We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City Lights Sparkle Beneath You”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
City Lights Boutique Lodge
Ranked #4 of 53 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2012

This is a prime spot in Rotorua. There seems to be few accommodations in between the affordable and OUTRAGEOUSLY expensive range in this little city, but this is it! Highlights for us included a beautiful home (new and modern), cappuccino in the morning and that they graciously allowed us to do our laundry. You're just minutes from downtown and all the actives and it's quiet, not to mention the great view over Rotorua and the puffs of steam radiating from the city below and the mountains in the distance. Another plus - this was the only B&B we stayed in during our whole trip that offered a small fitness center.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lovetotravelColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citylights10, Owner at City Lights Boutique Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Thanks so much for your glowing review. We are very grateful that our guests take the time to write about their stay with us and we are very happy that you enjoyed our place. We hope you will be able to come back and visit us again one day, until then, travel safely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 271 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2012

I visited city lights for 2 nights as part of my honeymoon. It is located in a very calm place up the hill where its far from Rotorua's smell. Its good if you have a car, if not it can be costly to take the cab to and from the city centre.
The room was very small but very clean and neat, the view is stunning both at day and night time. Naomi was a wonderful host I'm still craving her homemade museli.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elfanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citylights10, Owner at City Lights Boutique Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2012

Thank you for wonderful review. We are grateful that you took the time to write about your stay and are thrilled that you enjoyed our place. We hope you will have the chance to come back and visit us again. Until then, travel safely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Went there with my parents for Easter hoilday and our stay was fantastic. Naomi was such a great host and she is very helpful especially in giving us tips on restaurants.

Rooms are very clean and nicely decorated. Very good experience overall.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daibe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citylights10, Owner at City Lights Boutique Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review. We loved meeting you recently and hope you will come back and visit us again one day. Until then, travel safely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We spent one night in our honeymoon and the staying was very nice.
The owners are lovely and very kind, they offered to help us in exploring the city with some nice suggestions.
The suite room was very comfortable and wide.
Breakfast is good, seems like being at home with your family.
The B&B is quite outside the town of Rotorua, up to a hill. But that's not a problem if you drive a car and the sight is very nice (if the weather is fine)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citylights10, Owner at City Lights Boutique Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2012

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are so grateful that our guests take the time to do this and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will be able to come back another time and visit us again. Until then, travel safely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We only had a short time in Rotorua but Jim and Naomi helped us make the most of our time there. The City Lights Boutique Lodge is located halfway up a hill with beautiful nighttime views of the city and lake. It is far above the sulphur fumes that plague the hotels down in town. Jellie the dog will greet you, as will Angus the goat and the two alpacas, or you can ignore them if you wish. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. Continental breakfast is healthy and tasty and they scrambled some eggs when we asked. Jim and Naomi know the area and will advise you what to do and see, and what to avoid. They even shuttled us to the most excellent Aorangi Restaurant (not to be missed) at the top of the hill and Aorangi will take you back to City Lights.

Room Tip: The Tui Suite is very nice, but not a true suite (not two separate rooms divided by a wall or door)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TazJohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citylights10, Owner at City Lights Boutique Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

Thank you kindly for your lovely review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to hosting you again one day. Until then, travel safely. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

I echo KateOC's opinion about City Lights. I titled it a surprise only because I always stress about what I have booked for us when we travel, and as we headed up the hill, I was a little worried, but it was beautiful! Naomi and Jim did everything to make our stay wonderful with all of their suggestions, and everything was great!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citylights10, Owner at City Lights Boutique Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2012

Sheila - thank you so much for your kind review. We loved chatting to you and your husband and thank you also for your wonderful travel tips that will help us when we get to Africa. We are glad you liked our place and hope you will come back and see us again one day. Until then, travel safely. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Jim built this funky, modern house to home his family on one side and run the other side as a B&B with his wife Naomi. After being greeted by Jellie the dog you are taken to a beautifully made bedroom whith a comfortable bed and pristine bathroom. The view outside is impressive, albeit for some rather large plants, and looks its best at night. Breakfast was lovely with some good local advice provided by a family that have actually done the activities.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citylights10, Owner at City Lights Boutique Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2012

Kate - thank you kindly for your lovely review. We loved meeting you and hope you come back and visit us again one day. Until then, travel safely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 91 in Rotorua
768 reviews
3 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#2 of 91 in Rotorua
278 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
#1 of 53 in Rotorua
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
B&B @ The Redwoods
B&B @ The Redwoods
#2 of 53 in Rotorua
515 reviews
4.7 mi away
Doolan's Country Retreat
2.9 mi away
Koura Lodge
Koura Lodge
#12 of 53 in Rotorua
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lights Boutique Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lights Boutique Lodge

Address: 56c Mountain Road | Western Heights, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range: $183 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — City Lights Boutique Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Lights is a Boutique Lodge half way up Mount Ngongotaha overlooking Rotorua with spectacular views over the city and surrounding countryside, only 8 mins drive from the city centre. We have 3 en-suite rooms with all the comforts of home.Our fantastic facilities include a guest lounge with computer station including FREE WIFI, real fire and heat pump/air conditioner, outdoor spa overlooking the city, gym with infrared sauna. Continental breakfast included for B&B guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your City Lights Boutique Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing