We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Hosts and great spot in rotorua”
Review of Pohutu Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pohutu Lodge
Ranked #18 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly Hosts and great spot in rotorua”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We were visiting in the busy early January time and I am extremely happy with out choice. The pohutu lodge is a great place to stay if you are coming with family. We had 2 rooms, the heavenly heights and one of the 2 bedroom units. The teenager took the room right up the top with the views of the geyser out the back. We stayed for 3 nights were were welcomed like we were part of the family and nothing was a problem for Barry. He helped us to book our hangi feast and also supplied us with discount vouchers for various attractions. One day we plan on coming back to rotorua and we will look at the pohutu lodge always. Rooms were tidy and well maintained.

Room Tip: splash out and get the heavenly heights rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    19
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
35
12
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

My second stay at Pohutu lodge (the first being many years ago with good memories of that stay) does not disappoint ..... Not flash but clean, comfortable, accommodation at a value for $$$$ cost - right beside Whakerewarewa what more could you want :-)

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaO19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
154 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed one night and managed to get an excellent rate. In addition, the management were extremely helpful when we had to change the dates of our visit. We had a two bedroom unit, which was spacious and in that respect, good value for money. If you are on a tight budget, this place is worth investigating. It's location near the thermal area is great for tourists, too. We especially liked the tiny, private outdoor area with table and chairs, and lovingly cared for garden.

The downstairs double room was pleasant.

However, the place can be noisy. The motel's construction means that noise ricochets around the courtyard area, and is not deadened by the thin walls.

It appears that quite a bit of expense has been spared in setting up this place. The fittings are poor quality - the pressure in the shower is underwhelming, the shower cubicle flimsy, the handbasin is not properly connected to the wall, the sofas are not comfortable, the single bed was downright uncomfortable, the hairdryer had exposed wires (we pointed this out to management, who promised to fix it).

Management said they were working through a refurbishment programme and we wish them success.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pennie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waihi, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We decided at relatively short notice that we wanted to take the family to Rotorua at Easter weekend to do some mountain biking in the Redwood Forrest. With it being an easy drive from where we live, we would have been happy to just go for a day trip, but I decided to look into accommodation options, thinking it would be nice to make it into a bit of a family get-away.

I'm glad we did, because in my search for last minute accommodation, I stumbled across Pohutu Lodge, which had one last 2 bedroom family unit available, for one night, perfect for our requirements.

The owners were friendly and efficient from the start. My email enquiry was responded to almost immediately by a phone call from Barry, confirming availability, and checking our bedding requirements. He even offered a cot for our baby, without me asking, so that we didn't have to bring our portacot....and there was no surcharge for this service.

Pohutu Lodge was fantastically located for our holiday....so close to the Redwood Forrest for walking and mountain biking, and only a short drive to the centre of town and other tourist attractions. And with the added bonus of having a BP with a wild bean café located a couple of minutes stroll away, so I didn't even have to get in the car to get my fresh coffee fix in the morning.

Meade Street, is a dead-end side road off the main highway. Our unit was on the left side as you drove in, and I wasn't aware of any traffic noise at all during our stay, which surprised me.

Our unit was a 2 bedroom family unit, which exceeded my expectations. Downstairs was the bathroom which included a shower, toilet, spa bath and hand basin, and the master bedroom. This room was reasonably spacious, with queen bed, a desk/chair, and another little arm chair, a large cupboard, and a flat screen TV. The cot also easily fitted into this room, without restricting space for movement. It opened out onto a private pebbled courtyard area which had a table and two chairs.

Upstairs, was the open plan lounge/dining/kitchen area, which again had plenty of space. The lounge had two large sofas, which could fold down into king single beds, a TV, heater and coffee table. The dining area was a sort of large breakfast bar (you can see it in the photos on their website) which was basic but served its purpose. The kitchen had all your basic requirements, such as fridge, microwave, toaster, kettle, stove, sink, and a reasonable selection of other kitchen equipment/utensils, all in good working order. Tea/coffee/hot chocolate/green tea (I think?) and milk were provided.

The second bedroom was at the top of the stairs, accessible off the kitchen area. It was also spacious, and had two single beds. It also had its own toilet and hand basin, which was a very handy feature!

Fresh towels and toiletries were provided on each of the beds, even including a peppermint!

Inside in the upstairs cupboard where some thoughtfully added family-friendly accessories, such as a wooden barrier to place at the top of the stairs, so bubs couldn't fall down them, and a high chair.

It appeared to us, that the unit had had a relatively recent facelift, with new duvets, new curtains, sofas being replaced or reupholstered, a modern vanity in the main bathroom, and tasteful decorations/wall hangings to add a bit of colour.

On top of this, the place was spotlessly clean, and had free parking right outside our unit door, and a geyser to view from just out the back of the motel (which was handy when our over excited kids needed occupying!)

There was also a garage which gets locked at night-time where we could store our bikes, if we wanted to. The owner also provided great information on local attractions (as well as discount vouchers for some of the activities)

I'd have difficulty finding fault with Pohutu Lodge, bearing in mind that we are a family of 2 adults, and three kids, booking for a 1 night stay, at short notice, over Easter weekend!

The stairs were perhaps a little creaky? The carpet slightly worn? And the carparks for some of the units might have been a bit tricky to get in/out of if you had a really big car? But really, its a well equipped, family orientated unit, and we were more than happy with our stay here.

And at only $150 for the night, it was great value for money!

Thanks Pohutu Lodge! We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Myself and two friends visited Rotorua for mountain biking. Barry and Shirley were absolutely fantastic from beginning to end. Friendly and helpful. Barry was over with three cold beers for us 5 minutes after arrival!

The accomodation was clean, comfortable and very well located relative to the Whaka forest where we would do most of our riding. I can't wait to get back there and will definitely stay at the Pohutu!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGARD63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Barry and Shirley are great hosts, very helpful and full of advice on where to go and what to see. The room was clean and comfortable, broken light bulb replaced next day and I was lent a clothes horse to dry washing. It was great to be able to watch the geyser next door.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Barry & Shirley were both fabulous hosts providing not only accommodation but also extremely helpful tour guides. Giving us a huge amount of local knowledge so we were able to see the best things in our short time in Roturua. Hope to be able to one back soon with my family and enjoy the experience. What an awesome back yard they have not toooooo many places could claim that. Thanks heaps and we hope to see your again one day.

Room Tip: Rooms great all comfortable choose any
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apollo Hotel Rotorua
Apollo Hotel Rotorua
#51 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#66 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Atsala Apartment Stay
Atsala Apartment Stay
#31 of 57 in Rotorua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.8 mi away
Geneva Motor Lodge
Geneva Motor Lodge
#31 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pohutu Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pohutu Lodge

Property: Pohutu Lodge
Address: 3 Meade Street | Whakarewarewa, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pohutu Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pohutu Lodge is a friendly, family run business, dedicated to maximizing your holiday experience. We operate two bedroom units suited for families, with one that boasts of being Rotorua’s highest motel bedroom suite with views over the city and lake. These units all have two TVs, two toilets, a spa bath and a shower, so you don’t struggle for space, letting the whole family enjoy their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Pohutu Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing