We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a good pizza”

Nuvolari Restaurant
Ranked #172 of 223 Restaurants in Rotorua
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not a good pizza”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We have been there 10 days ago. I've been attracted by the old Italian race driver names in the menu, hoping to find some real Italian pizza.
Unfortunately this was not the case. My margherita had the usual not Italian taste and was covered in thick cheese -not mozzarella- which took me half day to digest. Thank God it was lunch and not dinner or I'd would have spent the night awake cursing that cheese.
The location is great and the atmosphere is good.
Been living in Queensland I'm used to the "almost Italian" pizza and overkooked pasta overflooded with souce in many restaurants.
If you like that or dominos pizza than this will be ok for you.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FedandRos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    156
    92
    87
    89
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice plate to eat - very popular”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Went here on a Sunday night - albeit a long weekend.

Lucky to get a table.

Meals overall were really nice.

Prices were reasonable.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tan_bsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
“Mainstream average”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

That about sums it up. Good buzzy location but no attention to detail , even omitting to offer salt and pepper to an unseasoned main meal which is very average. If I was dining without a child , I wouldn't eat there , but it ticks some boxes.

Helpful?
Thank binnythomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very good!”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We got in to Rotorua at 9:30pm and most places were not still serving food, even though the signs said "open tIl late".
We found Nuvolari and were so pleased that they were still serving!
I ordered a Parmesan Chicken on tomato risotto and it was outstanding!! It was tasty and plentiful and the presentation was very nice. We also had n order if garlic bread and it was perfection. Crispy outside, soft inside no not too much garlic.
Will definitely eat there again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4pamalama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummmmmmmy”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Great service, great food and value for money. We have been a couple of times and every is great. The pizza's are to die for

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank notkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nuvolari Restaurant also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Nuvolari Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing