We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than Queenstown and much cheaper!”
Review of Raftabout Rotorua

Raftabout Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you are looking for an awesome day out white water rafting then look no further than Raftabout, a family owned company that aims to excel. We offer the choice of 3 different rivers to white water raft. Choose which river suits your ideal adventure. All the trips offer outstanding New Zealand scenery with a varying amounts of challenging water water thrown in. For those who love adrenalin thrills, then definitely check out our Kaituna Waterfall trip, you’ll get a BUZZ going over the highest commercially rafted waterfall (a MASSIVE 7 metres). Available all year round!!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Essex
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Better than Queenstown and much cheaper!”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Having done the Queenstown raft on a prior trip to NZ I wanted to try something different. Based on the lower price and that I had not heard so much about the Kaituna raft I assumed it would be inferior to Queenstown.

However, this was much better, the two small drops leading upto the 7m drop were a great introduction and meant that by the time we did the last drop everyone was prepared. This is also very easily physically as very little paddling is required because of the strength of the water.

All in all a great experience with friendly staff, the photo DVD was also worth purchasing and gave us some great pictures.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jubbsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    7
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome rafting on the Kaituna River, Rotorua”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

My son and I had a blast with the team from Raftabout on the white water in the Kaituna river. It was my son's (17 years old) first time rafting and he loved it. The drop down the 7 metre waterfall was awesome - an adrenaline rush! Our guide's Gordie and Stefan knew their stuff and made it a really fun time. It was very safe, but heaps of fun. I'd recommend Raftabout if you're looking for a great white water rafting experience.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Raftabout was awesome!”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

My wife did the white water rafting and I did something called sledging. It was a ton of fun and my wife said the whitewater rafting was also incredible. The photographs they took were unbelievable! And the staff was great. An overall amazing experience!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Jgoal55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Adrenalin Rush”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We rafted the Kaituna River with a group of friends. Some had rafted before but others were new to the rafting experience. The trip was so professional & the safety was top class. We all had an absolute ball & plan on returning next summer to raft another river. Thanks heaps for a great experience :)

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Toaster toaster toaster!!!”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

What a fantastic trip. We've traveled the globe always including rafting, we've done the Kicking Horse, the Shotover, Tummel the Tay and St Lawrence to name a few. This one on the Wairoa was awesome. Straight into mothers nightmare and off we went grade 5 after 5 after 5! We avoided the Toaster thanks to Dave's steering! We had a blast. The safety was excellent only one spillage on another boat but it was so efficient and safe a recovery the bloke Thot he got an extra thrill. A fantastic day, glad we chose this trip on Sun 28th Jan 2012! If you do only one thing in the North Island, Ride the Wairoa River!

Helpful?
Thank Scootss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raftabout Rotorua also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Okere Falls, Rotorua District
Tikitere, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Raftabout Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing