We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hostel I've Stayed at in NZ! ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rotorua Central Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best Hostel I've Stayed at in NZ! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Loved the place from the moment I walked in, was greeted well, the bedrooms were roomy, beds were single with no bunks, nice change with a great mattress. Staff is very friendly, the spa is beautiful & clean! Kitchen & utensils intact. Perfect

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Shawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoruaCentral, Owner at Rotorua Central Backpackers, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Nice - thank you :)

I hope you have found somewhere down south with the same heating we have :)


Don't work too hard on you travels!
Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    53
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
7
52
59
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Had no sleep as 2 men tried to get in the window at 4am ! I was scared. They need someone on night shift as people were playing guitar, singing all the way till 6 am . We know its a backpackers but we did not feel safe . Noisy and would never stay again, however staff were friendly on arrival and room was clean.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank langford2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoruaCentral, Owner at Rotorua Central Backpackers, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
The behaviour of the group that caused this disruption was totally unacceptable. Our night manager spoke to them several times throughout the night, but they obviously just moved to a different part of the hostel. Our night managers are instructed to call me if they cannot sort out ANY problem - this obviously did not happen, and I can only apologise. As for someone trying to get in your window, I wish that you told us in the morning, so that I could refer the matter to the police. This group were part of a local band and will not be welcome back to our hostel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Great place! Nice vibe, comfortable and practical. Great staff, always willing to help with everything and give the best tips =3
Close to everything and one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in.The single beds (no bunks) were pretty nice too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zazmora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoruaCentral, Owner at Rotorua Central Backpackers, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay :)

Next week all the beds will be updated to single SleepyHead executive mattresses, with matching divan bases, so should be even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Really nice hostel, good location close to bus drop off, supemaket, and centre of town. Staff were friendly and helpful. Good size dorm rooms, very comfortable bed (no bunks!), liked the little bedside cabinet by each bed too, makes a nice change to have somewhere to put your stuff. Bathrooms and kitchen were all very clean consistently, kitchen was large and well equipped.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoruaCentral, Owner at Rotorua Central Backpackers, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Great review, thanks.

We are pretty proud of our kitchen :)


Cheers
Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Schweiz
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

laidback staff, useful but not too many informations at check-in. no stupid rules. nice house with funny corridors. clean. peaceful atmosphere. everyone tries to save ressources. maybe better for a bit older backers. thank you guys!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeppTruetsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

I stayed here for one night in a double room which had a really comfy big bed and shared bathroom.

The whole place was really clean and the kitchen facilities were excellent with all utensils, pots, pans, cups, plates etc provided and again the kitchen was spotlessly clean.

The staff were really helpful and friendly. The hot tub is a really nice bonus and the living areas were really comfortable.

I think this would be a great place to meet other travellers as there seemed to be a lot of socialising going on in the communal areas, which unfortunately was a slight negative for us as we were in room number 1 which was situated right by the front door and between the two living areas. Therefore it was quite noisy and as the building is pretty old there was a lot of creaking from the stair case.

I must say that upon check in the owner did advise that this was the only room he had available and that it could be quite noisy, we chose to stay anyway and this definitely wouldn't put me off staying again, I would highly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRH81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Hostel is pretty central, prices are good and it's clean. Staff are friendly. Rooms are a little outdated and the bed wasn't that comfortable. WiFi needs a re-think as paying per 100mb isn't a great offer

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snewo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.2 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#39 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#10 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rock Solid Backpackers
Rock Solid Backpackers
#5 of 55 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rotorua Central Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotorua Central Backpackers

Property: Rotorua Central Backpackers
Address: 1076 Pukuatua St, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1930's character building situated close to the CBD of Rotorua. We offer a range of room configurations. No ensuite facilities, cheap wifi, large shared kithen, spa pool, thermal central heating in all rooms, choice of shower or bath, bed linen included. A great place to take a break! Office hours 8am to 7pm NZT. Please only phone during office hours ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Rotorua Central Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Central Backpackers Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing