We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Lights Boutique Lodge
Ranked #4 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Unfortunately, we were only here for one night. But it was absolutely beautiful! The accommodations were fantastic, impeccably maintained, and the view from the patio was breathtaking. The location is a bit secluded so it is very quiet and peaceful. We thoroughly enjoyed it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristinBrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citylights10, Owner at City Lights Boutique Lodge, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
KristinBrooke - Many thanks for your lovely review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our great location. We hope you will be able to visit us again one day, until then, travel safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    25
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
192
10
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Fantastic welcome from the housekeeper and a delicious breakfast from her in the morning. Luxury room and facilities with stunning views across rotorua. We had an added bonus of four llamas sleeping just yards from our patio window when we woke up too! The drive to the lodge is windy and quite a distance from the town centre but it is very well sign posted all the way.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EBH84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citylights10, Owner at City Lights Boutique Lodge, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
EBH84 - thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our stunning views. We do hope you will be able to come and visit us again one day, until then, travel safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banstead
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed here in November 2013, very welcoming in a great location. Easy access to the town, within a 5 minute drive, very knowledgeable about the whole area. The rooms are very clean, ours had a sliding door out onto the garden with a view over the town. The hotel is clean and the breakfast is exceptional with a full choice of basically whatever you wish, all wonderfully cooked. Although we felt the room was a little small, it in no way detracted from our stay here and would happily stay again. Naomi and Jim were very friendly hosts always willing to help us enjoy our stay in Rotorua.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanisHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citylights10, Owner at City Lights Boutique Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
JanisHR - Many thanks for your kind review. We are glad you liked our Kiwi room with the great view over the town and that we could help you make the most of your stay in Rotorua. We hope you will come and visit us again one day, until then, travel safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steenwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

The owners were on holiday and the people who take care of the guest were very nice and helpful. The breakfast was excellent. We were disappointed about the room. It was small, you cannot site somewhere. The view was not nice, we looked on the barn, far away were the trees. The rooms at the other site of the house where much better with a view over the city.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricatL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citylights10, Owner at City Lights Boutique Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
EricatL - thank you for your review. We are very sad that you were disappointed with your stay overall. We agree that our bedrooms are not huge, but we do offer the large guest lounge room for guests to relax in. We are glad you were happy with your hosts and breakfasts though. The Kea room that you stayed in is our smallest room, and therefore our cheapest rate. The other rooms on the other side are larger with better views over the town and those rates are higher for that reason. We are sorry we couldn't please you on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
152 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

The good:
The views are great. Out of town away from the thermal smells, but still close (6kms I believe). Very nice rooms, clean, cleaned every day, pretty. Great welcome form Sue, The owner was away at the time of our stay. Sue was also very helpful, offering local info, etc. Good breakfast. Good off street parking.

The bad:
The room is not huge, for a few nights stay that is fine, any longer and it could be an issue. However, there was a built in wardrobe in the room and lets face it you don't come to NZ to spend every night inside.

Overall a very nice place to stay with great hosts. You pay a premium for the view, maybe a little over priced but very nice and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msgtoelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citylights10, Owner at City Lights Boutique Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
msgtoelina - Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our clean nice rooms. Sue is a great manager for us when we have a break and I'm glad you found her helpful and welcoming. Our bedrooms are not huge, I agree, but we do have a large guest lounge room for guests to relax in also. We hope you will come back to NZ one day and visit us again, until then, travel safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

our host was not the owner but she was simply formidable. room small but confi and clean. Amazing breakfast with a magnificent view over Rotorua and its geysers. you need the car to get downtown but it definitely worth!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MatteoSTefani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citylights10, Owner at City Lights Boutique Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
MatteoSTefani - Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again one day, until then, travel safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed here with family in the two bedroom cabin and couldn't fault it. Beautiful little spot with views of rotorua and alpacas. Fully furnished with dishwasher and washing machine (very important when travelling with small children!). The shower was the best I have ever had and it made for the perfect end to our stay in NZ

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank austraveldr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citylights10, Owner at City Lights Boutique Lodge, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Austraveldr - thank you so much for your fantastic review. We are delighted that you loved your stay in our Cottage and we are grateful for you posting your comments on Trip Advisor for all to see. Very glad you appreciated the laundry, shower and dishwasher - we try to provide all the comforts of home for your convenience. We do hope you will come back and visit us again some day. Until then, travel safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
3.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
2.9 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
2.9 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
B&B @ The Redwoods
B&B @ The Redwoods
#2 of 52 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
4.8 mi away
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
#1 of 52 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
4.7 mi away
Doolan's Country Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lights Boutique Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lights Boutique Lodge

Property: City Lights Boutique Lodge
Address: 56c Mountain Road | Western Heights, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — City Lights Boutique Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Lights is a Boutique Lodge half way up Mount Ngongotaha overlooking Rotorua with spectacular views over the city and surrounding countryside, only 8 mins drive from the city centre. We have 3 en-suite rooms with all the comforts of home.Our fantastic facilities include a guest lounge with computer station including FREE WIFI, real fire and heat pump/air conditioner, outdoor spa overlooking the city, gym with infrared sauna. Continental breakfast included for B&B guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Lights Boutique Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing