We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rotorua Hideaway Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Great location. Near to most attractions. Provide free wifi service which is another plus point! The play area is just in front of lodge. Owner dogs are very friendly. Even had a chance to feed their animals. The minus point is that there is no fan or air condition in room, hence during summer time is quite hot in the room.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank TeddyChiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Kia Ora Thank you for your feedback, it was our pleasure to have you stay at our Lodge.
We ar stoked to hear that the Lodge meet your needs and that you enjoy our free wifi. Had I known that you needed a fan, I would have got one out of my store room for you, as sometimes I find if they are in the unit they seem to disappear.

Do home that you have a wonderful year, and hope to see you back in the near future.
Take care, karen, Lindsay & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
There are newer reviews for Rotorua Hideaway Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 189 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

Rotorua Hideaway Lodge is a fantastic place to stay. This is the 3rd time we have stayed here but this time we had all the family with us (11adults and 6 children) to celebrate my special birthday - most from Auckland and one daughter and family from England. We stayed on 14th 15th and 16th December.
Hideaway Lodge is an ideal venue for families, clean and comfortable with modern televisions and full size stoves and with a unique playground for kids, 4 hole golf course and lots of animals (alpacas, sheep, cow, calf, ponies, chickens and 2 friendly dalmation dogs Chloe and Tess. Karen and Lindsay, the owners, have really put their hearts and souls into making this a super place to stay with charming and amusing artwork, well kept tidy grounds and gardens, and delicious muffins to welcome everyone on their arrival.
We'd booked 6 of the 8 units and the children delighted in visiting everyone's units as they are all a bit different. All have either one or two separate bedrooms and they all have baths (with shower over) which is great for families with children. The largest unit has a separate shower as well as a bath. We thoroughly enjoyed being able to sit out and relax on our balconies whilst the children had fun in the playground opposite. The flying fox was a firm favourite!
The BBQ facilities were second to none and the huge garden table and extra seating accommodated us all for my birthday party. Karen very kindly brought us a gas lamp for the centre of the table as it began to go dark, and we sat out till late with the youngsters still amusing themselves in the playground nearby.
We all enjoyed helping to feed the animals and the children were thrilled to collect fresh eggs from the hen house. They didn't want to go home - none of us did! Thank you Karen and Lindsay for providing such a wonderful venue and making us all feel so welcome and special.
Best regards Janet,Robert and family

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Janet, WOW! Thank you. Your review is amazing and a refreshing comfort for myself and my team who work so hard to continue to deliver a great experience here at the Lodge.

Your review is very fair and the compliments are humbly received. I am truly inspired to continue doing what we do to the best of our ability and strive to do better based on our guest feedback.

2013 will see many changes and improvements at the Rotorua hideaway Lodge, we look forward to seeing all again some time soon. Take care, Karen, Lindsay and the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

It was a great stay for us with our pet dog. Owner and her pet dog were friendly. Nice place to walk around with lots of different animals to look at. The owner really put an effort to decorate the place. Room was clean and tidy. Bed and pillows were not that great but the experience was great.

Highly recommended. We will be back again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KC_Wilson_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We are a family of three with a boy @ 3.5 year old. We love the great value, the room with a living room, a front porch, one big bed, and 2 small beds in the room, car park in front of our house/room. We love the animals, the playground, the closeness to the city centre (10 minute drive), and close too all places we need to explore in the area. Service is very friendly, we also love the friendly dogs. Bed and pillows are comfy. Thank you for everything and keep up the good work and the great place. Love and Light from Hong Kong

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martina y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Martina

Thank you for taking the time to provide such positive feedback. It is nice to see you have highlighted many of the great points of Rotorua Hideaway Lodge.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Take Care, and all the best for 2013. Karen, Linday & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

WOW it is so true what everyone has been saying about this place. My family and I stayed there for 3 days a week ago.
This place is so amazing and true to their word. I have stayed in many places through out New Zealand and overseas for that matter, and there is
no place like this, just AMAZING. From the comfy beds, very clean units, beautiful gardens and grounds, plus the animals were a sheer delight with my children, and not to mention
out of this world playground, which was a great hit with my children, keep them entertained for hours. This place should be in the lonely Planet guide, and for the life of me don’t know why it isn’t?????
Everywhere you go in this place there is always something different to look at when it comes to the most unusual art work, it just brings a smile to your face every time.


Karen her self is out of this world, talk about a wealth of knowledge, exception service and great Kiwi hospitality, this lady knows how to treat people. Thanks karen for every thing, you are a real gem.
Will highly recommend you to all my friends and associates. I’m sure at my next conference that you will be the talk of the town.
Regards, Chris & family

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris_smith1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Chris, Thank you for your fantastic review. It is very nice to read that you all enjoyed a wonderful experience with us. We certainly strive to provide our guests with top notch Customer service, and a experience that they will never forget. We were delighted to meet you and your family, the children were a great hit with our dogs and not to mention our other animals!!!!!.

We do hope to see you back in the near future. Merry Xmas, and Happy New Year, take care. Warmest regards Karen & Lindsay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

When I get to the lodge, one thing I can say is that it was perfect. The location is awesome as we are finding somewhere that we can relax. About 2 minutes drive from the Gondola place. The setting of the lodge is very beautiful. Very clean and very organized. The owner is very helpful with everything. And very friendly too. The place is perfect for either family or budget traveler.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thenaturefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thank you very much for the time you have taken to share your comments it is much appreciated. It has been a real pleasure meeting you both and making your stay and experience a pleasant one. Once again thank you for your feedback, we look forward to accommodating you and any of your friends again in a near future. Have a great festive Season, warmest regards, Karen & Lindsay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

It was a peaceful stay for us. The owner and her dogs were very friendly.The lodge was very clean and spacious. We had our own parking space. There were pots and pans and utensils we could use. Only problem I had was the fact there was no heater. The bed had a warmer but no room heater. Maybe i should have asked for one but it was ok, we made do and our stay was nice. There was also a small balcony for us to relax in and have a cup of tea. It was interesting to watch her cows; sheep and ponies from the balcony. Really awesome.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank armani123sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful feedback.

I am thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay with us. Its sounds like the apartmen/unit, facilities and location all met your needs. I do wish though you had come to me in regards to a heater for your unit as, I would have given you a spare one, sorry about that. Looks like your one might have found little legs and walked away, common thing in this business. Anyway really enjoyed hosting you and pleasing to read that you found our place beautiful!!!!....

May you both have a Good Festive Season, take care, and hope to see you back soon some time. Warmest regards, Karen & Lindsay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
3.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
717 reviews
3.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
859 reviews
3.3 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#29 of 92 in Rotorua
796 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rotorua Hideaway Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotorua Hideaway Lodge

Address: 436 Ngongotaha Road, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range: $71 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rotorua Hideaway Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 4 acres with a real countryside feel yet only 5 minutes from the town centre The Hideaway offers a wide range of affordable accommodation options. With free high speed broadband, loads of outdoor space and large play facilities for the kids it's an ideal spot for families. Plenty of parking and we even have a play area for dogs if you want to bring your four legged friend along too! No sulphur smells which make this a great choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rotorua Hideaway Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing