We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect spot for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rotorua Hideaway Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Perfect spot for families”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Hideaway Lodge with our 1 year old daughter. This place is set up for children with an amazing playground, minature ponies and farm animals... our daughter didn't want to be inside. It is older style accommodation but clean, tidy and very child friendly. The hosts are really friendly and made us feel very welcome. This is more than just somewhere to stay for a night, staying at Hideaway Lodge was a fun experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaVG_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Hello Anna from Auckland, Thank you so much for your kind review. I am delighted you enjoyed your holiday, at Hideaway Lodge with your 1 year old daughter. Yes always a fun experience at Hideaway Lodge, you never know what might pop up. In the meantime have a great year, and look forward to your return in the near future. Karen & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    47
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
127
29
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gisborne, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Booked this accomodation in the view that it would be child friendly and great for the kids, that was far from the truth, unfriendly and rude greeting on arrival absolutely terrible was told on arrival "let the animals out and you'll be personally liable, credit card please" nice!, spare bed wasn't made up even though we specified before arrival, squab used to make spare bed was covered in hair-gross!, animal hair i suspect, owners dog was in our room every time we opened door, even tried to come look in the rubbish bin, no offer of feeding animals, no notice that there was an electic fence which the kids could have easily touched, playground was homemade-terribly unsafe , draft coming in bedroom window all night so we couldnt sleep, we couldnt cancel so i actually ended up booking elsewhere and staying there!!! even though we got no refund, no internet, not even a phone in room. want good points? well there wern't any really, will never go back and suggest you dont either! Kingsgate hotel had cheaper tidier rooms, nice pool/gym and much better place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jocelynwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
To all my wonderful guests who I adore; I think I can clarify the terrible review this lady has given me.
Jocelyn Wells booked in for 3 nights. She stayed 2 nights and I think she might have found cheaper accommodation elsewhere, but all motel and hotels have cancellation policies in place.
Jocelyn Wells felt disadvantaged because she couldn’t get a refund of the 3rd night.

My cancellation policy is clearly notified on all emails, on my website and on all online booking sites. A 3 night minimum over a holiday weekend means you may stay somewhere else, but you are held to the agreement you made with me as well.

It is so unfair to blame me because you didn’t read it Jocelyn and didn’t ask me about it, which
might have clarified your position, before you booked another place.


I have to add; without making too big a deal ;

I let Jocelyn Wells know the requirements of the petting zoo in a polite manner, as I do with all my guest. Yes we do ask for a credit card at check-in (who doesn't).


There is NO electric fence in the playground or petting zoo (although I guess it is a good idea
for a child control -ha ah-joking).

To all my wonderful guests please read my other reviews and I’m sure you will

get a more balanced view. (I have 4+ stars on TRIP ADV)

Kingsgate Rotorua Hotel is a TRIP ADV 3 star (-although terrific- it has 14 ‘TERRIBLE’ reviews out of 114)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Based on previous reviews on TA, I booked Hideaway for a recent break with our 4 and 5 yr old boys. This place was perfect, with a great outdoor play area for the kids and farm animals to pat and help feed. The units are clean and comfortable. Will definitely stay again on our next visit.

.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCI_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Hello Auckland, thanks for placing feedback, always appreciated. I am so pleased that you had a wonderful holiday and enjoyed your stay with us. Its our pleasure to be able to let the children experience farm animals and to be able to help feed them, as some children never get to experience it.

We look forward to your return soon some time in the near future. Karen & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed for six nights and had a wonderful time - the kids loved it.
The Unit was lovely, modern, clean and the kitchen had everything we needed. The outside area is stunning, the care that has been taken to the gardens, animal areas and play area is fabulous. The kids spent hours playing in the playground and visiting the animals. The dogs and ponies were fabulous with the kids and a highlight of the stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for such positive feed back, it is always great to know that our customers have had an enjoyable stay at the Lodge. As you mention yes our animals and dogs really make the place don't they, as that is what sets us apart from other accommodation providers in this town.
Hava a great Xmas & New year and hope to see you back soon sometime. Regards, Karen & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed for four nights and had a totally positive experience. We stayed in the largest room, which had a separate bedroom with a queen bed, and then another large bedroom with four single beds. The entire unit was excellent, and we made extensive use of the kitchen facilities. The grounds are wonderful, as others have noted, and Karen was very, very friendly and helpful to us throughout our entire stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ghlance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Hello Apple Valley, great to hear that you rated us so high in everything, and that you had a wonderful postive experience. Nice to know that we are doing all the right things in all the right places.

The feedback is highly rewarding and we are most grateful. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime. Take care, Karen & Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Alot of thought & care has been taken into creating the outside area comprising of play area, animal area & layout. For what we paid Our 2Bdm Unit was extremely good value. Not 5* but more 3* due to maybe the decor/bathroom/kitchen as mentioned in a previous review. However the beds were really comfy, the electric blankets were appreciated on the cold winter night, as well as the many heaters within the unit. The shower heat/pressure great. Awesome location with Rainbow Springs & the Luge within a 1-2min drive & the Sheep Agrodome within 5min. The muffins on arrival were a nice touch & Karen the owner was extremely helpful. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deidre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Hello Deidre, Thank you for kindly taking the time to let everyone know how your stay with us went - much appreciated.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the room comfortable, the staff friendly and dependable..and the gardens/playground etc brilliant. Yes you are right when it comes to our location being awesome, we get a lot of postive comments about it. We are so handy to everything aren't we!!!.

We look forward in welcoming you back to the lodge in the near futureThank you for posting a review about us. Warms regards, karen & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Great for kids, the playground and animals kept them amused for hours ! We stayed in a large two bedroom unit, it easily slept 6 of us.
The unit was much nicer than I expected, modern furniture, good bathroom including a bath which is great with young ones. Beds were very comfortable.
A full stove makes self catering a breeze !
We would def stay again :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Hello Sandra from Hastings, thanks for reviewing us - sorry that it has taken a while. Yes you are right.... having a stove does make self catering a breeze doesn' it.We are pleased you found the accommodatiion to your liking and that the playground and animals kept your children amused.

Hope to see you again in the future. Karen & Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Braeside Rotorua
4.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
3.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Rotorua Top 10 Holiday Park
5.0 mi away
All Seasons Holiday Park Rotorua
4.3 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rotorua Hideaway Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotorua Hideaway Lodge

Property: Rotorua Hideaway Lodge
Address: 436 Ngongotaha Road, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rotorua Hideaway Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 4 acres with a real countryside feel yet only 5 minutes from the town centre The Hideaway offers a wide range of affordable accommodation options. With free high speed broadband, loads of outdoor space and large play facilities for the kids it's an ideal spot for families. Plenty of parking and we even have a play area for dogs if you want to bring your four legged friend along too! No sulphur smells which make this a great choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Rotorua Hideaway Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing