We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best half day tour”

Elite Adventures Rotorua Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$114.03*
and up
Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Morning Tour
More Info
$84.60*
and up
Rotorua Cultural Eco Small Group Afternoon Tour
More Info
$99.32*
and up
Tribal Footprints Tour
Ranked #19 of 62 Tours in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Elite Adventures is an award winning tour company providing scheduled and private half-day and full day tours of Rotorua. We also organise custom-made private and group tours and shore excursions to Rotorua from Tauranga port. Tell us where your interest lies and we can create the tour you desire. Why choose us? We offer tours through many of Rotorua's attractions that do not offer guided tours. Our guides are locals and are fun, friendly and informative! We keep our tour groups small and personalised.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and i were in Rotorua as part of our honeymoon in NZ. We hadn't booked any tours but came across this half day tour with Elite Adventures Rotorua. It was a great price for everything you get and learn. Our guide, Huru, picked us up from our Hotel in the morning, and that's where the fun began. Huru was a great guide, very helpful, he is a local and has lived in Rotorua for, from memory, most of his life, if not his whole life, so he knows what he's talking about. We had a great morning learning about the thermal activity and seeing the sights. On our way back Huru sung my husband and i a song, Pokarekare Ana, a song about love. It was amazing! Thank you Huru!
We'll be coming back to see you again.
Very highly recommended.

Thank TiffandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eliteadventures, Owner at Elite Adventures Rotorua Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you for choosing Elite Adventures we are glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to your next visit to New Zealand!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 76 of 136 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

Thank you Trent for sharing your culture with a couple from the US. You allowed us to experience your love of the land, the people and culture. Your personal insight and connection to both Maori and NZ European cultures enabled to educate us through many entertaining and serious stories, plus a few jokes mixed in. Don't be tempted to pass this opportunity up, ask for Trent and be educated and enlightened. Thanks to Trent we will be back to Rotorua.

1  Thank OhioJ44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eliteadventures, Owner at Elite Adventures Rotorua Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

My pleasure Ohio we have had quite a few visitors from your region lately. I enjoyed my time with you also and we both learnt alot of each other, thats what it is all about respectful sharing of knwledge. We look forward to your next trip with us, cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We booked the half-day geothermal tour with Elite Adventures last Mar. 26. Luckily, we got Trent as our guide. The tour was quite insightful, fun, and entertaining. We loved how we got to experience the place, the culture, and its people. It was more that what we expected. My cousins and I really enjoyed it. This was definitely one of the highlights of our NZ trip. Definitely recommended to those who wants to visit Rotorua.

Thank beingjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eliteadventures, Owner at Elite Adventures Rotorua Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you for your kind words, we did have a good day together!! I have taken the time to learn all about our unique country and people and love sharing with curious visitors from around the world, we look forward to your next visit!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We had a fascinating half day tour. Huru picked us up from our hotel and gave us a personal insight into the Maori culture incorporating the historical and present day issues in a sensitive way. He took us to his village, the village buried by the volcano, and Lake Tarawera and Lake Rotokakahi and even sang to us!

Thank Henny21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eliteadventures, Owner at Elite Adventures Rotorua Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Thank you for your kind words and we are glad you enjoyed Huru and his singing, he's pretty good alright!! Merry Xmas come visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We took a half day trip with Elite Adventures -- if and when you go, ask for Trent (owner) if you can get him. Trent gave us a great in-depth tour of the geothermal park as well as an up close look at the powerful and terrifying "Mount Tarawera" site in the Waimangu volcanic valley. Imagine a place where 150 years ago that was pasture land and now it's "Yellowstone" following a massive eruption and reforestation and you get the idea. Trent's personal story and connections to both Maori and NZ European cultures provided a backdrop for many entertaining and serious stories with more than a few Rugby jokes mixed in.

Don't be tempted to pass this up, this is not "Yellowstone 2.0" but a very different and interesting volcanic region well worth your time and effort to visit. This scale of tour ( just a few people, not a big busload) is the way to go. Have a blast!

Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eliteadventures, Owner at Elite Adventures Rotorua Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you for your kind words John. We do try our best to make it interesting and entertaining, I know what I like when I travel and expect the same type of service from us. Look me up next time you are in New Zealand and I can share some more spectacular places with you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elite Adventures Rotorua Tours also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Elite Adventures Rotorua Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing