very genuine and we were offered such great hospitality. We both had been to luaus before in Hawaii and while it is a great celebration of cultures and tradition because they were at hotels it seemed more orchestrated. But the land is owned by tribes that have been there for years and it was more of a sharing of culture and breaking bread with people from all over the globe. Because it was raining, we opted not to drive and organized through the front desk a shuttle pick up.

Be sure to experience the Polynesian Spa whether you opt for the private tubs or the communal ones. It reminded me (besides some obvious differences) of when I visited the Blue Lagoon in Iceland. It's just something you have to do when you are there! We did the mud bath and soak at Hell's Gate, which to me was overpriced and not so intimate. The mud bath experience is 30 minutes behind in a semi private area from other bathers. But once you rinse, if you wish to soak, there are two smaller hot pools that look out onto the geothermal park where visitors can clearly view you and you become part of the attraction. ;)

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lololas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.0 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
454 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
886 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
735 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 92 in Rotorua
252 reviews
8.1 mi away
VR Rotorua Lake Resort
VR Rotorua Lake Resort
#28 of 92 in Rotorua
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuscany Villas Rotorua - Heritage Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuscany Villas Rotorua - Heritage Collection

Address: 280 Fenton Street | Bay of Plenty, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: $102 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tuscany Villas Rotorua - Heritage Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rotorua's Tuscany Villas offers guests luxurious Rotorua motel accommodation in the heart of the city. Our modern designs and furnishings are comfortable and will delight our guests.Our luxury accommodation options are top-notch. We provide personal, friendly service and exceptional housekeeping standards for your comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tuscany Villas Rotorua - Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing