We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice rooms, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tuscany Villas Rotorua - Heritage Collection
Ranked #29 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

My fiancé and I stayed for three nights in this nice little spot. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room had a nice comfy king bed. Got some real good sleep on it. Our room also had a spa. We used it once and it was quite nice. In addition to a TV, the room also had a DVD player. DVDs were freely available from reception at no charge. The cleaning service was very good. Our room was always made up neatly when required.

If there were any negatives, I'd have to say the advertised Sky TV was limited. I've stayed in less expensive accommodation that had more channels available (3 sport and two movie channes). However this is really being nitpicky and the previously-mentioned DVD availability compensates for the lack of variety. The Wi-Fi was also having problems during our stay. It constantly dropped out every couple of minutes and one of our devices couldn't connect at all. But the friendly management staff fixed that one problem by allowing that device to bypass the logon. The dropouts were still happening when we checked out. A bit annoying but at least we had a connection.

Overall we would definitely stay here again. It was a comfortable spot and we thoroughly enjoyed Rotarua.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    90
    19
    7
    4
See reviews for
44
120
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

I stay here at least a few days per month and always enjoy my stay. The Host and Hostess are very friendly and helpful. This is luxury accommodation at a very affordable rate. each room has its own spa bath (new) which you fill yourself. the rooms are modern and very clean. this is a very well presented motel and i definitely recommend this place if you are after a little more than average you will not be dissappointed

Room Tip: very close to city central and new modern equipment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivone_sass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TuscanyV, Owner at Tuscany Villas Rotorua - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thanks so much for your kind words. It is always a pleasure having you stay with us and hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

The sleeping room was large, as was the bathroom, with lots of towels and bathroom amenities and good wifi. We didn’t use the Jacuzzi tub, but it was a nice touch. Microwave, sink, dishes, and tea kettle are always appreciated during a long holiday. But honestly, the very best thing about this hotel is the owners. From our (somewhat late) arrival to our late–then-early departure, they were cheerful, warm, helpful and full of great information – with their help, we planned the rest of our stay in New Zealand, including a fantastic side trip to The Mount (Mount Maunganui – highly recommended!). We would stay here again.

As with other motels on Fenton Street, a car is highly recommended – it’s a bit of a walk to the downtown area where many of the restaurants are clustered. With a car, location is great – you can easily pop over to the Redwood Forest as well as back to town and out to other attractions – like OGO – yay!

One other note - as a motel, the primary window is a sliding door entrance - when this is closed for privacy, there's not a lot of outdoor light coming in. Not a surprise given the structure, but if you haven't done your research, you might not realize this.

Room Tip: Second floor offers a little more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliBChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TuscanyV, Owner at Tuscany Villas Rotorua - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and glad we could help with the trip planning. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your New Zealand trip .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

We paid $205 per night to stay in this motel, which seems a bit outrageous however it's high season in New Zealand.

Positives: very friendly staff, clean rooms and bathroom, kitchenette with everything that you need.
Negatives: The bedroom, we had room #25 has no window. We rented the room as 1 king/queen and 1 single bed. The queen bed was in a room with no windows or air coming other than from the ceiling fan -no AC either. The living area was where the single bed was, with only 1 window opening. In the summer it was impossible to sleep as no air. I do wish it was made clear in the room description that this room selection would have no window in the bedroom.
I don't think this is an issue for all of the rooms so worth asking when you book.

We would book again just will be careful about choosing the rooms next time.

Room Tip: Do not choose room 25 if have a couple and single person staying in the same room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
164 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

This motel is clean and well looked after but it has small rooms without balconies. It is not walking distance to city center and having dinner in room is not a nice option. Luckily, there is one good restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrottersSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TuscanyV, Owner at Tuscany Villas Rotorua - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are lucky to have an excellent restaurant so close to us. Many of our guests though do enjoy the brisk walk into town as well .It takes 20 to 30 minutes right to the lake front with restaurants and shops along the way. Only a couple of minutes in a car , of course. Thank you fro staying with us and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

We booked this accommodation last minute (on hotels.com the night before our stay). We chose this boutique hotel based on the positive reviews we read on Tripadvisor – and it did not fail!

The hotel is located between Te Puia (which is worth visiting!) and the city centre. It was quiet even though it was next to the main road and overall, we were happy with the location.

We arrived and checked in with no problems, the hotel was managed by a lovely couple who were both warm, accommodating and welcoming.

We parked our car right in front of our room (for free!) and the property itself was a small complex (looked like a motel at first impression).

But this place surpassed motel standards. The room was complete with all the toiletries and other amenities and I liked that there was a kitchenette and a small dining area. It was quaint! The room was reasonably priced and it was definitely good value for money.

My favourite was the jetted spa that is fitted in the bathroom, this most definitely makes it worth staying there! I also liked that we could borrow the films in the reception area.

The only “issue” we had was that we used their laundry facilities (washing machine + dryer and they give you washing powder), which was NZ$8 and we thought this was a bit expensive, but we respected this as the hotel was quite environmentally friendly and it wouldn’t surprise me if electricity is expensive in NZ.

All in all, we definitely enjoyed our stay and would recommend to others and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GhianV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TuscanyV, Owner at Tuscany Villas Rotorua - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thanks so much for your great review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the big spa.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

This place does not call itself a motel, but from the appearance it is. Everything you need is available clean and tidy.
The bathroom had a built in whirlpool, which is definitly a special but on the other hand there is no air con and you enter the room through veranda doors (3 segments but only windows in bedroom) directly from the car park. You need to close the curtains if you don't want anyone passing along watching what you do in your room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManuHAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.0 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#14 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuscany Villas Rotorua - Heritage Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuscany Villas Rotorua - Heritage Collection

Property: Tuscany Villas Rotorua - Heritage Collection
Address: 280 Fenton Street | Bay of Plenty, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tuscany Villas Rotorua - Heritage Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rotorua's Tuscany Villas offers guests luxurious Rotorua motel accommodation in the heart of the city. Our modern designs and furnishings are comfortable and will delight our guests.Our luxury accommodation options are top-notch. We provide personal, friendly service and exceptional housekeeping standards for your comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tuscany Villas Rotorua - Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing