We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveler rating
145
53
10
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
53
10
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuper friendly ownersclean unitgreat playgroundtable chairsfairy springsoutskirts of towna great place to staymini golfnew ownerstourist attractionslocation is greatliving areacomfortable stayunitshostsaccommodationmotel
Filter
Updating list...
156 - 161 of 210 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2012

A great place to stay and anytime I or my family are in Rotorua it is our first choice to stay. Love the home made muffins on arrival, love the rooms, and love the surroundings. The farm animals are always something that the kids look forward to interacting with and the fun they have on your adventure play ground. I look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Hi Lee, thanks for taking time to write a review about us, It is really appreciated. Its good to know that you all enjoyed the rooms, surroundings and animals, great hit with the children the animals are aren't they, especally for families. You all have a great Xmas & New Year, look forward to your return some time soon. Take care, Karen & Lindsay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

If the weather is good and you have children then this is a perfect place to stay. Lovely surroundings and very quiet, even though it is minutes away from most Rotorua attractions. We had a very relaxing time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Thank you for your review! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, we loved hosting you. We do look forward to having you return some time soon in the future. In the meantime have a great Xmas and a wonderful New Year. Take care, Karen & Lindsay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in October 2012. The accommodations are clean and tidy - if you're after a mansion type accom, don't stay here BUT, if you're after friendly and helpful hosts, a fun adventure playground, sheep, alpacas, cows, calves, ponies, chickens and dogs to play with, pat and feed, then this is it!

Our lodge had 2 bedrooms, lounge with open kitchen and a bathroom with shower over bath. The heaters came in handy with the cool weather as well.

Close to city centre and just down the road from the Skyline Gondola and Rainbow Fairy Springs, this lodge has its own peaceful setting with fantastic works of wooden art people ALL throughout the grounds, created by Lindsay, that will just bring a smile to your face. Karen was lovely and extremely helpful. Our girls 10 and 13, loved helping Karen out with the feeding of the animals and brushing the ponies. The dogs were awesome too :) Thanks for having us guys xxx Your warm hospitality and laughs put the icing on the cake :) ~ from Kelly and family in Australia

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Hi Kelly, thank you for your feedback on your recent stay, it was great to meet you all. Great to hear that our hospitality and laughs put the icing on the cake for you all.

Yes our dogs I think had a ball with your children as well, especially Tess. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and made use of the facilities that we provided for you.

New feature has been added to our property, if you go into my facebook page within the next couple of days you will see it. Lindsay & and I wish you the best for Xmas & New Year and hope to see you back sometime. Take care, Karen & Lindsay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here with our 2 children aged 8 and 4 for 3 nights. We had a 2 bedroom unit which was spotless and well equipped. We loved the electric blankets and great heater. Nice crisp sheets too.

The playground and farm animals were certainly the highlight. Our children would be out there as soon as they got up in the morning and they couldnt wait to get back there after our daily excursions.

We will definately be back and will recommend to others.

Thank you Karen and Lindsay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Hello Lisa..Great to hear that you all had a wonderful experience here at the lodge, great feedback. The playground and farm animals certainly are a great hit with the kids I must admitt.

We both look forward to your return, have a great Xmas season. Warmest regards, karen & lindsay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Hideaway Lodge in Rotorua is the perfect holiday place to chill out and enjoy the many facilities not seen anywhere else in Rotorua. This place really is unique! If you want to have a genuine authentic kiwi-style experience in a super-clean safe motel at a great price you can't beat it. I only stayed one night but loved it all and plan to return very soon. It has many great family/group activities on site and the animals are delightful. The kids staying there seemed to be having a great time. Thick walls in units mean they are beautifully quiet and the whole place has a very peaceful ambience. Hosts are very warm and welcoming too.Just a few minutes by car to Rotorua CBD but far enough away so there's no sulphur smells. I happily give this place my highest recommendation. Looking forward to staying there again.
Rosemary Shore - Auckland

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosieposie333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Hello Rosieposie333.... We love reading feedback like yours!!! It makes us feel great...we agree with the authentic kiwi-style, not many of us left now in the industry who can give you that experience. The other bonus thing that we have here, is not having that Smelly Sulphur Smell...can be abit hard at times on the nose. Anyway have a great Xmas and New Year and we look forward to your return take care. Warmest regards, karen & lindsay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews