We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, warm and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ledwich Lodge Motel
Ranked #74 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Ledwich Lodge Motel is situated almost on the Lake edge at the northern end of the CBD. We found it ideal for our purposes. It had good cooking facilities, geothermal heating, plenty of lighting and comfortable beds. The owners were thoughtful in putting out an extra reading lamp when they saw one was needed. Our large room was upstairs so not suitable for anyone who can't handle steps, but they have ground floor rooms too. There was a nice view across the lakeshore park at Otumoetai and the Lake. Easy walking distance to the nearby restaurant district. It's a quiet part of town, so very little traffic noise.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BHarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 57 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

It was great to arrive and find a room / studio comfortable, with big, soft bed, hot tub, good TV, stove and fridge.

We were greeted by the owner John, a charming English gentleman who for many years living in NZ with his wife Joan. Hospitable, upon arrival gave us tips on places we should visit and invited us to a wine on the varanda, which happened again during our stay.

What an interesting person! We learned a lot from him about habits of NZ and we laughed at his somewhat acid humor.

A peculiarity of the motel is that the central heating system is natural, arising from geothermal activities that happen in that exact area. The gases rise from the earth through pipes, leaving the rooms warm.

In those six days that we were there, we relaxed in the pool and slept a lot, but were also very busy with dozens of activities. And for that the location could not be more perfect: right in front of the lake and less than 5 minutes from restaurants, the historic Bath House, the Government Gardens and everything else.

At the end of each day, the pleasant veranda invited us for a drink outdoors, watching the world go by. We recommend this motel a 100%!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babyrocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here for a week in February and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone. The studio room was clean, tidy and well equipped. The balcony was great for sitting out on and watching the world go by with a view across the park to the lake. The owners were very friendly and extremely helpful as were the rest of the staff. The motel is only a couple of minutes walk to the restaurants and bars and the price was very reasonable.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have a balcony (shared) with great views across the park to the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamMo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed over night in this motel. Hosts were lovely and friendly, room was spacious and comfortable. Perfect location for easy access to Lake Rotorua. Excellent value for money. Highly recommend this accommodation.

For a yummy breakfast in a lovely location we suggest Aroma Cafe 1126 Fenton St, Rotorua

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torana2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The motel was ok. The couple were friendly enough. The price was ok. The bed was very uncomfortable and needs replaced. We stayed here Jan. 2012 and only have gotton around to writing my diary.The maori experience was excellant value. Buffet was amazing and plentiful and show was so good. It was called Tamaki maori viallage.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank enquiries661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Furnishings and decor were outdated, nonetheless had great owners, room was immaculately tidy. Needs more exposure for how great the location is in terms of "walkable". They are literally 2 mins walk from lakefront, 4 mins walk to a wide variety of restaurants. Had an absolutely fantastic time in Rotorua, (besides that god forsaken smell,) and was great to come back to comfortable accommodation after a busy day.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBPhun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed as a family (2 adults, 1 5 year old child) in a studio unit.

The location of the motel is excellent - very near the lakefront (but without great lake views) and just around the corner from the dining area of Rotorua. It is a short drive to the supermarket. Most of the central town area can be covered on foot.

The motel is a good but typical New Zealand motel. The studio room we had was spacious and extremely clean. It had the usual fixtures you'd expect in a motel (a good TV, stove and oven, fridge, and cooking implements). The motel is a bit dated in decor and fitout but very comfortable. There is a table outside the unit which was good for an evening drink.

The motel has a small but nice hot pool which is good for a soak.

The owners seemed very friendly although when we arrived they were a bit flustered as the motel was full.

Few downsides: the soundproofing between rooms isn't great which means if there's a family feud next door (as there was for us) this can affect you. A minor point also but the dinner set provided has extremely small soup bowls (and no other bowls) which makes them not that useful for breakfast cereal, or, well, anything.

All in all this was a good and affordable option, and we would be likely to stay again.

Room Tip: If staying in a studio, I would request an upstairs unit as the outside table on the balcony would b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.4 mi away
Rydges Rotorua
Rydges Rotorua
#49 of 92 in Rotorua
1,251 reviews
1.4 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#9 of 92 in Rotorua
466 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
254 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
893 reviews
0.9 mi away
Accolade Lodge Motel
Accolade Lodge Motel
#34 of 92 in Rotorua
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ledwich Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ledwich Lodge Motel

Address: 12-14 Lake Road, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: $88 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ledwich Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Ledwich Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing