We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ledwich Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ledwich Lodge Motel
Ranked #61 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

Rooms were very dated but clean and spacious enough for us to have 3 big suitcases open at the same time with still loads of room to walk around.
Host was very friendly and gave us lots of advice re places to visit, geothermal central heating system etc. We spent lots of time in the thermal pool - so hot! No view of anything from the pool but we liked the privacy and being winter, we enjoyed it all to ourselves.
We had an upstairs unit and loved the views to the lake. Only annoying thing was the big boat (paddle steamer?) blasting it's horn loudly early every morning, waking us up.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobarkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    19
    17
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
25
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, Hampshire
Level Contributor
434 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2010

One of the few hotels / motels in Rotorua with anything like a Lake View. Samm family run motel. Rooms well equipped but a little tired

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rexbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2009

We had upstairs studios units with the queen bed in the lounge. This area of the unit was very spacious and clean. The kitchen was very clean also. No microwave was a pain. I assumed there wld be one since it is the 21st century. The bathroom was average. I think a little showerpower wld go a long way in the shower/bath itself. However, clean towels and bed made every day.

You can sleep with the back windows open all night because you are on the second floor. Had to have the front windows and door shut to avoid the conversations of everyone who passed or who decided to have a long conversation usually accompanied by a smoke which drifted into the room. I would not stay at a motel where the rooms all open off the same walk way, but that's just me. I don't like other people's noise.

Good location. Right across the road from park and lake - great for early morning walks and photos. 3 mins to Novotel and Ibis. 5 mins from the icercream shop on the corner and the main stree. 15 mins walk to Great Lakes Convention Centre, Museum, Blue Baths, etc.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwi_karyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2009

This is a reasonable option for Rotorua with decent sized rooms, balconies with lake views and a good location for the town. Rotorua however is a souless place which seems to exist only to service the fantastic attractions in the area. There is little of interest at all in the town and the main strip of good restarants was largely deserted in the three days we were there. If you are going to visit the area, which is a North Island must, then I would advise that you either you stay out of the town or lower your expectations of what the town itself can provide. None of this of course is the fault of the Ledwich which proved to be a good base for our time in the area.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenfaisey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2009

I rented two adjacent studio units for myself and friends for four nights over the New Year period. The main reason for selecting this property was its very close proximity to the lake front and the War Memorial park [across the road], where a New Year’s party was being held in the Sound Shell. Our units were located on the second floor and there was a very handy veranda (complete with outdoor tables and chairs) in front of the rooms where we spent many hours socializing and taking in the views.

The studio units were comfortable and contained the usual facilities found in New Zealand motels. The unit contained a small kitchen (fridge, oven/stove and all cooking/eating utensils). Other facilities included a [thermally] heated outdoor pool, free parking in front of the property, guest laundry (coin-operated) and WIFI Internet (you could purchase time [30 minutes [$4], 2 hours [$10] and 6 hours [$20] blocks] from reception). My only gripe with this property, as with numerous other motels/hotels around the world, is the lack of decent black-out curtains. The curtains we had were only really decorative.

The motel is located within 5 minutes walk of numerous restaurants and bars, which are located at the lake end of Tutanekai Street. There is a Pizza Hut located next door to the motel. Walking a couple of minutes further along Tutanekai Street leads you into the heart of the shopping area. A couple of recommendations: Try Papa Luigis for excellent pizza and pasta. The Belgian Bar had a good selection of different tap and bottled beers.

The best recommendation I can give for this particular property is that I would stay here again the next time in Rotorua.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lack of black-out curtains
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CervezaRules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2007

We stayed here for 4 days in an upstairs studio room. The room was clean and light with very adequate facilities. The location is excellent just across the park from the lake with a nice view and next to the Novotel and Ibis. There are many restaurants nearby. The owners are very friendly and helpful; we had an in-depth explanation of the geothermal water heating for the room and small pool heating

  • Liked — Staff and location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaiBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2007

Stayed one night on 2nd Jan, its very centrally located with ample parking close to lake and local restaraunt. Host very friendly, ample space and comfort. Sure its not luxurious but for a reasonable priced base to dump you kit and go exploring it excellent. Has a pool and breakfast service (not tested). Cheap rates although GST wasn't included in the rate when booked.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank HtDMtD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#13 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.8 mi away
Six on Union
Six on Union
#50 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#28 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Thermal Motel
Ambassador Thermal Motel
#26 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Lodge B&B
Lake Lodge B&B
#20 of 56 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ledwich Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ledwich Lodge Motel

Property: Ledwich Lodge Motel
Address: 12-14 Lake Road, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ledwich Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Ledwich Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing