We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Curry I Have Had In NZ”

Ambience Fine Indian Cuisine
Ranked #99 of 223 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $18
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
AlAin UAE
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Best Curry I Have Had In NZ”
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

A small Restaurant with a small frontage but Excellent food the Chef really Knows how to make a Curry,everything we ordered was cooked to perfection the Nan breads just right and the spicy ness exactly right the price was very Reasonable would recommend

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ShellyAlain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    31
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
“Late and salty”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

The delivery was half an hour late, the delivery man had $3.20 change (which made me laugh). The lamb kebab I ordered was too salty to eat. However the chicken biriyani was lovey and the garlic naan on par to others. I only ordered from Ambience because Indian star's phone line was busy for the fifteen minutes I tried to ring them. Might just wait for Indian star to answer the phone next time. I shouldn't have been so impatient. Won't eat here again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Lovely”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

As someone who's generally very fussy when it comes to trying out new restaurants as I like what I like, Ambience was a pleasant surprise.

Great food (onion bhaji entree - MASSIVE!! Couldn't get over it; I was in heaven, generous medium butter chicken mains with a not-too-filling and delicious plain naan), fantastic service, enjoyable experience overall and we left feeling full - and I'm a big eater.

Ambience has become my Rotorua-holiday restaurant of choice, would recommend to everyone.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Butter Chicken”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My fiancé and I both had the butter chicken and agreed that it was the best we've had! Good value aswell, the curry, naan bread and a drink for $17.90

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank fitto86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Real taste of india”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

It was really gud experiance over thier after a long time got i real taste of india atmosphere , services , food every thing was fabulous thanks ambience

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nztravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ambience Fine Indian Cuisine also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Ambience Fine Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing