We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable day in Rotorua area!”

Elite Adventures Rotorua Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$111.60*
and up
Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Morning Tour
Ranked #19 of 60 Tours in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Elite Adventures is an award winning tour company providing scheduled and private half-day and full day tours of Rotorua. We also organise custom-made private and group tours and shore excursions to Rotorua from Tauranga port. Tell us where your interest lies and we can create the tour you desire. Why choose us? We offer tours through many of Rotorua's attractions that do not offer guided tours. Our guides are locals and are fun, friendly and informative! We keep our tour groups small and personalised.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
FL
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Memorable day in Rotorua area!”
Reviewed April 2, 2012 via mobile

We were on a cruise and spent our day in Tauranga/Rotarua area on a tour provided by Elite Adventures. Our guide, Huru, offered so much history and insight into his native Maori culture, while escorting us through the exotically beautiful geothermal areas!

Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eliteadventures, Owner at Elite Adventures Rotorua Tours, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for joing us from the cruise ship, we are a great option if you dont want to sit on a 50 seater coach all day! It makes your day more enjoyable with a local guide who can skip the queues and knows where he is going and what he is doing. Glad we could be of service for you, cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    10
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ultimate Experence with an 'Elite' guide(s)!!”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Thank you Trent of Elite Adventures for arranging my tour' and accomodating the change of day to ensure I could go on the Riverjet, and especially to Huru my guide for the day who was great company!
I went on the' Ultimate Escape all day tour' and I had an amazing time, even though was raining. I learn't a lot of interesting things from Huru on my guided walk round Wai- o-Tapu and about maori culture during my day. Next stop RiverJet were I had chosen to do Thermal Safari. Taking a jet boat down the Waikato River I saw a couple of fab waterfalls due to the rain, Okajei Korajo thermal reserve which was stunning!! Jet boat ride on the way back included some fab spins, lunch then relax in the Waikite Valley Thermal pools.
I've used this guided tour company before and I would certainly use them again being a solo traveller. As they ensure you really to have an ultimate experience!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eliteadventures, Owner at Elite Adventures Rotorua Tours, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your review and kind words, glad we could give you an Ultimate day lol!! Spread the word Elite Adventures will look after you if you ever come to NZ and Rotorua. We have some fantastic packages that take the stress out of your holiday. Cheers see you next time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great day with Robbie showing us the Geothermaal area”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We were on a cruise and a limited time in Tauranga. Elite Adventures made our day seamless - we were picked up at the Port and hurried to make the Lady Knox Geyser eruption.. We made it with a few minutes to spare!! Robbie was an excellent tour guide - providing interesting facts and he really looked after us. We all enjoyed the day - morning in Waiotaupa and afternoon in Waimangu Volcanic Village. And back in Port to board our cruise ship in time.
Thanks Robbie for a great day.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great tour”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

There 6 of us americans on our tour, so a small group. We loved Huru, and the day is packed of course, since we were coming from our Ship in Taurango, so we have to drive to Rotorua to see the fantastical events. The geo thermal wonderlands were wonderful, we learned so much about Moira history which was our interest. At Te Puia, we loved the live cultural performance and Huru helped us get better seats. We loved seeing the Kiwi bird. We highly recommend Elite Tours.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank martypach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eliteadventures, Owner at Elite Adventures Rotorua Tours, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your tripadvisor review we are glad you enjoyed you time with us, Huru is a fantastic guide and an asset to our company. We are alway trying to develop new tours and share our unique area with our respected manuhiri (visitors) Cheers and thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lafayette hill, pa, usa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Extremely enjoyable and informative tour”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We took the Eco-Thermal tour and thoroughly enjoyed it. While people had said that it was no comparison to Yellowstone, it is extremely interesting, as you have these colors and mud-pools and geysers, but you also have the most interesting ferns and other vegetation in close proximity.

Our guide, Karl, was very knowledgeable and informed us about Mauri culture. He also knew a lot about the vegetation and the chemicals and geothermal activity, including demonstrating to us how to make rope and string and dance costumes from the flax plant. An additional bonus is that he is also an artist, and so he brings an aesthetic aspect to the explanation of carvings, tattoos, and jewelry.

All-in-all, it was a great tour, and I recommend it highly. And ask for Karl!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank bearsfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elite Adventures Rotorua Tours also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Elite Adventures Rotorua Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing