We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveler rating
145
53
10
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
53
10
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuper friendly ownersclean unitgreat playgroundtable chairsfairy springsoutskirts of towna great place to staymini golfnew ownerstourist attractionslocation is greatliving areacomfortable stayunitshostsaccommodationmotel
Filter
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 210 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The rooms are spacious, both the large family which we had, and the standard family which our friends were in. You won't feel cramped if you have to stay indoors that's for sure, not that we stayed inside for long, with so many attractions right on your door step. The kids loved the playground, and it's one of the best private playgrounds I've ever seen, complete with zip line, and climbing tunnels. If you and your family are animal lovers, Rotorua Hideaway Lodge is sure to keep you happy as well, with ponies, alpaca, and two very friendly Dalmatians... just keep an eye on your anzac cookies :-) The hosts are friendly, and seemed happy to accommodate the kids requests for pony rides which was one of the most talked about experiences post holiday. The muffins on arrival was a nice touch, and beyond the normal butter and milk in the fridge of most places (and yes you get those as well). Nice flat screen tv's with freeview means no more rubbish reception on a pokey screen if you want to watch tv in the evening. Would totally recommend this place, and would happily stay here again when in Rotorua. If I had to make a suggestion, it would be making sure that friends staying together advise that they want rooms next to each other, rather then opposite ends of the complex, but that would my fault for not mentioning that when booking.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Christian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Hello Christian, thank you for a great review. Yes the children had a wonderful time on the playground, glad to hear that you think that it was the best around, so do we. It was our pleasure to be able to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, as we think that all our guest are extra special. Take care, and look forward to your returen. Karen and Lindsay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We had a lovely time staying here. Kids loved playing in playground and I would recommend it to families that have a car with them... probably to far out of town without a car. The accommodation was clean and comfortable with all that we needed. Karen was very helpful and would spend a lot of time helping organize things to do. Made it a very enjoyable stay for us.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBDBSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Hello Sydney, sorry it has taken me a while to respond, gosh these days and months are going so quickly, can't keep up.

Great feedback about the place, Yeap our place is a little further from town (about 6 minutes drive), so you do need a car compared to the motels right in town. Great to hear that you found our unit comfortable and clean, that is so very important.

Look forward to seein you next time, take care Karen & Lindsay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Having stayed here for at least twice a year for at least 8 years, we have found it to be an ideal location for all there is to do and see around the region. Lovely rural setting and wonderful hosts. Nice clean and roomy units. Great motel for children with play area and various animals to see. Play area for the grown ups too.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beefy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Thanks Beefy24 for such a delightful review, sorry it has taken so long to get around to it. It is true that the units are clean,and roomy and the location best in town I say. We do try hard to give our guests both a comfortable, homely stay while staying with us, anything to make your stay extra special. Hope your journey home was great and that you are not missing us to much. Hope to see you back next year. Karen & Lindsay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Our trip to Rotorua was made better because of help from the owner, plus the room was such a treat. After a very long day of travel we were welcomed with warm muffins and tea, what's not to love?

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guamanic_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane5278, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

This is great. Thanks for reviewing and hope to welcoming you again.
Regards Karen & Linsay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Lovely place especially for children. Lots for the kids to do in their beautiful park. Lovely clean apartments. Will definitely stay there again if we had to go back to Rotorua.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time out to write a review. Nice to hear that we are doing all the right things in this department.....look forward in seeing you back sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews