We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Brief and pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Okareka Lodge by lebua
Ranked #70 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Brief and pleasant stay”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here in July 2011 but neglected to post a review, as we could not add anything to the already glowing comments on this little piece of heaven.

Recently, I noticed that there were no user photos of this property on TripAdvisor, so I decided to post ours. We stayed 2 nights at the Lake Okareka suite. Since this is the middle of winter in New Zealand please keep this in mind when looking at the pictures. We were the only guest at this small, intimate property (I believe there are only 3 rooms including our huge master suite). We had a chef, a professional waiter, and a professional butler all to ourselves. We couldn't have asked for a more intimate, romantic getaway and more personal service!

I kept wishing for a more wide angle lens to capture the stunning room and the scenery, Not having one, I kept shooting one photo after another thinking I would make a panaroma later on, but never got to do it.

Room Tip: The best room is, of course, the huge lake Okareka Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aramic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
8
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Lake Okareka Lodge is one of those places we’ve always dreamed about: as we drove down the jetty, through the private cul-de-sac, past the gated driveway, we were greeted by sweeping views of sparkling Lake Okareka. Just 15 minutes outside of Rotorua, the lodge is just far enough off the beaten path to be secluded and romantic without sacrificing convenience.

The lodge manager, Mon, was there to greet us with a smile and quickly gave us a tour of the private mansion-turned-three-suite lodge. Since we were the only guests for the week, he upgraded us to the full top-floor Lake Okareka Suite complete with a state-of-the-art sound system, massive whirlpool tub, office with Internet (we were NOT checking work email!) and wraparound balconies with unobstructed views of the pristine lake and surrounding hills. With a complimentary bottle of bubbly popped, our honeymoon was off to a fantastic start!

The level of service and privacy at the lodge was unparalled: from top-notch massages to a lake-side lunch on the dock, the staff at Lake Okareka Lodge took care of our every desire. We ventured a few hours away each day to experience the Waitomo Glow Worm Caves and to the Kaituna River for white water rafting, and each time we returned, we were greeted with big smiles, a cold pitcher of ice water and an eagerness to take our dinner requests.

By far, our favorite part of our Lake Okareka Lodge experience was the food and wine. Every morning, we’d be treated to an alfresco “brekkie” complete with fresh fruit, cereal and yogurt. Don’t be fooled: this was just the first course. From there, the freshest eggs, smoked salmon and pastries would make their way to our table. As if that weren’t enough, each night we’d try a new cocktail or local New Zealand wine and chat with our waiter, David. He was able to offer some real insight into the Kiwi culture and make us feel like we were in our own living room – all while shaking the perfect cocktail! Pre-dinner drinks each night were accompanied with gourmet canapés prepared by Hiro, our personal chef during our stay. The real treat each day, however, was the five-course meal enjoyed next to the roaring fireplace. Each night’s decadent menu consisted of delicacies like melt-in-your-mouth seared salmon with ponzu soy sauce, roasted rack of local New Zealand lamb…are you drooling yet?

As the three-night stay came to an end, we vowed we would find our way back to Lake Okareka Lodge. Our stay at the Lake Okareka Lodge was absolutely incredible; we could not have asked for a better start to our honeymoon or our marriage.

Room Tip: The Okareka Room is AMAZING
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lmeyers108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield County, CT
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

In planning our recent trip to New Zealand I expected this lodge to be top drawer, however my expectations were greatly exceeded. We planned for a 3-4 day tour of the geothermal Rotorua/Taupo area and wanted to be based in a convenient location at a luxurious lodge. Lebua's Lake Okareka Lodge is not only luxurious but is geared toward the guest in a very personal way.. I also want to note that from the manager Dianna, the concierge staff Graeme and Lenore and the chef David, everything possible was done to make us feel quite specially treated. Our room was on the second floor overlooking the lake, in fact all rooms overlook the lake as the property sits on a peninsula which is one striking features of the lodge, and was just beautifully appointed and comfortable. It was truly a special travel experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank scott719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY/Westport/Provence
Level Contributor
329 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 428 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

We have stayed in many 'Boutique Lodges' around the world. The 'Lake Okareka Lodge' was our TOP experience throughout a 2 week visit to Australia and New Zealand. Where to start? The Lodge is absolutely stunning in location. Built on a narrow penisula, you can view Lake Okareka on two sides and the views are everywhere throughout the property, inside and out! The lodge is the epitome of top level luxury in every conceivable way from the 3 stunning rooms/suites to every room used for a purpose from the sitting room with fireplace, dining room, gym and many cozy cormers throughout the nice sized lodge. Our room was gigantic filled with high end furnishings, balcony overlooking the lake and a 10* bathroom! When you arrive, you are introduced to Diana who is the manager for Lebua resorts in NZ/AUstralia and manages from this property. She is a font of informartion, very friendly and is constantly making sure that every single you could even imagine as a request, is taken care of, tout de suite. We wanted to dine in front of the fireplace in the sitting room each night with a cozy table for two after she had mentioned this as an alernative to the main DR and it was done. And done splendidly! . We had a butler in the afternoon/evening, Grahan, who was amazing. A wonderful, informative man on many subjects with just the right mix of Kiwi informality and making sure that every single detail is done perfectly for whatever your venue is at the moment. From dining to discussing wines to helping with arranging cleaning and suggestions for the local area. Each night as he served us Appetizers for pre-dinner, he would teach us a bit more about New Zealand wines and even did an informal wime tasting as he saw we were interested. He is truly exemplary at his job and adds to the informal yet luxury feel of this special lodge. Then...there is Lenore. Lenore takes care of you from Breakfast into the afternoon. never have we met someone who encompasses all that a lodge like this needs. Warm and caring yet incredible detail oriented with that wonderful Kiwi sense of humor that puts you at ease and makes every morning when you come down for breakfast an event. Lenore will go the extra mile for you no matter what the request and she does it not because she is amazing at her job, but she is just a woman of amazing quality. Between Graham and Lenore taking care of you and Diana helping plan your stay, you are in the best hands possible. Now....I leave the 'Atomic secret' that pushes this Lodge way past the quality and experience of others in its genre throughout the Pacific. David Robinson. Chef Extraordinaire! My minor dietary restriitons taken into consideration (nothing from the sea and no beef), David make every meal an event worthy of a 3* michelin retaurant and yet, made and served in that Kiwi meeting of informal with 'top luxe'. The 5 course dinner each night was a feast of the senses. The breakfast was the best we had ever had...ever! He makes the breads, cakes, cookies for your room ( I loved a speoific cookie he had made for our suite's 'Cookie Jar'' and the next day he had made me a large amount to last the stay and to take with me when I left!) His meals were innovative New Zealand cuisine with only the top fresh local ingredients and all served iwith his signature talent of being delicious, unique, light to hardy and all infused with combined flavors that made you eager for the next course. Everything was so amazing it is hard to point to one meal but I can tell you thart out of the 3 nights, Confit of chicken with cous-cous, the Rack of lamb with fondant potato, Pumpkin ravioli with walnut and asge butter, Pork tenderloin with smoked apple puree and every single soup and his creative mixture of taste sensations for the bread of the evening, was a gastronomic wonder. Desserts were to die for from Cardamon creme brulee to a Mandarin and almond cake with rum raisin ice cream. . For breakfast, the scrambled eggs with chives, a touch of cream and other secrets was so addicitive, I had two orders. The kicker? I never order eggs on vacation! The daily trips that Diana helped create were wonderful and I strongly suggest you trust her instinct in taking all that you want to do...and sorting it out so it all flows perfectly. The Lodge is secluded and yet close to town and sites beyond. We enjoyed taking the thermal waters and spa treatment in town and visiting the thermal-geo wonders of the region. You could not experience a more perfect stay. We hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LeTerrible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2009

My husband and I were looking for the most relaxing experience we could find as he is always traveling through his work for a multinational corporation. We have frequented lebua’s Bangkok property and world-class restaurants and after the attention and service we got in those establishments, it only made sense to try Lake Okareka Lodge where we are the only guests. It was the right decision. I have ever felt more at peace then after a few days at the lodge. Diana, the Lodge Manager was absolutely phenomenal and the food prepared by the private chef was exquisite. Everything was arranged to our liking, from the finest wines to the food prepared and activities Diana recommended. I am not much of the adventurous type, so I enjoyed just relaxing and walking around this most beautiful lake area, while my husband got a chance to let go a bit. He even tried Zorbing. Yes, Google it, I had never even heard of it before, but he loved it. This truly was the most incredible vacation and worth everything we spent. We had done a lot of luxury travel but this felt different; everything was exclusively done for us to maximize our vacation. It just does not reach that level when you stay in suites at luxury properties, your own lodge is truly the way go for a true luxury experience. I wish lebua would open lodges elsewhere, but for now we will just have to make our way back to New Zealand!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sumonta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

I visited the Lodge with colleagues during a business trip. It's perfect for a small group or family, as it can only be booked by one group at a time, so you have total privacy. On arrival at Rotorua airport, we were picked up by our own chauffeur and enjoyed a 5-course dinner before relaxing by the log fire for a nightcap! In the day, you have beautiful views across Lake Okareka which, can also be accessed by the Lodge's own private beach. With a personal 24 concierge on hand, I really didn't feel like leaving the place at all!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LyndsSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2009

I stayed at the "Lake Okareka Lodge" in early July 2009. It was an experience that I will never forget. An unparalleled level of service, comfort, and value at about US$ 2,000/night which is inclusive of 3 meals per day. For a relaxing, laid back holiday this is where it is at.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ekachai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
11.7 mi away
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Treetops Lodge & Estate
#43 of 92 in Rotorua
181 reviews
7.7 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
11.7 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#15 of 92 in Rotorua
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#24 of 92 in Rotorua
137 reviews
6.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
5.8 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Okareka Lodge by lebua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Okareka Lodge by lebua

Property: Lake Okareka Lodge by lebua
Address: 103 Acacia Road, Rotorua 3040, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#41 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lake Okareka Lodge by lebua 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Okareka Lodge offers three luxury suites, including an executive suite featuring a lounge, spa bath, private office and walk-in wardrobe. All suites have commanding views of Lake Okareka and the surrounding countryside, private balconies, sumptuous ensuite bathrooms with showers, and Bvlgari amenities. The lodge boasts a well-stocked climate controlled wine cellar, in-room internet access and plasma TVs. Memorable dining experiences are created by the lodge's internationally trained private chef, complementing the ultra-luxury nature of this boutique five star lodge.The lodge is booked to only one couple, family or group at a time who enjoy exclusive access to the entire gated estate and facilities. The maximum number of guests accepted per booking is nine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Lake Okareka Lodge by lebua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Okareka Lodge By Lebua Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing