We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Trip away”
Review of Cedarwood Lakeside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cedarwood Lakeside
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Me and my partner stayed at Cedarwood Lakeside Holiday Resort for 2 nights the week after labour weekend in a 2 bedroom unit. We had just come from a 3 night stay in Auckland. We got a deal off the grab one deal site - We had never stayed here before and after this experience i will defiantly go back for sure. I recommend it to all, It is in great location and perfect spot on the lake front with it right outside your door. Its a quiet area which is just what we needed. Great service - very helpful. Kitchen facilities in the rooms were perfect, had all the equipment you needed. Thanks very much for the lovely stay :)

Room Tip: A 2 bedroom unit is perfect for a family of 4 or even more
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Thanks Nicole J for your review of Cedarwood! We are glad that you enjoyed your small trip away. Yes our two bedroom units are suitable & comfortable for couples and/or families and we are fortunate to have the lake at our doorstep so to speak!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Cedarwood upon your next visit to Rotorua. Thank you Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

249 - 255 of 293 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed 5 nights in a studio unit, it was very clean & well presented. (The private spa is a nice bonus!) The area is quiet and peaceful but also not too far away from town. The owners are very friendly and are happy to help with suggestions from first hand experience with tourist activities and attractions, we found their advice very helpful and successful. We would happily recommend Cedarwood in the future and will definitely be back to stay as we have now fell in love with Rotorua! Many thanks for the stay

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Hi Carl B,
Thanks for your recent review of Cedarwood! We are glad that you enjoyed your time in Rotorua and staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future so that you can enjoy the many more sights & sounds that Rotorua has on offer. Kind regards Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My daughter and I stayed for three nights at Cedarwood over Labour weekend. We've stayed here several times before and I can certainly recommend the facilities - a well appointed pool and spa pool and spacious units, always impeccably presented. The location of Cedarwood is ideal if you are looking for somewhere that is tranquil and lakeside and yet close enough to Rotorua activities. The lakeside walk from Cedarwood to the airport is very good - for us this is definitely an added extra. Great hosts, very helpful and friendly. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geraldine U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Hi Geraldine, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay over Labour Weekend, we were delighted to see you return!
We are glad you enjoyed your time with us again including your walk along the lakes edge to the airport, we certainly enjoy the tranquility of being on the lakes edge, a little out of the city centre yet close enough to enjoy everything that Rotorua has to offer. Thank you once more for providing your feebdback and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Cedarwood. Kind regards Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed 5 nights last week for Mums 90th birthday and her great grand daughters 3rd birthday. We had a total of 20 staying including 4 young children, so we had a number of units and also the use of the resort's conference room (the weather was dodgy so having the use of conference room area was fantastic). Cedarwood is in a wonderful lakeside setting and the units and facilities are top class and well maintained. The children enjoyed the outdoor playing area and the pool and barbecue area was spotlessly clean. Nic & Fiona are great hosts, friendly and helpful and we greatly appreciated the final touch of transport to the airport. We would highly recommend Cedarwood for large groups and families.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank Bruce N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Hi Bruce, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent stay, it was great to meet all the family during such a fantastic celebration for you all. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us albeit the weather was quite changeable however we are lucky that we can provide an alternative indoor option such as the Conference Centre for such occassions. We are continuously looking at ways in which to improve the property and the new spa area and upgraded BBQ area have certainly been welcomed by our guests.
Once again thank you for choosing us for your recent family celebrations and hopefully the Australian rellies all arrived home safe and sound! Kind regards Nick & Fiona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Great place, great host, spent 3 nights at Cedarwood and had a great time, will definitely stay there again on our next visit. Beautiful location on the lake with well appointed facilities. Rooms were spacious and clean with everything you need and all tourists attraction within a comfortable drive of the resort.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Hi Alan, thank you for your feedback on your recent stay, we are pleased that you and your family enjoyed our location being on the lakes edge and that you will return to see us! Yes we are within a short driving distance of all the attractions that Rotorua has to offer. Thanks again for taking the time to review us. Kind regards Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We went to Rotorua last week and we had a great time staying in this hotel. The facilities were very clean and the staff here were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in perfect place and the house was very neat and tidy. My kids really enjoyed their playground. The next time we visit again Rotorua, we'll make sure that we'll stay in this hotel again.:)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nenette I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Hi Nenette, thanks for your recent review of our property, we are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and its great that we can welcome you all here again! Thanks also for providing the photo's of the children in the playground. Regards Fiona & Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We spent two nights here in Nov 11 and had one of the best family weekends we have had in Rotorua. Its in the most gorgeous setting, absolutley spotless and has everything you need. Pool area was lovely and a big hit with the kids. Staff were very friendly. I love the fact its a wee bit out of the town. Rooms had everything you require and and were very clean and tidy. We are in the process of planning our next trip down to Rotorua and will definately be staying at the Cedarwood Lakeside Holiday Resort. We have stayed in alot of places in Rotorua and this has by far been the best and most value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jlb2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Hi Jlb2110, thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us last year. Yes the pool is always a hit with the kids and they will be able to take advantage of the new spa pool that we have recently added! We are very lucky with our setting being on the shores of Lake Rotorua, we are very quiet and it is a great spot for children to kick a ball around, scoot around the complex and be quite safe. We look forward to welcoming you back to Cedarwood for your next visit to Rotorua! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.9 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
747 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
894 reviews
2.8 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
6.9 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedarwood Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedarwood Lakeside

Address: 17 Holden Avenue | Holdens Bay, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: $104 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cedarwood Lakeside 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, tranquil lakefront accommodation and conference venue on the shores of Lake Rotorua, Cedarwood Lakeside is one of the most relaxing motels in Rotorua. We have 16 quality ground floor units ideally suited for families, travellers and corporates. Choose from standard studios with kitchenette and fully self contained two bedroom family units or lakefront suites at the water's edge. All units have lake views, free unlimited ultra fast WiFi, 5 Sky TV channels and are serviced daily. The complex features private indoor spa pool, an outside spa pool, heated outdoor pool, large BBQ area, children's play area and private jetty with a nearby boat ramp. Coin operated guest laundry available. Plenty of off street parking for boats. Mountain bike wash down area and storage available. Breakfasts available - continental or cooked. We are located within easy driving distance of Rotorua City Centre which is approximately 8 minutes away or 2 minutes drive to the Regional Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cedarwood Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing