We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rotorua Hideaway Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rotorua Hideaway Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is an ideal accommodation for anybody and especially for the families with young members.
Hosts are smiley, professional and efficient.
Animals, playground and safe environment kept kids out of the room busy playing and we had time to unwind and relax.
We loved it and we will always oose this and suggest this accommodation to our friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwindian-be-here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Hello Kiwindian-be-here thanks for your lovely feed back on Rotorua Hideaway Lodge.
It is great to read that we are acheiving our mission by giving both parties The Parents, and The Children a holiday, and the children are kept safe as well. We do look forward to your return, in the meantime have a great year, take care, Karen, Lindsay & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    47
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
126
29
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We spent two nights at the Lodge with our 7,5 and 3 year old. It's very close to the Gondola/Luge and there are no "Rotorua" smells at all. The unit itself was very modern and comfortable. Outside the children's play area was excellent - our children spent hours outside. They have spent a great deal of time and effort to make it look so lovely. You will not be disappointed !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melpascoe74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Hi Melpascoe74 Thank you for kindly taking the time to write a review for us, it is great to read that you all enjoyed your stay and that you wanted to share your experience with others.

We hope the rest of your holiday went well, and that you managed to get all that you could out of New Zealand. Take care, and we hope to see you again sometime. Karen & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Well suited for families and other groups, it really feels like a private enclave. The proprietors have delightful sculptures made from found or reclaimed materials scattered around the well-maintained property.

Rooms are set up as apartments, clearly geared for those who want to do their own cooking. Plenty of appropriate dishes and utensils are provided. The facilities are basic, clean, and well-maintained. The carpeting and painted cinder-block walls are spartan and functional, but there is nice local art on the walls to liven things up. Overall, it feels like a great place to plop down and relax after a busy day of recreation in Rotorua.

The kids raved about the playground, and were delighted by the animals on the property. If you're outside at the right time, the owners will let you help to feed the alpacas and sheep.

Also need to say that the proprietors are very receptive to any feedback or suggestions for improvement. We'd definitely stay with them again!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank blacra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Blacra, What a great comment and wise traveller you must be. Such fair and decent feedback for us and the TripAdvisor community. I am glad you have enjoyed your stay here at the Lodge. We look forward to seeing you back again sometime soon. Take care. Karen, Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porirua, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Want somewhere quite to get away and relax this is the place. Stayed 22nd - 28th dec. Just what we needed for our family of four (two teenagers) nice and quite, an easy drive to the main town and things to do (attractions). Kids loved the free WiFi and ability to plug in hard drive in to T.V. Nice tidy rooms with all you need to do your own cooking ect. We had a room with queen bed 2nd room with single bed and fold out bed in the living, kitchen area and separate bathroom, lounge area not huge but o.k if you just need somewhere to eat and sleep at the end of the day. Love that the rooms are serviced each day, had heaps of clean towels. The grounds are nice great for families with school kids with the animals and playground to use. Owners are very very nice and helpful if you need to know what there is to do, where to eat and how to get there they are always willing. I will recommend this to anyone that is going to Rotorua. For the price it is differently worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinnamon t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thanks Cinnamon for such a lovely review. We are pleased that you all enjoyed yourselves here at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge and we certainly look forward to welcoming you all back in the near future. Have a great year, take care, Karen, Lindsay & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Had originally decided to book at a motel that my family stayed at last time we were in Rotorua, but this turned up cheaper; I'm glad we went with this one. Me and a friend stayed in a double room (a queen/king size bed (can't tell the difference, sorry), and a single in the lounge). Had all the amenities that no one else at this price had (full kitchen with stove, pots/pans, microwave, toaster, kettle; free wifi internet; flat-screen TV; heater-fan; etc), clean rooms, a great outdoors environment with play area and animals that you can pet (though we didn't have time), very close to many of Rotorua's main attractions, and only a 5 minute drive to central Rotorua. My friend said there was a draft from the window in the bedroom, but that's about the only problem. I slept really well on the single in the lounge, despite usually struggling to sleep in beds not my own. You just can't get a better place to stay without paying close to twice the price! We'll be back :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SiriusExcelsior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Good afternoon sirius excelsiar, thank you very much for your detailled review on our accommocation offering in Rotorua. We are delighted to read of your positive experience at our Lodge/motel. Yes keeping it a secret some times can be quiet hard, but we like to think that the longer that we keep it a secret the better, as we have something very unique here. But you do have to stay here to find out what it is???????????????! Sorry to hear about the draft from the window, was wondering if you had shut the top window before retiring to be.????

In the meantime, take care and we look forward to your return sometime. Karen, Lindsay & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Great location. Near to most attractions. Provide free wifi service which is another plus point! The play area is just in front of lodge. Owner dogs are very friendly. Even had a chance to feed their animals. The minus point is that there is no fan or air condition in room, hence during summer time is quite hot in the room.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TeddyChiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Kia Ora Thank you for your feedback, it was our pleasure to have you stay at our Lodge.
We ar stoked to hear that the Lodge meet your needs and that you enjoy our free wifi. Had I known that you needed a fan, I would have got one out of my store room for you, as sometimes I find if they are in the unit they seem to disappear.

Do home that you have a wonderful year, and hope to see you back in the near future.
Take care, karen, Lindsay & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Rotorua Hideaway Lodge is a fantastic place to stay. This is the 3rd time we have stayed here but this time we had all the family with us (11adults and 6 children) to celebrate my special birthday - most from Auckland and one daughter and family from England. We stayed on 14th 15th and 16th December.
Hideaway Lodge is an ideal venue for families, clean and comfortable with modern televisions and full size stoves and with a unique playground for kids, 4 hole golf course and lots of animals (alpacas, sheep, cow, calf, ponies, chickens and 2 friendly dalmation dogs Chloe and Tess. Karen and Lindsay, the owners, have really put their hearts and souls into making this a super place to stay with charming and amusing artwork, well kept tidy grounds and gardens, and delicious muffins to welcome everyone on their arrival.
We'd booked 6 of the 8 units and the children delighted in visiting everyone's units as they are all a bit different. All have either one or two separate bedrooms and they all have baths (with shower over) which is great for families with children. The largest unit has a separate shower as well as a bath. We thoroughly enjoyed being able to sit out and relax on our balconies whilst the children had fun in the playground opposite. The flying fox was a firm favourite!
The BBQ facilities were second to none and the huge garden table and extra seating accommodated us all for my birthday party. Karen very kindly brought us a gas lamp for the centre of the table as it began to go dark, and we sat out till late with the youngsters still amusing themselves in the playground nearby.
We all enjoyed helping to feed the animals and the children were thrilled to collect fresh eggs from the hen house. They didn't want to go home - none of us did! Thank you Karen and Lindsay for providing such a wonderful venue and making us all feel so welcome and special.
Best regards Janet,Robert and family

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Janet, WOW! Thank you. Your review is amazing and a refreshing comfort for myself and my team who work so hard to continue to deliver a great experience here at the Lodge.

Your review is very fair and the compliments are humbly received. I am truly inspired to continue doing what we do to the best of our ability and strive to do better based on our guest feedback.

2013 will see many changes and improvements at the Rotorua hideaway Lodge, we look forward to seeing all again some time soon. Take care, Karen, Lindsay and the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Braeside Rotorua
4.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
3.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Rotorua Top 10 Holiday Park
5.0 mi away
All Seasons Holiday Park Rotorua
2.5 mi away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#11 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rotorua Hideaway Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotorua Hideaway Lodge

Property: Rotorua Hideaway Lodge
Address: 436 Ngongotaha Road, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rotorua Hideaway Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 4 acres with a real countryside feel yet only 5 minutes from the town centre The Hideaway offers a wide range of affordable accommodation options. With free high speed broadband, loads of outdoor space and large play facilities for the kids it's an ideal spot for families. Plenty of parking and we even have a play area for dogs if you want to bring your four legged friend along too! No sulphur smells which make this a great choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rotorua Hideaway Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing