We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing”
Review of Cedarwood Lakeside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cedarwood Lakeside
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The location is perfect, the hosts are superb and the facilities are excellent. The only thing we regret is that we discovered the local outdoor spa too late. Bathing with the lake view was awesome, free and heaps better than in Polynesian spa (don't spend money on that). We were travelling with 1yo baby and hadn't had any problem there.

Room Tip: The closer to the Rotorua lake - the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Hi Andrey B,
Thanks so much for your awesome review of your recent stay with us at Cedarwood Lakeside Holiday Resort, we are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us and made use of the facilities we have here. We look forward to meeting you all again in the near future. Best Regards to the family, Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

229 - 235 of 292 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights. The cottages are newly renovated and were immaculate. They have everything you need, including a blow dryer, ironing board and iron! They have a large variety of DVDs to check out too. They are located right on the lake in a quiet area. The owners are really nice people and very informative. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Hi Robin W, Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at Cedarwood Lakeside Holiday Resort! We are pleased that you enjoyed our amenities & facilities that we have on offer. We trust you had safe travels home and we look forward to being able to welcome you again in the future. Regards Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Beautiful place, I recommend the two lakefront rooms, with their breakfast tables right on the grass steps away from the water. Silent, relaxing place a bit outside of town, with very friendly and helpful owners. Strange that there not more lake-front motels like this... Why be near a lake but not see it?

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Till K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Hi Till K,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us after your recent stay at Cedarwood Lakeside Holiday Resort! Yes, we are very lucky being right on the lakes edge and our Lakefront Units, with the uninterrupted views, are extremely popular. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us whilst holidaying in Rotorua and we look forward to welcoming you all back again in the near future. Thank you again, regards Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed. We had a lakefront unit both times. WHAT A VIEW.
The owners were most accommodating as we had to have a slightly late leave time. Nothing was too much trouble.

The beds were comfortable, the units exceptionally clean. The grandchildren loved the pool and playgroung and the added bonus of the lake front. A great selection of video's. Husband happy with paper in the morning.

When I go to Rotorua, this is the only place I stay. I see that there is a McDonalds now on the corner of the main road, but with a fully fitted kitchen is not necessary.

Again, simply the best.

Room Tip: Get the lakefront units
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Hi Tricia058, Thanks so much for your awesome review of Cedarwood Lakeside Holiday Resort, we are pleased that your grandchildren enjoyed our facilities and that you took advantage of our varied DVD collection. The lakefront units are popular with their views and we very much appreciate the acknowledgedment of the cleanliness of our units and the comfort of our beds! We look forward to seeing you all again in the near future. Kind regards Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

A beautiful tranquil place to stay with open spaces and an amazing view of the lake. The facilities were fantastic and perfect for couples of families. We stayed in the large family unit and it was exactly what we needed with space for everyone, without being on top of each other. Great kids play equipment including trampolines, swings, pool and spa. A lovely clean resort with fantastic, friendly and helpful hosts. We would absolutely come again and recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Hi Megan L, Thank you for taking the time to review Cedarwood Lakeside Holiday Resort after your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you and your family enjoyed what we have to offer here at Cedarwood and we most definitely look forward to welcoming you all back in the near future! Best Wishes Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We spent two nights here on our New Zealand tour. We had chosen a two bedroom apartment with lake view and booked online. When we arrived we were stunned by THE view: Unspoiled lake view from livingroom/kitchen: Just grass and a tree between us and the lake!
The hosts were lovely, the whole resort neat and clean. A great place to spend a few days for discovering Rotorua area.
We had read the reviews here before we booked and were prepared for the flies. While we were there, there were hardly any around.

Room Tip: Spend the few extra dollars for THE view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12Travellingismylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Hi 12Travellingismylife, Wow, thanks for your fantastic feedback on our property and facilities.Yes, our lakefront units are certainly popular with their unspoilt views of the lake and Mokoia Island. We trust you had safe travels back to Germany and we look forward to being able to greet you upon any return trips to NZ! Best Wishes Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Made the decision to drive a few minutes out of Rotorua and struck lucky and found the Cedarwood Resort. At the moment the British pound is week so all is expensive but this place is worth going to. Situated right on the water front also has a great kids play area small swimming pool outside hot tub and a private hot tub in a small cabin based on first come first served for the private hot tub. We were there December 2012 and managed to use all the facilities. We had a slight problem trying to get on the wifi from the cabin kept on losing it but not a worry. The wooden cabin you can park right outside. Small decking area great big lounge/dinning/kitchen all open plan all self cattering kit you need and plunger/coffee tea milk etc (spot on), also plenty of seating and a double settee that looks like it becomes a bed, LCD TV and some sky channels and courtesy DVD library at the office with good selection. Good sized double bedroom and twin bedroom for the kids plenty of space for the cloths. The only disappointing thing for us we could only manage one night during our touring. Great place to spend at least 3 days minimum. The owners very friendly and helpful to give advice on things to do eat etc also made a phone call and checked on computer for things for us. We did find out during our touring if in Rotorua make sure you visit the tourist information as you get leaflets that will give you discounts on "the things to do" also booking on line for the jet boats etc will save a lot. As a family of four with one purse it all adds up. Just a few minutes up the road is a new takeaway pizza place the theme is pizza's named after movies/books worth a visit. Overall top place to stay.

Room Tip: all the rooms look good depend if you want to be near the pool area or beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GBSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Hi GBSK, Thanks so much for taking the time to provide such a great review! We certainly agree that you need more than 1 night to experience all there is to do and see around Rotorua. We trust you all had a safe journey home and we look forward to seeing you next time for a bit longer!! Best Wishes Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.9 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
745 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
893 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
2.6 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedarwood Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedarwood Lakeside

Address: 17 Holden Avenue | Holdens Bay, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: $103 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cedarwood Lakeside 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, tranquil lakefront accommodation and conference venue on the shores of Lake Rotorua, Cedarwood Lakeside is one of the most relaxing motels in Rotorua. We have 16 quality ground floor units ideally suited for families, travellers and corporates. Choose from standard studios with kitchenette and fully self contained two bedroom family units or lakefront suites at the water's edge. All units have lake views, free unlimited ultra fast WiFi, 5 Sky TV channels and are serviced daily. The complex features private indoor spa pool, an outside spa pool, heated outdoor pool, large BBQ area, children's play area and private jetty with a nearby boat ramp. Coin operated guest laundry available. Plenty of off street parking for boats. Mountain bike wash down area and storage available. Breakfasts available - continental or cooked. We are located within easy driving distance of Rotorua City Centre which is approximately 8 minutes away or 2 minutes drive to the Regional Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cedarwood Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing