We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern Boutique B&B with Amazing Nightime Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Lights Boutique Lodge
Ranked #4 of 53 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Modern Boutique B&B with Amazing Nightime Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Jim built this funky, modern house to home his family on one side and run the other side as a B&B with his wife Naomi. After being greeted by Jellie the dog you are taken to a beautifully made bedroom whith a comfortable bed and pristine bathroom. The view outside is impressive, albeit for some rather large plants, and looks its best at night. Breakfast was lovely with some good local advice provided by a family that have actually done the activities.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citylights10, Owner at City Lights Boutique Lodge, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Kate - thank you kindly for your lovely review. We loved meeting you and hope you come back and visit us again one day. Until then, travel safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    25
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
192
10
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

A perfect place to rest not far away from the noisy Rotorua. Naomi and Jim are lovely and very helpful. The rooms are very nicely decorated and the beds awesome. We enjoyed the jacuzzi after diner! Thanks again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citylights10, Owner at City Lights Boutique Lodge, responded to this review, March 17, 2012
Thank you Caroline for your wonderful review. We are so pleased that you liked staying with us and look forward to seeing you again one day. Until then, travel safely and kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

Excellent place to stay. Will recommend to anyone traveling to Rotorua.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mainahz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citylights10, Owner at City Lights Boutique Lodge, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We are grateful when our guests take the time to do this. We hope you will come back and visit us again one day, until then, travel safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

Excellent, well located and friendly place. A great place to stay and a good value.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PSMahal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citylights10, Owner at City Lights Boutique Lodge, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Thank you kindly for your lovely review. We are very happy that you enjoyed City Lights and look forward to your return in the future. Until then, travel safely and kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

Naomi and Jim were very welcoming and have a wonderful B&B with a beautiful outside space (and large hot tub for guest use) with great views. The room we had was very comfortable, nicely decorated with a large bathroom and everywhere was spotlessly clean. The breakfast was extensive and included home-made muesli and home-made jams and lemon curd. Naomi and Jim were also very helpful about telling us about the local area and recommended another B&B to stay at as part of our journey through NZ, which was also excellent. There is also a small gym and sanarium available for guest use which we didn't find time to use.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citylights10, Owner at City Lights Boutique Lodge, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Thank you kindly for your wonderful review. We are glad you liked City Lights and we were very happy to help you with the best that Rotorua has to offer. We are very grateful for you taking the time to do this for us and other travellers. Enjoy the rest of your trip and travel safely. Come and see us again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

High standards all round - hospitality, food and accommodation - in quiet surroundings just below the bushline of Ngongotaha itself - this is a little gem. You could easily pay twice the rate for a less comfortable place to stay. Extremely personable hosts, with a proven record in hospitality - it really shows!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citylights10, Owner at City Lights Boutique Lodge, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your flattering review. We loved meeting you and Marie and hope you will come back and see us again one day. Until then, travel safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

BandB doesn't get any better than this. We stayed at City Lights for two nights in the Kiwi room which was very modern and really comfortable. The view of Rotorua from the room/outside terrace was stunning. Naomi and Jim were extremely welcoming and very helpful with advice on restaurants and local attractions and even dropped us off at a local restaurant! The breakfast was delicious, especially Naomi's home made muesli and jam. There were unexpected extras like a gym and outside spa pool - the house is beautifully designed and very clean. Only wish we'd stayed longer.

Room Tip: Ask for Kiwi Room with view of Rotorua
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamnKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citylights10, Owner at City Lights Boutique Lodge, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are delighted when guests tell us that they enjoyed their stay with us. We hope to see you again one day, until then, travel safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
3.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
2.9 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
2.9 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
B&B @ The Redwoods
B&B @ The Redwoods
#2 of 53 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
4.8 mi away
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
#1 of 53 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
4.7 mi away
Doolan's Country Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lights Boutique Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lights Boutique Lodge

Property: City Lights Boutique Lodge
Address: 56c Mountain Road | Western Heights, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — City Lights Boutique Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Lights is a Boutique Lodge half way up Mount Ngongotaha overlooking Rotorua with spectacular views over the city and surrounding countryside, only 8 mins drive from the city centre. We have 3 en-suite rooms with all the comforts of home.Our fantastic facilities include a guest lounge with computer station including FREE WIFI, real fire and heat pump/air conditioner, outdoor spa overlooking the city, gym with infrared sauna. Continental breakfast included for B&B guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Lights Boutique Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing