We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice.”
Review of Bella Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel
Ranked #21 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice.”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed at a couple of Bella Vista hotels in New Zealand, and found that they provided a consistent standard of accommodation: clean, comfortable and well located. Kevin and Sue were very welcoming, and provided excellent advice on what to do (including the free attractions as well as the more expensive ones).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    96
    16
    4
    4
See reviews for
43
139
22
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
469 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile



Situated on the outskirts of Rotorua, Bella Vista is just that bit too far out of town to be an ideal location.
The rooms are basic and beginning to show their age but are comfortable and have everything you need for a couple of nights stay.
On arrival we were warmly welcomed by the lady in reception (Sue), who spent a long time explaining the attractions of the town and helping us to plan our stay. She provided discount vouchers for some attractions and where appropriate made telephone bookings on our behalf.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 99ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
123 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the Bella Vista in Rotorua. Located about ten minutes walk from the city centre, and also within very close range of Rainbow Springs and other major attractions. The rooms were very clean and well presented. We received a very friendly welcome and was given good information about local attractions and things to do. Very enjoyable few days spent here and I will stay again when next In Rotorua.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Sue and Kevin were welcoming. Kevin provided us with discount coupons and guidance for trips around Rotorua. They even offered to drop us to city center as we did not take our car and were to catch a bus back to Auckland. Our room was nice & clean & we enjoyed our stay here. If we were to visit Rotorua again, we would definitely come back here.

Note: We stayed at Bella Vista in December 2012

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarvG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Sue was so helpful with local attractions, discounts & directions. She gives guests a very personal touch & cares if you are comfortable. The room was spotless (I am very picky) & quiet. Great location very close to restaurants & right next to the park with free thermal activity sites. Also has a market in the park on Sat. morning. Rotorua is worth a stop if in New Zealand. Everything is steaming & hissing. Very different.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alaskaklondike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Sue and Kevin were the most fantastic hosts. They really went out of their way to inform us of all the attractions (including discount vouchers) and to help our elderly parents to get around while we were out. They could not have been nicer or more helpful. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable with everything you needed. We would definitely recommend this motel and would go back for sure.

Room Tip: The upper level has stairs if people have difficulty so choose the lower as we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Thank you Kevin & Sue for your excellent service, I have never known a motel to go that extra mile as you did to help us get the most out of our 24 hr visit to Rotorua for our work conference of 16 people. From the time of ringing to make an inquiry, Sue promptly arranged our accomodation, provided us with eating and activity options, and offered to ring around and even book these for us. Our rooms were very comfortable, warm, clean and good value for money. Situated in a good location - although we had vehicles it is walking distance to the lake or town. Even though the weather wasn't that great, it didn't deter us from having a great time fitting in Off Roading, Sky swing & luge & the Lakeland Queen cruise- thank you! From the team at Onsite Education (New Plymouth, Hastings, Turangi & Taupo).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaylene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.7 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
1.8 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.6 mi away
Tuscany Villas Rotorua - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
#12 of 92 in Rotorua
402 reviews
1.8 mi away
Apex on Fenton
Apex on Fenton
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
330 reviews
1.6 mi away
Arista Capri Motel
Arista Capri Motel
#6 of 92 in Rotorua
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel

Property: Bella Vista Motel
Address: 94-98 Lake Road, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Bella Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing