We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lake Waikaremoana”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Walking Legends

Walking Legends
Ranked #16 of 59 Tours in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hike the Tongariro Crossing, Lake Waikaremoana & Coromandel Peninsula. Walking Legends provide all-inclusive guided walk packages on the North Island's Great Walks. Small groups led by an experienced, friendly guide. Includes accommodation, transport from Rotorua, hiking equipment, and great NZ-style meals and wine. Our guided hiking tours make it easy and rewarding to experience some of New Zealand's best walks, and to explore the remote and dramatic wilderness areas of the North Island.
1 review
“Lake Waikaremoana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Fabulous walk, challenging informative and great fun. We had 6 in our group ranging from mid 20s to late 70s, expertly led by Magnus and Trent.
I can't think of anything that could be improved, the food was amazing, even great wine at the end of a day.
We ranged from amateurs to experts and the guides made it special for us all. Their knowledge of the history and environment was inspiring and make the whole experience very special.

Great work - keep it up

Brett - Australia

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BrettBrisAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobWalker, Owner at Walking Legends, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thanks heaps!
As "the boss" who doesn't leave the office as much as I would like to, There is no better reward than glowing praise of the guides!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    14
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wakaremoana”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

An enjoyable trip. Callum who guided us was helpful friendly and informative. The lodge accommodation was not at all good - more like a backpackers, and the trip was poor value for money. Life jackets were available for the trip across the Lake and should have been mandatory as the boat was not particulary stable.

Tim Strevens

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobWalker, Owner at Walking Legends, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
We are very sorry we didn't meet expectations accommodation wise.
We use a range of accommodations throughout the north island and this is the best lodge style accommodation in what is a very isolated area, Te Urewera. We also think that our advertised 2 star description is fair. The plus side of this accommodation is the isolated setting in a small Maori community and the close proximity to so many beautiful walks!

Re Life jackets... Although we trust our skippers judgement on the day and were within the NZ Maritime safety standards we also respect your feelings of vulnerability. therefore it is now company policy to wear life jackets on the boat part of the trip.
Thanks again for your feedback and understanding
Rob Franklin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa fe
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing hikes on the Coromandel Peninsula”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Some of the most stunning hikes I've ever been on.
Guides were skilled and helpful.
Great 4 day hiking tour!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank globetrotterSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Do a trekking when you are in New Zealand! (lake Waikaremoana)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

You simply HAVE to do a trekking in New Zealand as this is the only way to appreciate the true beauty of the country - I would not have want to miss out on this for the world. End of December I did the Lake Waikaremoana walk - a three day trekking. You can organize this yourself but doing this through Walking Legends makes that you don't have to worry about anything else then walking and enjoying. No carrying food or tents (they book the huts for you) and no cooking or cleaning, VIP walking this is! Awesome guide - very knowledgeable and super nice - great stories! Added value - check! Be prepared - no showers - but a cool dip in the lake (brrrr) also freshens up.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurineCitroen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great way to see Tongariro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Spending the money to get a professional guide with local knowledge and gear hire is a great way to get the most out of the walk, adding a whole new level to the experience. The service was responsive, professional and personalised. Highly recommended. I look forward to doing the Coromandel with Walking Legends in the future!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MartyfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walking Legends also viewed

North Island, New Zealand
Wairoa, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Walking Legends? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing