We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST KEPT SECRET EVER”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rotorua Hideaway Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2012

WOW it is so true what everyone has been saying about this place. My family and I stayed there for 3 days a week ago.
This place is so amazing and true to their word. I have stayed in many places through out New Zealand and overseas for that matter, and there is
no place like this, just AMAZING. From the comfy beds, very clean units, beautiful gardens and grounds, plus the animals were a sheer delight with my children, and not to mention
out of this world playground, which was a great hit with my children, keep them entertained for hours. This place should be in the lonely Planet guide, and for the life of me don’t know why it isn’t?????
Everywhere you go in this place there is always something different to look at when it comes to the most unusual art work, it just brings a smile to your face every time.


Karen her self is out of this world, talk about a wealth of knowledge, exception service and great Kiwi hospitality, this lady knows how to treat people. Thanks karen for every thing, you are a real gem.
Will highly recommend you to all my friends and associates. I’m sure at my next conference that you will be the talk of the town.
Regards, Chris & family

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris_smith1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Chris, Thank you for your fantastic review. It is very nice to read that you all enjoyed a wonderful experience with us. We certainly strive to provide our guests with top notch Customer service, and a experience that they will never forget. We were delighted to meet you and your family, the children were a great hit with our dogs and not to mention our other animals!!!!!.

We do hope to see you back in the near future. Merry Xmas, and Happy New Year, take care. Warmest regards Karen & Lindsay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 190 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

When I get to the lodge, one thing I can say is that it was perfect. The location is awesome as we are finding somewhere that we can relax. About 2 minutes drive from the Gondola place. The setting of the lodge is very beautiful. Very clean and very organized. The owner is very helpful with everything. And very friendly too. The place is perfect for either family or budget traveler.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thenaturefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thank you very much for the time you have taken to share your comments it is much appreciated. It has been a real pleasure meeting you both and making your stay and experience a pleasant one. Once again thank you for your feedback, we look forward to accommodating you and any of your friends again in a near future. Have a great festive Season, warmest regards, Karen & Lindsay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

It was a peaceful stay for us. The owner and her dogs were very friendly.The lodge was very clean and spacious. We had our own parking space. There were pots and pans and utensils we could use. Only problem I had was the fact there was no heater. The bed had a warmer but no room heater. Maybe i should have asked for one but it was ok, we made do and our stay was nice. There was also a small balcony for us to relax in and have a cup of tea. It was interesting to watch her cows; sheep and ponies from the balcony. Really awesome.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank armani123sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful feedback.

I am thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay with us. Its sounds like the apartmen/unit, facilities and location all met your needs. I do wish though you had come to me in regards to a heater for your unit as, I would have given you a spare one, sorry about that. Looks like your one might have found little legs and walked away, common thing in this business. Anyway really enjoyed hosting you and pleasing to read that you found our place beautiful!!!!....

May you both have a Good Festive Season, take care, and hope to see you back soon some time. Warmest regards, Karen & Lindsay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed Friday to Monday 23-26/11/12. Was down for a wedding at skyline restaurant, up the road. What an awesome place to stay. The kids loved it, was greeted with yummy warm muffins on arrival. My mum actually booked for us, thank you mum! My 2 nephews enjoyed the cool playground (so did there parents watching them from the deck lol) golf, bowls, petting farm, the cool characters made from wood, and not to mention the coolest bbq car outside our unit, that we used Sunday, awesome! Room space was good and comfortable, not far from town, great if you have a function at skyline literally like 2 minutes drive. The owners were friendly, and helpful, also the lady that serviced the rooms was very nice and polite. All and all a great stay, will be back when in Rotorua. Keep up the good work true blue kiwis.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ofania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

"WOW" what a neat review. Thanks for sharing your experience on trip Advisor, we love to hear our guest feed back. Its a real pleasure for us to be able to host you all during your recent break in Rotorua, and we are delighted to read that the playground was a great hit with the children and the bbq car with the adults. We do look forward to your return soon, in the meantime we do hope that you all have a great Festive Season. Warmest Regards....True blue kiwis Karen & Lindsay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Awesome stay not just for the kids. We had a comfortable stay and the people running the place were so helpful and friendly. Amazing stay. If you want somewhere for the kids to run around and the parents relax choose this place. Thanks again guys :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamati_kirkwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Wow Kirk what a neat review, thank you. Glad that you all had a wonderful stay and enjoyed all the facilities that we provided for you. Yes that is what we are trying to create here at the lodge for all our parents to sit back relax and have a holiday as well as the children. Not many Motels in town can give you that can they, must admitt. You all have a wonderful Xmas & New Year and look forward to your return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

A great place to stay and anytime I or my family are in Rotorua it is our first choice to stay. Love the home made muffins on arrival, love the rooms, and love the surroundings. The farm animals are always something that the kids look forward to interacting with and the fun they have on your adventure play ground. I look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Hi Lee, thanks for taking time to write a review about us, It is really appreciated. Its good to know that you all enjoyed the rooms, surroundings and animals, great hit with the children the animals are aren't they, especally for families. You all have a great Xmas & New Year, look forward to your return some time soon. Take care, Karen & Lindsay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

If the weather is good and you have children then this is a perfect place to stay. Lovely surroundings and very quiet, even though it is minutes away from most Rotorua attractions. We had a very relaxing time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Thank you for your review! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, we loved hosting you. We do look forward to having you return some time soon in the future. In the meantime have a great Xmas and a wonderful New Year. Take care, Karen & Lindsay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
3.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
223 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
4.7 mi away
Cedarwood Lakeside
Cedarwood Lakeside
#15 of 92 in Rotorua
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rotorua Hideaway Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotorua Hideaway Lodge

Address: 436 Ngongotaha Road, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range: $77 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rotorua Hideaway Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 4 acres with a real countryside feel yet only 5 minutes from the town centre The Hideaway offers a wide range of affordable accommodation options. With free high speed broadband, loads of outdoor space and large play facilities for the kids it's an ideal spot for families. Plenty of parking and we even have a play area for dogs if you want to bring your four legged friend along too! No sulphur smells which make this a great choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rotorua Hideaway Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing