We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for families”
Review of Cedarwood Lakeside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cedarwood Lakeside
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great place for families”
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We stayed two nights at Cedarwood Lakeside Holiday Resort and we'd certainly stay here again. It's a lovely, quiet complex right on the waters edge in Holdens Bay. We booked a two bedroom unit and it was spacious and well appointed. The rooms were immaculate and cleaned daily. The continental breakfast supplied for the first morning was lovely and included something for everyone.

The complex is ideally set up for kids - there are two trampolines, a preschooler swing and slide set and two swings for older kids. The pool is lovely and clean and the adjoining spa pool was bath temperature warm. There's also a private indoor spa for four that you just have to ask to use.

The lakeside location is lovely and, if the weather had been better we'd have booked a float plane to pick us up form Cedarwood's jetty. There's some nice sand for the kids to play in on the beach too. Be aware this is Hudsons Bay, not central Rotorua but you can easily get there by car or by bus - it's also a good option for those coming in from the airport as it's closer that central Rotorua.

You can borrow from a wide range of complimentary DVD's at reception, which our kids loved.

The kids slept well in the twin room but our sleep quality wasn't brilliant in the queen room. This was mainly due to being used to a king bed at home.

What really sets Cedarwood apart from so many other places is that the hosts love what they do. They always smile, go the extra mile for you and take an interest in their guests. I've not had this level of service at top hotels in NZ. We'd return to Cedarwood, we loved it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kapitibeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    73
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
152
78
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

We stayed for one night at Cedarwood Lakeside Resort as convenient break between Taupo and Whangamata. The drive from Taupo is only just a little over an hour but we made a long stop at the Wai-o-Tapu thermal area; very interesting, don’t miss it!

It took us a little while to find Cedarwood as it is not actually in Rotarua as we expected, however, once we found the right direction it was actually easy.

Check-in was quick and we were given the key to our chalet and were pleased to see that we could park the car right outside the door, so transfer of luggage was easy. We chose a 2 bedroom lake front chalet and the location was gorgeous, with beautiful views and a wide area of grass between us and the lake. The chalet itself was fairly basic but provided everything that we needed and was quite comfortable. A typical continental breakfast was supplied to the room in the morning.

In the evening we walked to a nearby restaurant (not the MacDonalds!) and had an excellent meal. We had been warned that at night there were lots of trout flies (they don’t bite!) around and that we shouldn’t leave windows or doors open with the lights on; we were unprepared for the sheer volume of these flies! When we returned from the restaurant it was dark and around every light were millions of the tiny creatures, also whilst out we had left the bathroom window open, just a fraction of an inch but that was enough to admit enough flies to cover the ceiling!

I have given this establishment just 4 marks out of five but if we were to return to Rotarua we would probably stay here again as the location was beautiful and although basic the chalet was comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTH EAST ENGLAND
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Approx 4 miles out of centre of Rotorura but wonderfully quiet, on Lake Rotorura, no sulphur smell, lovely views - a real find. Would definitely stay there again on next visit. Can swim either in pool or lake itself.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jazzieface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

Stayed two nights with no complaints at all; room was very clean, location is outside of town but only 10 or less minutes travel time by car. Pleasant, quiet lakeside setting. Staff is friendly and helpful.

One of the best stays in New Zealand and a great value for the Rotorua area.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RNT_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2009

lovely apartment type motel units - very very clean and well equipped - and right on the lake
the owners were extremely nice and very helpful !!!!!!
theres a guest laundry and some play equipment and a poool although we didnt go in the pool (it was a bit cold )
could not have been better ty

i will post some pics later ty

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing U.K.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2009

We really enjoyed our short stay at this delightful Motel. It was spotlessly clean, comfortable and so blissfully quiet, all of which suited our requirements. The small swimming pool was so warm it was just like getting into a warm bath and as it was at the end of the busy season we had it entirely to ourselves. The staff were polite and helpful and were an asset to their business. We were really glad that we had stopped to spend a night at this establishment and would happily stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Globetrotter14202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.9 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
707 reviews
2.8 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
2.6 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
847 reviews
3.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
4.1 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedarwood Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedarwood Lakeside

Property: Cedarwood Lakeside
Address: 17 Holden Avenue | Holdens Bay, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cedarwood Lakeside 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, tranquil lakefront accommodation and conference venue on the shores of Lake Rotorua, Cedarwood Lakeside is one of the most relaxing motels in Rotorua. We have 16 quality ground floor units ideally suited for families, travellers and corporates. Choose from standard studios with kitchenette and fully self contained two bedroom family units or lakefront suites at the water's edge. All units have lake views, free unlimited ultra fast WiFi, 5 Sky TV channels and are serviced daily. The complex features private indoor spa pool, an outside spa pool, heated outdoor pool, large BBQ area, children's play area and private jetty with a nearby boat ramp. Coin operated guest laundry available. Plenty of off street parking for boats. Mountain bike wash down area and storage available. Breakfasts available - continental or cooked. We are located within easy driving distance of Rotorua City Centre which is approximately 8 minutes away or 2 minutes drive to the Regional Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Cedarwood Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing