We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveler rating
232
94
9
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
232
94
9
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrout fliesconference roomlovely woodlake rotoruabedroom unitlake edgeswimming pool and spabeautiful outlookan easy drivepeaceful locationfree dvdsfriendly and helpful hostsstayed nightsself cateringplace to stayelectric blanketslaundry facilities
Filter
Updating list...
214 - 219 of 338 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights including the weekend when cyclone Lusi blew through the North Island. Our Lakefront two bedroom unit was large, well equiped, clean and had marvellous view across lake Rotorua to Mokoia Island.

The resort is located a few kilometres north of Rotorua just of SH30 in a quite road right on the lakeside, a lovely tranquil setting.

The owners, Nick and Fiona, were very helpful in giving advice on the area and helping to decide which tours to do, they also booked one tour for us.

When we returned to our cabin on the Friday night we found a note from Nick & Fiona informing us about the impending Cyclone Lusi and instructions on what to do in an emergency and also a torch. Luckily by the time Lusi reached us on Saturday/Sunday it had blown itself out somewhat and no damage was done to the resort.

We enjoyed our time at Cedarwood and would recommend a stay if you don't need to be in the centre of Rotorua.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5tings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Hi 5tings, Thanks for reviewing your stay with us in April. Our lakefront units are definitely popular and do have fantastic views cross the lake. We are only too pleased to help guests look at and book tours as there are so many great things to see and do here in Rotorua and deciding can be a challenge!. We certainly were not sure of what Cyclone Lusi was capable off but heeded the warnings and so too advised our guests accordingly, thank goodness as you say, nothing much eventuated! Thanks for recommending us and we look forward to seeing you again if and when you are back in Rotorua. Best wishes Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

The accommodations, location and amenities are excellent at this motel. The swimming pool and outdoor spa, plus capacious picnic tables and communal BBQ's made al fresco dining and fun easy.
The sweet air and lovely sunset views over the lake are delightful. A car is useful for reaching the city centre.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Hello Irwi, Thank you for your great review of Cedarwood, we are pleased that you enjoyed the outdoor areas of the complex, we like to ensure that there is plenty of space as far as BBQ tables etc for all our guests to enjoy. It is handy to have a vehicle with us being a short distance to town however there are very good shuttle companies too that can take you to various attractions whilst staying with us if guests do not feel like driving, we are happy to arrange on guests behalf if required. Thanks again Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

These wooden studios are peacefully located right on Lake Rotorua. Ours was comfortable and had more than adequate facilities with a very comfortable king sized bed. The kitchen and bathroom are a little tired but very clean and well equipped.
We made use of the laundry facilities (at a $2 dollar charge) with outdoor drying space, the heated spa pool and complimentary wi-fi. Our only contact with the owners / managers was when checking us in and handing back the keys during which they were friendly enough.
Would certainly recommend - particularly the lovely, lakeside location.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Hi Richard196511, Thanks for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us at Cedarwood. We are pleased that you found your stay comfortable. In respect of the bathroom & kitchen, our maintenance schedule actually has us upgrading a couple of bathrooms as we speak, these are obviously ongoing to ensure that we maintain a level of comfort and modernisation for our guests however unfortunately it is unpractical to be able to do all at once. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Rotorua. Best wishes Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

My wife and I recently spent two nights at this hotel. We liked the fact that this hotel was a short ways out of town (away from the smell and congestion of Rotorua) and right on the lake. Our room was spotless and quiet. Nick and Fiona were terrific hosts; Nick was especially helpful in
assisting us w/ some phone/internet problems we were experiencing. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Hi Bruce C,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us at Cedarwood. As you say it is great that we are away from the congestion of Rotorua and we are quite lucky that we do not suffer the sulphur smell all that much with being by the lake. Nick was only too happy to assist with your phone/internet issues and we were pleased that we were able to help resolve them. We look forward to seeing you both again on your return visit to Rotorua. Best wishes Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at this motel, and we were very impressed. Our unit was modern and fresh, very clean, and spacious enough that we didn't feel cramped. The people running the motel, Nick and Fiona, were lovely and friendly people who made us feel welcome the moment we stepped in to the office. The place itself was very tranquil and quiet, and the lake just topped it all off. Was nice to wake up and step outside and see the lake just a few steps away. Will definitely be staying there again, and would highly recommend this place to others.. 10/10

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernadette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Hi Bernadette S,
Thank you very much for providing your feedback after your stay at Cedarwood Lakeside! We take great pleasure in hearing that our guests find our property clean & spacious and we are very lucky to have such a great spot by the lake which is quiet & tranquil for everyone to enjoy. We look forward to welcoming you back to Cedarwood on your next visit to Rotorua. Kind regards Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews