We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Walking Legends - what an experience!”
Review of Walking Legends

Walking Legends
Ranked #17 of 60 Tours in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hike the Tongariro Crossing, Lake Waikaremoana & Coromandel Peninsula. Walking Legends provide all-inclusive guided walk packages on the North Island's Great Walks. Small groups led by an experienced, friendly guide. Includes accommodation, transport from Rotorua, hiking equipment, and great NZ-style meals and wine. Our guided hiking tours make it easy and rewarding to experience some of New Zealand's best walks, and to explore the remote and dramatic wilderness areas of the North Island.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Walking Legends - what an experience!”
Reviewed May 5, 2011

We did both the 4 day Lake Waikaremoana Guided Walk and the 3 day Tongariro NP walk and agree with all the great things that have been said here. They were even better than we expected.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank Hillingdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    14
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Tongariro guided walk was fantastic. Highly recommended to all!”
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Amazing scenery and great adventure. Great guided walks, with fun, informed guides with high regard for safety and fun. No need to carry large backpacks as we stayed in the one lodge, and all trips left from there. Very comfortable accommodation. They take small numbers - unlike many other popular walking tours.

Add it to your bucket list!

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank Dianne21_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Walking Legends - Living Legends !!”
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Looking for an adventure activity that's superbly organized, up close and personal? Six of us oldies began focusing on this in mid 2010, and after reading a travel article in a Sydney newspaper we hoped we'd found our activity. Walking Legends Guided Walks New Zealand conduct a 4-day 3-night guided walk of beautiful Lake Waikaremoana, high in the mountains of Te Urewera National Park of North Island. A phone call and email to organizers Hilary and Rob made it clear to us that these guys were super organized; a great itinerary; almost all equipment from backpacks to sleeping bags - you name it, they loaned it - free; and an easy website to keep us informed. We were sold! We chose the 26 degree February weather of 2011- good choice as it was flooding back home in Brisbane. The walk entails 4-6 hours each day along clearly marked trails. Terrain varies from flat areas lakeside to the challenging climb of the Panekiri Bluffs. Needless to say, your most precious item here is your camera for the most breathtaking pics overlooking the lake. Accommodation each evening is in Dept of Conservation huts - a little spartan without electricity, but meals were prepared beautifully with gas, including boat captain Nigel's highly rated superb hangi on the last evening. Hot showers were also provided via Walking Legends' own boat which also carried most of our walking gear from depot to depot. Have left mentioning the guides till last. These guys made the whole experience so memorable. A walk such as this is certainly enhanced by local knowledge and experience and a warm and enthusiastic personality.. That is Jamie and Jim. They really are 'walking legends'.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
“Magical Experience in some amazing locations”
Reviewed January 30, 2011

Had a four day experience like no other. Tongariro Crossing and Mt Ruapehu are two of the greatest walks i have ever done. The team at Walking Legends looked after us amazingly, whether it was having some drinks ready for us at the end of the walks or cooking tasty dinners every night, was perfect. Great experience and i highly recommend the team at walking legends.

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
Thank NickThorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than I could have imagined”
Reviewed November 26, 2010

Staff and everything were really superb, even the weather was well organised. One to recommend from a sceptic.

Helpful?
Thank NeilPirie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walking Legends also viewed

North Island, New Zealand
Wairoa, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Walking Legends? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing