We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kids Loved It! (so did we :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rotorua Hideaway Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kids Loved It! (so did we :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in October 2012. The accommodations are clean and tidy - if you're after a mansion type accom, don't stay here BUT, if you're after friendly and helpful hosts, a fun adventure playground, sheep, alpacas, cows, calves, ponies, chickens and dogs to play with, pat and feed, then this is it!

Our lodge had 2 bedrooms, lounge with open kitchen and a bathroom with shower over bath. The heaters came in handy with the cool weather as well.

Close to city centre and just down the road from the Skyline Gondola and Rainbow Fairy Springs, this lodge has its own peaceful setting with fantastic works of wooden art people ALL throughout the grounds, created by Lindsay, that will just bring a smile to your face. Karen was lovely and extremely helpful. Our girls 10 and 13, loved helping Karen out with the feeding of the animals and brushing the ponies. The dogs were awesome too :) Thanks for having us guys xxx Your warm hospitality and laughs put the icing on the cake :) ~ from Kelly and family in Australia

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Hi Kelly, thank you for your feedback on your recent stay, it was great to meet you all. Great to hear that our hospitality and laughs put the icing on the cake for you all.

Yes our dogs I think had a ball with your children as well, especially Tess. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and made use of the facilities that we provided for you.

New feature has been added to our property, if you go into my facebook page within the next couple of days you will see it. Lindsay & and I wish you the best for Xmas & New Year and hope to see you back sometime. Take care, Karen & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    47
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
127
29
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here with our 2 children aged 8 and 4 for 3 nights. We had a 2 bedroom unit which was spotless and well equipped. We loved the electric blankets and great heater. Nice crisp sheets too.

The playground and farm animals were certainly the highlight. Our children would be out there as soon as they got up in the morning and they couldnt wait to get back there after our daily excursions.

We will definately be back and will recommend to others.

Thank you Karen and Lindsay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Hello Lisa..Great to hear that you all had a wonderful experience here at the lodge, great feedback. The playground and farm animals certainly are a great hit with the kids I must admitt.

We both look forward to your return, have a great Xmas season. Warmest regards, karen & lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Hideaway Lodge in Rotorua is the perfect holiday place to chill out and enjoy the many facilities not seen anywhere else in Rotorua. This place really is unique! If you want to have a genuine authentic kiwi-style experience in a super-clean safe motel at a great price you can't beat it. I only stayed one night but loved it all and plan to return very soon. It has many great family/group activities on site and the animals are delightful. The kids staying there seemed to be having a great time. Thick walls in units mean they are beautifully quiet and the whole place has a very peaceful ambience. Hosts are very warm and welcoming too.Just a few minutes by car to Rotorua CBD but far enough away so there's no sulphur smells. I happily give this place my highest recommendation. Looking forward to staying there again.
Rosemary Shore - Auckland

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosieposie333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Hello Rosieposie333.... We love reading feedback like yours!!! It makes us feel great...we agree with the authentic kiwi-style, not many of us left now in the industry who can give you that experience. The other bonus thing that we have here, is not having that Smelly Sulphur Smell...can be abit hard at times on the nose. Anyway have a great Xmas and New Year and we look forward to your return take care. Warmest regards, karen & lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Hideaway Lodge with our 1 year old daughter. This place is set up for children with an amazing playground, minature ponies and farm animals... our daughter didn't want to be inside. It is older style accommodation but clean, tidy and very child friendly. The hosts are really friendly and made us feel very welcome. This is more than just somewhere to stay for a night, staying at Hideaway Lodge was a fun experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaVG_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Hello Anna from Auckland, Thank you so much for your kind review. I am delighted you enjoyed your holiday, at Hideaway Lodge with your 1 year old daughter. Yes always a fun experience at Hideaway Lodge, you never know what might pop up. In the meantime have a great year, and look forward to your return in the near future. Karen & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Booked this accomodation in the view that it would be child friendly and great for the kids, that was far from the truth, unfriendly and rude greeting on arrival absolutely terrible was told on arrival "let the animals out and you'll be personally liable, credit card please" nice!, spare bed wasn't made up even though we specified before arrival, squab used to make spare bed was covered in hair-gross!, animal hair i suspect, owners dog was in our room every time we opened door, even tried to come look in the rubbish bin, no offer of feeding animals, no notice that there was an electic fence which the kids could have easily touched, playground was homemade-terribly unsafe , draft coming in bedroom window all night so we couldnt sleep, we couldnt cancel so i actually ended up booking elsewhere and staying there!!! even though we got no refund, no internet, not even a phone in room. want good points? well there wern't any really, will never go back and suggest you dont either! Kingsgate hotel had cheaper tidier rooms, nice pool/gym and much better place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jocelynwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
To all my wonderful guests who I adore; I think I can clarify the terrible review this lady has given me.
Jocelyn Wells booked in for 3 nights. She stayed 2 nights and I think she might have found cheaper accommodation elsewhere, but all motel and hotels have cancellation policies in place.
Jocelyn Wells felt disadvantaged because she couldn’t get a refund of the 3rd night.

My cancellation policy is clearly notified on all emails, on my website and on all online booking sites. A 3 night minimum over a holiday weekend means you may stay somewhere else, but you are held to the agreement you made with me as well.

It is so unfair to blame me because you didn’t read it Jocelyn and didn’t ask me about it, which
might have clarified your position, before you booked another place.


I have to add; without making too big a deal ;

I let Jocelyn Wells know the requirements of the petting zoo in a polite manner, as I do with all my guest. Yes we do ask for a credit card at check-in (who doesn't).


There is NO electric fence in the playground or petting zoo (although I guess it is a good idea
for a child control -ha ah-joking).

To all my wonderful guests please read my other reviews and I’m sure you will

get a more balanced view. (I have 4+ stars on TRIP ADV)

Kingsgate Rotorua Hotel is a TRIP ADV 3 star (-although terrific- it has 14 ‘TERRIBLE’ reviews out of 114)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Based on previous reviews on TA, I booked Hideaway for a recent break with our 4 and 5 yr old boys. This place was perfect, with a great outdoor play area for the kids and farm animals to pat and help feed. The units are clean and comfortable. Will definitely stay again on our next visit.

.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCI_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Hello Auckland, thanks for placing feedback, always appreciated. I am so pleased that you had a wonderful holiday and enjoyed your stay with us. Its our pleasure to be able to let the children experience farm animals and to be able to help feed them, as some children never get to experience it.

We look forward to your return soon some time in the near future. Karen & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed for six nights and had a wonderful time - the kids loved it.
The Unit was lovely, modern, clean and the kitchen had everything we needed. The outside area is stunning, the care that has been taken to the gardens, animal areas and play area is fabulous. The kids spent hours playing in the playground and visiting the animals. The dogs and ponies were fabulous with the kids and a highlight of the stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for such positive feed back, it is always great to know that our customers have had an enjoyable stay at the Lodge. As you mention yes our animals and dogs really make the place don't they, as that is what sets us apart from other accommodation providers in this town.
Hava a great Xmas & New year and hope to see you back soon sometime. Regards, Karen & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Braeside Rotorua
4.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
3.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Rotorua Top 10 Holiday Park
5.0 mi away
All Seasons Holiday Park Rotorua
4.3 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rotorua Hideaway Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotorua Hideaway Lodge

Property: Rotorua Hideaway Lodge
Address: 436 Ngongotaha Road, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rotorua Hideaway Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 4 acres with a real countryside feel yet only 5 minutes from the town centre The Hideaway offers a wide range of affordable accommodation options. With free high speed broadband, loads of outdoor space and large play facilities for the kids it's an ideal spot for families. Plenty of parking and we even have a play area for dogs if you want to bring your four legged friend along too! No sulphur smells which make this a great choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rotorua Hideaway Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing