We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Rotorua

“Great coffee, just like Vietnam,”
Review of Saigon '60s

Saigon '60s
Ranked #53 of 281 Restaurants in Rotorua
Price range: $5 - $13
Description: Saigon '60s - Rotorua's most authentic Vietnamese food, offers a large range of Pho noodle soups and Vietnamese coffee. 11am to 9pm, 7days a week. Casual dining or takeaway, lunch or dinner. All dietary requirements.
Restaurant details
Description: Saigon '60s - Rotorua's most authentic Vietnamese food, offers a large range of Pho noodle soups and Vietnamese coffee. 11am to 9pm, 7days a week. Casual dining or takeaway, lunch or dinner. All dietary requirements.
Reviewed January 21, 2020 via mobile

Great coffee, just like Vietnam, lovely strong & sweet
Quick service with a smile. Great location in town

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank crash4mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 92 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2020 via mobile

Pho and Spicy beef noodle soup taste nothing like authentic Vietnamese food. Coffee was average and overpriced. Some pictures don't demonstrate the correct ingredients such as picture show pork loin chop for grilled pork salad but came out it was pork belly. Rice and boneless roast duck dish shows it would be served with rice, salad and pok choi but only a few half cooked pok choi on the real dish, not to mention the duck was way too dried and duck skin wasn't crispy enough for a roast duck dish. We also was given the menu without any price on it. Would not recommend this place for anyone who is craving for Vietnamese food.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank ChipChit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2020

No toilets, no service. Get your own cutlery and water. Pay in advance. Dirty table. Terrible, lukewarm food except the pho which was surprisingly decent considering how bad everything else was. I am happy to self serve if the food is quality and inexpensive but it was neither. Would not survive in Sydney nor Melbourne.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank craig728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2020

Tried to explain the bahn mi i ordered was not nice at all. I got the bbq pork which was covered in some super sweet sauce that taste like sweet and sour pork sauce.. so much of it that the bread was orange. The staff 1 guessing she was the manager/ owner was rude! In the end we told her it was disgusting she said “im sorry we make it the same all the time some people love it your not getting a refund” no offer to remake etc! The pho was good but will never come back again and adv friends and family of our experience!

Date of visit: January 2020
2  Thank Foodiedinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saigon60s, Manager at Saigon '60s, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2020

Our Banh mi has always been made this way for the past year and this is exactly the way our regulars like it made. If you ever come back and order the banh mi (which you are always welcome to), please feel free to ask for less sauce and our kitchen will be happy to accommodate your taste. However, you just can't simply ask for the refund if you don't like the way a 'standard" dish is made. I am sorry if we come across as rude to you but we do have our refund policy and for this case it is not possible for such request. Best regards.
p/s: Also I still remember that you did not want a remake, you just simply didn't like it and asked for a refund and when you didn't get it, you even ask for a takeaway bag to take the banh mi home ( it didn't appear to us that you hate it that much).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020 via mobile

I had the best coffee in NZ to date at this lovely little cafe. Friendly staff & it was very clean!
Loved the story on the wall of how the owners met.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Lizard2888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saigon60s, Owner at Saigon '60s, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2020

Thank you so much for the kind words you left. Your encouragement really give us great motivation for what we do. We hope you an awesome vacation in NZ!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saigon '60s also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Saigon '60s? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing