We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Day Getaway”
Review of Bella Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel
Ranked #21 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Auckland NZ
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Two Day Getaway”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

For our 43rd wedding anniversary we traveled from Auckland to Rotorua for a couple of nights. The Motel was a delight and the owners very friendly and helpful. We had a game of golf at Arikikapakapa and went up Mt Ngongotaha and rode the Luges. Dinner at a restaurant just across from the motel was superb - cant remember the name but the moteliers recomended it.
Rotorua a great place to get away for a few days. Had a lovely time

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    96
    16
    4
    4
See reviews for
43
140
22
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed at bella vista rotorua for 3 nights, we were very pleased with our room, which was cosy, clean and comfortable. The owners were very helpful and friendly as well. Our only problem was the location this was situated in, it says its very close to the restaurants, cafes etc but that applies only if you happen to have a car, but for the people who are not driving around like us, it was more than a 20-25min walk from the closest eat-outs etc. Since we were there in the winter, those walks were not as pleasant in the cold-rainy nights, plus the road right in front of the motel is getting constructed and was all dug up and busy most the time. Our savior for dinner most the nights was the pie place and the Chinese take-out place right opposite the property - which was ok at the most. Would recommend this motel only for people who have their own vehicles.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpreadingSmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

The place was comfortable and centrally located. Hostess was updated with most of the information required, and helped us with the discount coupons on Zorb, Gondola ride et all.

The room was equipped with basic amenities, but price was little more for a room which is small in size.

Loved the place over all!

Room Tip: Visit the Rotorua Lake it is soooo beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Archana_Rakshith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Hotel is located on one of the main routes in to Rotorua and the morning traffic noise may be to much if you are a late riser. The room was relativly small compared to many of the Motels we stayed in during of NZ adventure but it was clean and with all the basic aminities you expect. Well laid out shower room it served us very well for the 2 days we stayed. Our hosts were welcoming and helpful, the standout feature was however the price

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

This motel is OK, really. Our room was big and we got good value for money. The style is a bit bland - motels in this chain have popped up all around the country and seem to use the same floor plan, and there's not a lot of character here. This one is on a very busy road; there is no double-glazing or air conditioning, so it's pretty basic specification-wise, and rather noisy. The owner is friendly and had lots of ideas for activities in Rotorua, so that's a definite plus.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otagotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Friendly, helpful staff. Clean, comfortable rooms. Excellent car parking spaces. About 10 minutes walk from the centre of town. I would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agnes N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

The staff were excellent, very informative and helpful. The rooms were very clean and contained a good deal of facilities. The location was ideal, not too far from the restaurants / shops). Car parking was great.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank am231058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.7 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
1.6 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#14 of 92 in Rotorua
414 reviews
1.1 mi away
BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
#11 of 92 in Rotorua
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
1.8 mi away
Apex on Fenton
Apex on Fenton
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
340 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 92 in Rotorua
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel

Property: Bella Vista Motel
Address: 94-98 Lake Road, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bella Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing