We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best backpacker”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rotorua Central Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Keep in mind that it is a backpackers which means close quarters with other people (though very friendly) and the desired basics; if you don't like this don't stay here and be mindful of what you're booking. For a backpacker this is all you could desire; good location, neat and tidy rooms, big kitchen and excellent facilities.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoruaCentral, Owner at Rotorua Central Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

I like the way you are thinking!

We too think $20 for hotel quality beds, central heating, good shower, spa, great kitchen & free wi-fi.

Cheers
Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
There are newer reviews for Rotorua Central Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 176 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

This hostel is heated geo-thermally so beautifully warm, and it has real beds (not bunk beds) so is a spot of luxury when backpacking. The staff are great and really nice and the spa pool is heavenly.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoruaCentral, Owner at Rotorua Central Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad everything was perfect for you :)

Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We booked a double room for a couple of nights and we were really pleased. The room was well sized and warm with a large window. The bathrooms and showers were plenty and very clean. The kitchen was a good size with lots of equipment and utensils and the radio played at dinner. The location was fantastic, a short walk to anything from the Museum to the Hot Pools to the Parks. Overall our stay was very comfortable and we would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephandJosh16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoruaCentral, Owner at Rotorua Central Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2014

Happy you enjoyed your stay - thank you for your nice response.

The geothermal heating is definitely a bonus now the temperature has dropped :)

Cheers
Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed here for five nights and really enjoyed our stay - we spent more time in the rooms than anticipated, as the weather was terrible (non-stop rain for two days), and I'm glad we were in this hostel for that time - we were in a big, comfortable double bed, just across from the bathroom, with nice big windows with natural light (such as it was, during the rainstorms!). The kitchen was a bit of a trek (ie at the other end of the hostel), but was big, clean and not too crowded. The TV area is quite small, but we didn't use it. Good book selection. Free wi-fi - not always fast (or even connect-able, on occasion) from our room, but we were a little way away from reception. It was a bit noisy in the morning with people checking out, but we both slept quite well during the night. Good heating. Good water pressure and heat in the showers. No wait for the toilets. Good price. Good central location - an easy 5-10 minute walk into town and from the bus station, and 10-15 minutes from the (massive) supermarket.

If you are coming from airport - get the number 10 bus, it stops literally around the corner, and is NZ$2.50 each.

When we arrived, the friendly reception staff gave us a map with a recommended walk nearby, and also a coupon for a meal for two mains and two wines for NZ$50 at Capers - this was most excellent and highly recommended - great deal, great food, very enjoyable (I had the lamb - delicious).

Room Tip: we were in room 10 which was quiet, close to bathrooms, but a little way from the kitchen and commun...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LM631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoruaCentral, Owner at Rotorua Central Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2014

Thanks for the nice review.

Good tip about the airport bus, just have to note it runs:

mon-sat 0640 - 1810
sun 0740 - 1640


Cheers
Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

初めてのBackpackersでの宿泊でした。
Wi-Fiは100MBまでタダなので、すぐ切れます…
受付の方が気さくな方で、話やすかったです^^

部屋は埃もなく、とても綺麗でした。
夜はうるさくもなく、ぐっすり眠れました。

ポリネシアンスパとタマキマオリビレッジに行く予定だったので、
とても近くて便利でした^^

こちらのBackpackerにして良かったです。

I stayed at backpacker for the first time.
Two receptionists were kind and openhearted.
The room wasn't dust, so it was comfortable:)
I could good sleep at the night.
This backpacker was near to "Polynesian Spa" and "Tamaki Maori Village". I was planning to go to the two places, so it was conveniently located.

I chose this backpacker and was a correct answer!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank AZUchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Loved the place from the moment I walked in, was greeted well, the bedrooms were roomy, beds were single with no bunks, nice change with a great mattress. Staff is very friendly, the spa is beautiful & clean! Kitchen & utensils intact. Perfect

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Shawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoruaCentral, Owner at Rotorua Central Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2014

Nice - thank you :)

I hope you have found somewhere down south with the same heating we have :)


Don't work too hard on you travels!
Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Had no sleep as 2 men tried to get in the window at 4am ! I was scared. They need someone on night shift as people were playing guitar, singing all the way till 6 am . We know its a backpackers but we did not feel safe . Noisy and would never stay again, however staff were friendly on arrival and room was clean.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank langford2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoruaCentral, Owner at Rotorua Central Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

The behaviour of the group that caused this disruption was totally unacceptable. Our night manager spoke to them several times throughout the night, but they obviously just moved to a different part of the hostel. Our night managers are instructed to call me if they cannot sort out ANY problem - this obviously did not happen, and I can only apologise. As for someone trying to get in your window, I wish that you told us in the morning, so that I could refer the matter to the police. This group were part of a local band and will not be welcome back to our hostel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
717 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.2 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
0.1 mi away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#3 of 58 in Rotorua
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rotorua Central Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotorua Central Backpackers

Address: 1076 Pukuatua St, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range: $30 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1930's character building situated close to the CBD of Rotorua. We offer a range of room configurations. No ensuite facilities, cheap wifi, large shared kithen, spa pool, thermal central heating in all rooms, choice of shower or bath, bed linen included. A great place to take a break! Office hours 8am to 7pm NZT. Please only phone during office hours ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rotorua Central Backpackers Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing