We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time in Rotorua”
Review of 124 on Brunswick

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
124 on Brunswick
Ranked #15 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great time in Rotorua”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

I had the opportunity to stay at this nice B&B for two nights. The B&B is located near Rotorua with a very nice view over the lake in a rural neighborhood. Lindsey and Jonathan are great hosts and will make your stay a time to remember. You will get a lot of recommendations for what to do in and around Rotorua (It was hard to decide for me :-). I visited the Mitai Maori show which was excellent (you can book a night visit for watching the Kiwis in the Rainbow Springs Kiwi Wildlife Park in addition which I would recommend). I also visited the Wai-O-Tapu Geothermal Wonderland which I also liked very much (don't miss the geyser at 10:15).

Nico

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NicoKoenig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
44
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hubbards, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Located just outside the busy Rotorua in a quiet location, it is very pleasant to return to at the end of an active day. Our hosts Jonathan and Lindsey were very attentive to our needs and comfort and helped in planning our daily outings and trip itinerary. We departed on Easter Day with a sumptuous picnic lunch prepared by Lindsey. Jonathan who is a professional photographer spent time with us showing his wonderful nature photgraphy and chatting with us about local flora and fauna. An educational and very comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Bedroom at the end of the house
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank overthetop2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

After a long day of travel we were greeted by Lyndsey and Jonathan at their lovely home that over looked the bay. Aside from the view, their home was decorated with many of Jonathan's professional photographs - so visually pleasing. We jogged through the rolling countryside near their home and ended our first day at Hell's Gate Mud Spa, a mere 5 minute drive from them. Our hosts suggested their favorite restaurants in town as well as special sites to visit.
Breakfasts were delicious and conversations with our hosts a delight. If you want a special treat, challenge Lyndsey to a game of Bananagrams.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dashgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2010

I would highly recommend 124 on Brunswick to anyone travelling to New Zealand.
We receive a very warm welcome, excellent advice for a Maori cultural experience (Mitai Village), the polynesian spa and for the next stops on our trip. Moreover Lindsey and Jonathan help us a lot for rental car in the South island.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abric0tine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2010

We stayed with Lyndsey and Jonathan in January, the hospitality they offered us was wonderful, and the guests sitting room was so comfortable, behind closed doors there was an area to make ourselves drinks and nibbles provided by our hosts. After a day sightseeing it was nice to arrive back early evening and relax. We were able to catch up on our emails with the guest internet access, which when far away from home is great. Jonthan and Lyndsey can point you in the right direction of the best places to see in the area. Look forward to meeting up again, and many thanks. Judith and David

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DerbyshireJHadfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2010

Stayed for two nights in 124 on Brunswick and were more than happy with both the very friendly, warm and always helpful hosts Lindsay & Jon and the cosy, spacious, spotlessly clean rooms. While the B&B is not at the very center of Rotorua but a 10 mins drive away, we found it to be an excellent location for getting to know the area and exploring the local sights.
124 on Brunswick is doubtlessly one of the best B&B's we've ever stayed in and is absolutely recommendable to everyone planning a stay in the Rotorua area.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manuel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2009

We arrived in Rotorua after a harrowing drive from Auckland through torrential rain, and the sun suddenly broke through. Lyndsey greeted us cheerily with restoring tea and biscuits. 124 is located some 9-10 kms outside downtown Rotorua on a rolling estate with great views of the lake. Jonathan and Lydnsey have built a modern, eco-friendly home that is inviting, spotlessly clean and offers a truly welcoming home for weary travellers.

Jonathan, a professional wildlife photographer, has an encyclopaedic knowledge of the area, and Lyndsey is a friendly and caring hostess. Thoughtfully, they provide guests with their own sitting room and well-stocked kitchenette. Memories of our trip to the geothermal wonderland at Wai O Tapu a 25 minute drive away will remain with us forever. There are numerous opportunities to experience Maori culture locally, but we recommend a trip to Te Puia which offers an intriguing insight into contemporary Maori arts and crafts and also has its own geothermal mud pools and geysers.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidw028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
6.7 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
690 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#15 of 92 in Rotorua
402 reviews
6.4 mi away
B&B @ The Redwoods
B&B @ The Redwoods
#2 of 52 in Rotorua
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Doolan's Country Retreat
6.6 mi away
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
#1 of 52 in Rotorua
379 reviews
8.8 mi away
Country Villa
Country Villa
#7 of 52 in Rotorua
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 124 on Brunswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 124 on Brunswick

Property: 124 on Brunswick
Address: 124 Brunswick Drive | RD 4 Tikitere, Rotorua 3074, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Hotel Class:4 star — 124 on Brunswick 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your 124 on Brunswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing