We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the money”

Kawarau Jet Rotorua & Kjet Parasailing
Book In Advance
More Info
$63.60*
and up
Parasailing on Lake Rotorua
More Info
$63.60*
and up
Jet Boat Tour of Lake Rotorua
More Info
$74.08*
and up
Kawarau Jet Rotorua and Mokoia Island Combo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: If ever a tourism operator lived up to its catch-cry of speed, spins and adrenaline, it’s Kawarau Jet. You only have to look at the smiling faces of passengers when they get off the big yellow boat to know they’ve had an awesome experience. With a wide range of exhilarating and inspiring activities to choose. Ourtrips range from 30 minutes of speed spins & adrenaline to 2 1/2 hours. Combined jet boating with the Manupirua Hot pools. This is only accessible by boat. No roads here. Great fun for all ages. Or try our Parasailing. We offer ten minute flights either tandem or solo. Sit back and enjoy the exhilaration of free flight and admire the great scenery, before returning to the flight deck for a smooth landing on our purpose built Parasailing boat.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Tully, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worth the money”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Our tour guide (Nick) was very friendly and very informative of the history of the lake and surroundings, he was our Jetboat operator, then we went onto the parasailing my wife was a little nervous at first but the crew assured that she would be very safe and love the experience, best view ever.
Will be doing this again when we visit the area at the end of the year.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    37
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Awesome good fun!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My sister and I were very keen to parasail in rotorua.this company were easy to contact and had plenty of adverstisements. We had terrible luck with the weather as most times we called it was too windy. We made an attempt. Got taken out on the lake by the really friendly staff. They let the parachute up but it was clear after that it wasn't safe. We were disappointed but could understand it was circumstances but the staff were very obliging and they made every effort to get us flying. They also said we could try again and the earlier we could come, the better. So we tried again at 8.30 am.this time was success. The safety talk bit was clear and helpful and the take off was really smooth and really good fun.to my surprise you get lifted really high but you feel totally safe, just like being on a swing but with the amazing rotorua lake beneath you. Parasailing is really relaxing as you don't feel that you are going fast. Just enjoy feeling like a bird. The two employees were really friendly and clearly knowledgeable. Felt totally safe so could enjoy every second. We had a 10 minute flight but would of happily sat up there longer. The company provides photos but they do cost extra. The only downside! I would highly recommend this if you are looking for something fun and easy and if you don't mind hights!

Helpful?
Thank rosieguidesyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjetrotorua, Owner at Kawarau Jet Rotorua & Kjet Parasailing, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hi there, we are so pleased you got to go parasailing with us. The winds were not being to kind to us for a few days and made it impossible to operate It would have been a real shame for you to have missed out as we know how much you were looking forward to it so yah you did it. Have a safe trip home.

Cheers Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“KJet Parasailing on Lake Rotorua - awesome !”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I must admit when i first considered parasailing i did feel a bit nervous, however the crew that were on the boat when we started off explained that to my friend and i, before we took off. They said the best thing we could do was just to forget any aprehension and relax into the harness and enjoy it. Well, that is exactly what we did, it was AMAZING, i cant believe how peaceful it was up there, the views were to die for, you were higher than the birds. At no time did we feel at all unsafe, either during take off or landing, it was a seamless adventure and one like I've never expereincd before - I highly rate this experience, it was excellent value for money and I've told all my friends about it. Thanks for talking me in to it Kjets, it was AWESOME. Cool Parachute too !!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A blast of excitement”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

At 9am on a wet Rotorua morning a group of crazy travel agents spent an exhilerating 1/2 hour on a jet boat on Lake Rotorua. The rain didn't really matter as the 360degree turns produced enough spray to soak us all - it was a blast, but added to that the commentary and history of the lake and region was enough to start the day well!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Excellent trip and very informative too, really enjoyed it, very reasonable and the staff were goog and great fun!
We were the last to go and had the boat to ourselves too!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Glennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kawarau Jet Rotorua & Kjet Parasailing also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Kawarau Jet Rotorua & Kjet Parasailing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing