We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great quiet spot by the Lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cedarwood Lakeside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cedarwood Lakeside
Ranked #14 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great quiet spot by the Lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

A wonderful place to spend a few days with the family. Great rooms - tidy and comfortable. Wonderful outside space with pool and BBQ. Also a DVD library and Book Swap which we made the most of. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Book ahead for a lakeside unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keas64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Hi Keas64,
Many thanks for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed our facilities on hand including our DVD library and book swap and that you found our units tidy & comfortable. We look forward to seeing you all again when you are next in Rotorua!
Regards Fiona & Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    67
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
139
77
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Where do I start
-We needed a late check in so a key and a map was left in a safe for us (a lot easier travelling at night with kids)
-The room was EXTREMELY clean
-The grounds were something you see on a post card
-The swimming pool was that clean it looked fake
-The staff were very very friendly and helpful
-I felt like I was at home with everything so readily available, I loved the fact that the rooms had EVERYTHING in them and we could cook our own meals if we wanted.
-Was so good having a laundry and a clothes line
-Was just out of rotorua so I found the smells were minimal
-We were vey lucky to wake up to a blue sky the next morning with a beautiful view of a lake that looked like glass
-There was 2 trampolines, swings and a slide, the pool and a outdoor and indoor spa, so if you wanted to stay in for the day kids would have loads to keep them entertained.

I would recommend this place to any family wanting to go to rotorua, I will be going back to stay. I am very fussy when it comes to places to stay with kids but I could not find one single fault. :)

Room Tip: I would recommend to stay on the same side as reception as it got more sun on that side :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Hi Nicole A,
Wow, thank you for providing such a comprehensive review of our property, we are delighted to see that you enjoyed everything that we have on hand, we certainly try to make it as easy for folks as possible with the outside of hours arrival information, map & key in safe etc. We are pleased that you found our accommodation extremely clean, we do take pride in the appearance and comfort of our complex. We look forward to welcoming you all back to Rotorua and Cedarwood in the near future.
Kind regards Fiona & Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We recently stayed at Cedarwood on the way home from our summer holiday. The property is slightly out of Rotorua centre so there was no sulphar smells, which is important for our son! The hosts at Cedarwood were very friendly and helpful, the rooms spotless and clean and large and our kids loved the swimming pool and trampoline. Cedarwood is set in a tranquil setting and we would happily stay here again. We found Cedarwood good value for money for a motel of its standard and the facilities offered. Our children had an end of holiday treat of a room service cooked breakfast which was substantial and presented well.

Room Tip: We stayed in a two bedroom unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Hi hmuffin,
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor, we are pleased that you all enjoyed your stay with us at the end of your summer holiday and that the children enjoyed their breakfast treat. See you all next time when you are up this way.
Kind regards Fiona & Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Had a great stay at Cedarwood, a great family place to stay while in Rototua, quite family friendly place, loved soaking in the spa while the kids played in the pool each evening also being able to look out over the motel grounds and out across the lake as the sun sets.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Hi Philip T,
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor, we are happy to hear that you loved soaking in the spa whilst the kids played in the pool each evening, it is certainly a relaxing spot.
Best regards Fiona & Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights...loved it! so cozy and clean...Loved being close to Roturua without the smell! Close to Maori Village and Redwood forest. Nick was so welcoming and
was always available. He gave a great recommendation for dinner in town at "Jazz" a new restaurant..it was great! The grounds are beautiful and very well maintained, hot tub, heated pool, barbecue area all overlooking the lake! Definitely would stay here again!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valerie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Hello Valerie S,
Thank you for taking the time to write about us on Trip Advisor, yes we are certainly lucky that we do not get too much of the traditional Rotorua sulphur smell out here. Nick was happy to recommend things for you to do so that you got the most out of your visit and great to hear that your enjoyed the restaurant he recommended. We certainly look forward to seeing you in New Zealand & Rotorua again!
Kind regards
Fiona & Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

I found Cedarwood on a Google search and I'm sure happy I did. My Hubby and I stayed there on the 3rd November 2013 for three nights..As soon as we arrived and met Nick and saw our accommodation we knew we had made the right choice..Nick booked our night to Mitai Maori Village we didnt have to do a thing except be there when the shuttle bus arrived..Nick showed us to our room and explained everything that we needed to know just amazing service..The room was just wonderful everything we needed was available... The bed was very comfortable so got a good nights sleep every night..We woke every morning to the paper delivered to our door..Sadly we didnt get to use the outside facilities as weather wasnt real good but they looked fantastic.The view was just stunning and was so hard to leave here when we had to go...When we checked out we met Fiona who is Nick's wife they are such a friendly helpful couple who would go out of their way to help you...Fiona and Nick feel very proud of your outstanding accommodation you are both doing a wonderful job..I would recommend this accommodation to everyone we know and also the only place I would stay in Rotorua..Thanks Fiona and Nick for a stay that has made special memories hope to see yous again in future.

Room Tip: The very front rooms looking over the lake have stunning views but really every room here would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Hi Linda J,
Thank you for providing such a comprehensive review of your stay with us in November, it seems such a long time ago!
We are extremely proud of what we have and thank you for recommending us to everyone!
We certainly look forward to welcoming you both back on your next visit to NZ.
Best Wishes Fiona & Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

After spending a little time looking for a family friendly place to stay while in Rotorua for the weekend we came acorss Cedarwood. Read a few reviews an decided this was the place. It was great, plenty of space for the kids to run around and play on the trampolines, swings etc. Great outlook of the lake. This place just right.

It was clean, tidy and lots of people around and staying, but it was quiet. Thanks to Nick and Fiona! They are friendly and perfect hosts.

We wouldl ove to be back over the summer months

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeakinFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Hi DeakinFamily,
We are glad that you came across Cedarwood for your recent stay and that the children had plenty of space to run around and play on the tramps. We are certainly a family friendly location.
We do look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Cedarwood.
Best regards
Fiona & Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
3.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
2.9 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
2.8 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
3.3 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedarwood Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedarwood Lakeside

Property: Cedarwood Lakeside
Address: 17 Holden Avenue | Holdens Bay, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cedarwood Lakeside 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, tranquil lakefront accommodation and conference venue on the shores of Lake Rotorua, Cedarwood Lakeside is one of the most relaxing motels in Rotorua, and is your gateway to the very best of Rotorua's world-renowned tourist attractions and adventure activities.We are located within easy driving distance of Rotorua City Centre which is approximately 8 minutes away or 2 minutes drive to the Regional Airport, the gateway to Central Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Cedarwood Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing