We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”
Review of Cedarwood Lakeside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cedarwood Lakeside
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We recently stayed at Cedarwood on the way home from our summer holiday. The property is slightly out of Rotorua centre so there was no sulphar smells, which is important for our son! The hosts at Cedarwood were very friendly and helpful, the rooms spotless and clean and large and our kids loved the swimming pool and trampoline. Cedarwood is set in a tranquil setting and we would happily stay here again. We found Cedarwood good value for money for a motel of its standard and the facilities offered. Our children had an end of holiday treat of a room service cooked breakfast which was substantial and presented well.

Room Tip: We stayed in a two bedroom unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Hi hmuffin,
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor, we are pleased that you all enjoyed your stay with us at the end of your summer holiday and that the children enjoyed their breakfast treat. See you all next time when you are up this way.
Kind regards Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

181 - 187 of 279 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

Had a great stay at Cedarwood, a great family place to stay while in Rototua, quite family friendly place, loved soaking in the spa while the kids played in the pool each evening also being able to look out over the motel grounds and out across the lake as the sun sets.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Hi Philip T,
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor, we are happy to hear that you loved soaking in the spa whilst the kids played in the pool each evening, it is certainly a relaxing spot.
Best regards Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights...loved it! so cozy and clean...Loved being close to Roturua without the smell! Close to Maori Village and Redwood forest. Nick was so welcoming and
was always available. He gave a great recommendation for dinner in town at "Jazz" a new restaurant..it was great! The grounds are beautiful and very well maintained, hot tub, heated pool, barbecue area all overlooking the lake! Definitely would stay here again!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Hello Valerie S,
Thank you for taking the time to write about us on Trip Advisor, yes we are certainly lucky that we do not get too much of the traditional Rotorua sulphur smell out here. Nick was happy to recommend things for you to do so that you got the most out of your visit and great to hear that your enjoyed the restaurant he recommended. We certainly look forward to seeing you in New Zealand & Rotorua again!
Kind regards
Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I found Cedarwood on a Google search and I'm sure happy I did. My Hubby and I stayed there on the 3rd November 2013 for three nights..As soon as we arrived and met Nick and saw our accommodation we knew we had made the right choice..Nick booked our night to Mitai Maori Village we didnt have to do a thing except be there when the shuttle bus arrived..Nick showed us to our room and explained everything that we needed to know just amazing service..The room was just wonderful everything we needed was available... The bed was very comfortable so got a good nights sleep every night..We woke every morning to the paper delivered to our door..Sadly we didnt get to use the outside facilities as weather wasnt real good but they looked fantastic.The view was just stunning and was so hard to leave here when we had to go...When we checked out we met Fiona who is Nick's wife they are such a friendly helpful couple who would go out of their way to help you...Fiona and Nick feel very proud of your outstanding accommodation you are both doing a wonderful job..I would recommend this accommodation to everyone we know and also the only place I would stay in Rotorua..Thanks Fiona and Nick for a stay that has made special memories hope to see yous again in future.

Room Tip: The very front rooms looking over the lake have stunning views but really every room here would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Hi Linda J,
Thank you for providing such a comprehensive review of your stay with us in November, it seems such a long time ago!
We are extremely proud of what we have and thank you for recommending us to everyone!
We certainly look forward to welcoming you both back on your next visit to NZ.
Best Wishes Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

After spending a little time looking for a family friendly place to stay while in Rotorua for the weekend we came acorss Cedarwood. Read a few reviews an decided this was the place. It was great, plenty of space for the kids to run around and play on the trampolines, swings etc. Great outlook of the lake. This place just right.

It was clean, tidy and lots of people around and staying, but it was quiet. Thanks to Nick and Fiona! They are friendly and perfect hosts.

We wouldl ove to be back over the summer months

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeakinFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Hi DeakinFamily,
We are glad that you came across Cedarwood for your recent stay and that the children had plenty of space to run around and play on the tramps. We are certainly a family friendly location.
We do look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Cedarwood.
Best regards
Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We got a great deal off 'grab one'. Very affordable accommodation with excellent facilities and lots of space for the whole family inside and out. Thanks for making our weekend in Rotorua even more enjoyable!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monique3546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Hi Monique3546, We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your weekend away at Cedarwood. We do certainly have plenty of space inside and out for the entire family! See you all next time that you are in Rotorua. Regards Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Me and my boyfriend went to Rotorua for a weekend and chose to stay in Cedarwood for couple nights. We got the special rate thanks to groupon deal. Some places give you kind of "half-service" if you come with voucher but not Cedarwood. Room was extremely clean (though I am very fussy), well equipped, we had everything we could only wish (I brought my own hairdryer, dishes, bottle opener, instant coffee, hangers and more things which are essential to me - but i didn't use any of those, because room had all of these and even more!). Service was excellent, we were running late, after reception open hours, but the owners left us the key from our room as well as the map and wife password in the safe. Outdoor spa is just awesome! The weather was not really friendly and it made the spa even more amazing, you can relax enjoying the nice lake view. We stayed in studio but before we left we checked the other bigger rooms they look great too, next time will bring our friends. There were some families staying at the hotel during school holidays. Looked like kids were enjoying outdoor pool and playground. Choose Cedarwood and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlbinaKurmaeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Hi Albina,
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor, we are pleased that you have enjoyed our premises and that you have returned another couple of times since reviewing us with both friends and family! We do pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the rooms and ensure that our units are well equipped for what our guests may need. We look forward to seeing you all again on your next trip to Rotorua.
Best regards Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.9 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
2.6 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
219 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 92 in Rotorua
868 reviews
3.2 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#11 of 92 in Rotorua
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedarwood Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedarwood Lakeside

Address: 17 Holden Avenue | Holdens Bay, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: $103 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cedarwood Lakeside 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, tranquil lakefront accommodation and conference venue on the shores of Lake Rotorua, Cedarwood Lakeside is one of the most relaxing motels in Rotorua. We have 16 quality ground floor units ideally suited for families, travellers and corporates. Choose from standard studios with kitchenette and fully self contained two bedroom family units or lakefront suites at the water's edge. All units have lake views, free unlimited ultra fast WiFi, 5 Sky TV channels and are serviced daily. The complex features private indoor spa pool, an outside spa pool, heated outdoor pool, large BBQ area, children's play area and private jetty with a nearby boat ramp. Coin operated guest laundry available. Plenty of off street parking for boats. Mountain bike wash down area and storage available. Breakfasts available - continental or cooked. We are located within easy driving distance of Rotorua City Centre which is approximately 8 minutes away or 2 minutes drive to the Regional Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Cedarwood Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing